We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Selmunett
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$219
$194
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salini Resort(St. Paul's Bay)
$200
$165
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
be.HOTEL(Saint Julian's)(Great Value!)
$141
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
InterContinental Malta(Saint Julian's)
$191
$158
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express - Malta(Saint Julian's)(Great Value!)
$122
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beach Garden Hotel(Saint Julian's)
$78
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dean Hamlet Hotel(Saint Julian's)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Argento Hotel(Saint Julian's)
$172
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gorgianis Hotel(Saint Julian's)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
84
7
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
7
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb blovely gardenrogermariahouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 94 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2010

If it was not for this fantastic bed and breakfast we would never have visited Malta. From the first point of contact with Roger he could not have been more helpful. He wanted to make sure our stay was as comfortable, enjoyable and relaxing as possible from the start. He picked us up from the airport and within an hour of us being at Selmunett our hire car was delivered to us and we were free to explore the island.

We wanted a clean, friendly bed and breakfast and this is certainly what we got and more. The rooms were spotless, large and extremely comfortable. There was ample storage and a great en-suite bathroom. Although there was no air conditioning the room had a large ceiling fan and a standing fan which even in the 35 degree heat kept us nice and cool. Although the room did not have a maiden to dry our clothes on after a day at the beach, Maria gave us space outside in the courtyard to do this. The nice things about the rooms were the small touches such as the small glass vases of fresh flowers and the daily bottle of fresh water. Roger also left a very useful booklet of information in the room for us to refer to.

Every morning we had breakfast on the terrace. There was always plenty of choice including breakfast cererals, toast or bread with homemade jam from the peaches grown in the garden, olives and sundried tomatoes (also home grown in the garden), yoghurts and a cooked breakfast (bacon, sausage, egg and tomato) cooked by Roger on the BBQ. There was also a great choice of drinks including a variety of teas, coffee, fresh juice and water. Breakfasr was always relaxed and gave us a chance to chat to Roger and Maria who helped us to plan our da so we could get the most from it. Roger also recommended numerous restaurants for us to try, which were all very good.

Roger and Maria were fantastic hosts and made us feel part of the family. We met plenty of their friends and family, who were all very welcoming and enjoyed joining us for a dip in the pool on a lazy afternoon. We also became friendly with Max and Sasha (2 lovely boxer dogs), Sushi (the cat), Bruna (the rabbit) and Peter (the canary).

We had a fantastic stay at Selmunett Bed and Breakfast and I would be more than happy to recommend it to anyone thinking of holidaying in Malta.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathrynManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The facilities were of a high standard of comfort, cleanliness and neatness; the decor warm, homely and welcoming. The proprietors, Maria and Roger, were gracious hosts. Their approach was one of high standards of professionalism combined with the warmth and caring of a family home (a beautifully decorated one at that).
The garden suite consisted of a small kitchen (equipped with kettle, kitchenware, a stove/oven and fridge...convenient for preparing quick snacks purchased at the well-stocked, nearby supermarket, if one doesn't feel like going out for dinner) + dining table and chairs, + a double sofa-bed with a customised mattress for added comfort + bathroom with shower (no bath) + cable TV with a reasonable choice of multilingual viewing options. The suite is adjacent to the pool area, complete with pool loungers and an outdoor table and chairs. It's a good setup for a couple seeking a comfortable base for relaxed sightseeing.
The breakfast served was delicious and generous, served on the patio, next to a peach tree laden with fruit, on warm days or in the warmth of the family kitchen on cooler days. Many a lively conversation was held around the table with Roger and Maria, and other houseguests, before we ventured out for a days' sightseeing. Fortified after a hearty meal and many helpful tips from Roger, who is an excellent raconteur and most knowledgeable about anything to do with Malta, we set out confidently, knowing that Roger was always a phone call away if we got stuck. The island has a long, rich history and many excellent tourist facilities.
Much appreciated by us was the fact that Roger fetched us from the Airport, giving us friendly welcome upon our arrival, even though we arrived on an evening flight. He also assisted us in arranging car hire, giving my husband a lift to the nearby rental agency the next morning in order to collect the vehicle. Maria is a warm, caring lady who fussed over us like a lovely Italian 'mama', eager to ensure our comfort at all times. This is a couple that 'goes the extra mile...'If you are considering an upmarket bed & breakfast option while staying in Malta, I highly recommend placing "Selmunett' at the top of your list of choices.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustInCase_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Thanks so much for the tranquil relaxed surroundings & keen catering. Your home is a very good de-stresser from work each day. The breakfasts were great & evening sundowners very relaxing, easy chatting with both owners, neighbours & pets. I had a very warm welcome & would recommend this B&B to both single people & families. All of the island is easy to get to by bus or private car hire & all maps & info available at Semunett.

Thanks again & take care

Desi

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank africansunbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

After giving up the idea of spending our time in Malta in a hotel we came across Roger's and Maria's B&B in Naxxar on the internet. Our email contact was very pleasant, as Roger always responded in a flash to our queries and requests.
The fabulous house and lush gardens (probably a rarity on this otherwise desert-like island) immediately appealed to us. From the rooftop we enjoyed the magnificent view of the island with the sunset on one side and the moonrise on the other.
After a hot day touring the islands we felt pampered in the swimming pool (which we had practically to ourselves) and quiet surroundings.
Also noteworthy are Roger's legendary barbecue breakfasts on the lovely verandah and the chats to and tips from the host and hostess.
And last but not least: We were amazed at the spacious room and sizeable bathroom, all spick and span.
Plus: No matter what ungodly hour you arrive or depart, Roger picks you up from or takes you to the ferry or airport, which we really appreciated.
All in all, it was everything it promised and more. Definitely something to rave about.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Test2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Staying at Selmunett was a treat - and reminded us of our Wolsey Lodge stays in the UK where you are made to feel so welcome in a family home. It is a rare find - Maltese hospitality with a huge warm welcome. Our room was beautiful with a new private bathroom with both bath and shower. Breakfasts were a show stopper, with Roger’s excellent full cooked breakfast and Maria’s home made marmalade from orange trees in their garden. One of Malta’s hidden gems. If you don’t have a car then Roger can take you on day trips – one of which we did to Gozo. We cannot speak more highly of our stay at Selmunett.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Islandlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews