We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Selmunett

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Selmunett
Ranked #3 of 6 Naxxar B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I and my parents in law booked both Selmunett rooms for our second week in Malta. We had stayed in Birgu for week one and wanted a central Malta location for week two. I looked at every Trip Advisor listing for accommodation with two bedrooms. I had a few expectations after reading the high ratings from previous reviewers and my visit to the accommodations web page. I was expecting to get an insight into life as a local, some recommendations or tips from the owners about where to go and what to do and one happy mother in law after she realised there was a resident to a dog, cat and bird (she loves animals). Well my expectations were not only met but exceeded in every way. We were warmly welcomed and found ourselves feeling like we were long lost relations rather than guests.

Roger and Maria are exceptional hosts and the property is amazing. The rooms were very private and very comfortable. The rooms were made up every second day and fresh water was provided daily. The rooms are kept warm during winter with a central fire place in the entry as well as room heaters. We did't need our heater though, the room we stayed in was a very comfortable temperature. The shower pressure was excellent (which I find rare when travelling). Mini bar fridges were installed in the early part of our stay which was greatly appreciated by my beer drinking husband.

Breakfast was perfect, there was excellent variety with a fruit course and the hot meal cooked to order each morning, there were also cereals, yoghurt and breads.

We hired a car which Roger arranged for us, I recommend you do the same. Roger gave us a GPS to use which was a god send as clear street signage is not a strong point in Malta. We took the car to Gozo one day and used Roger's pre-prepared notes and map.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serenityisnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 94 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very friendly welcome by Roger and his faithful dog. We received excellent advice all round. Clean, upmarket accommodation run efficiently with a delicious breakfast. I had a pleasant walk around the beautiful gardens with Maria while Heinz enjoyed a chin-wag with Roger. A very definite recommendation to anyone visiting Malta.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadurdolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We travelled a lot and know a bit about luxury B&Bs...
When at Malta, the Stricklands at Selmunett B&B are hosts you dream of for relaxing holidays. Roger with many years of tourism expertise under his belt always has the right idea for you to spend a beautiful day. He is a problem solver of a kind (forgot your adapter ?; forgot your GPS ?, need some info about Malta, history, country...). His and Maria's cuisine to serve a great, varied breakfast gave us a good start into the day and a relaxing holiday. The luxury B&B has only 2 rooms for guests, so you really feel private. We stayed 10 days and could easily have spent another 10 days on the island. Naxxar is an excellent base for all you want to do - 20 minutes to get anywhere on the island. A nice little town with good restaurants and definitely no mass tourism. The room at Selmunett B&B was very nice, nice view to the garden, quiet and large, fully equipped bathroom. Safe parking and a beautiful outdoor breakfast place is provided, with "PJ", a singing canary bird entertaining your breakfast ...
If you search for a quiet, beautiful place, nice "local" people who provide you with insights into the country and her people and a great breakfast, and if you love animals (like we do, there are well educated dogs, cat & bird at the Selmunett) - then this is the place of choice !
Reference class !

Room Tip: the B&B has 2 rooms for guests only, so if you seek privacy this is the place to go !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Roger and Maria, our consummate hosts at Selmunett are both hospitable and knowledable.And I'll tell you why, but first the B&B.

The property is an oasis, centrally placed in Malta with beautiful gardens growing oranges, lemons and to my wife's delight pomeganite ...never seen a pomegranite tree before! and of course it's all organic, you wnat a glass of fresh orange juice with your extensive breakfast, Roger will go pick the oranges and squeeze them for you

We had the 'Lawyers Room' beautifully and elegantly decorated with solid furniture and all of the little touches that make the stay mor than just a B&B

The real cream on the cake was the extent of Roger & Maria's local knowledge, and I mean Malta and the surrounding islandsm Gozo and Comino, and now I can tell you why ....

Roger spent the best art of 20 years in managing corporate events where he needed to know not only the local history but all the smaller details, the best restaurants, the best attractions and when to go ...everything that makes the difference between a great visit an exceptional visit

See you again Roger & Maria

Room Tip: Ask for the 'Lawyer's Room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

By pure chance we found this tucked-away B&B in a very nice part of Naxxar.

There are only 2 rooms so we felt lucky to have got one of them at very short notice. Roger was incredibly helpful arranging a hire car for us and giving instructions to find Selmunett. He and his wife Maria made us so welcome and comfortable that we felt rather spoilt, just what one wants on a relaxing holiday.

Our room overlooked what seems like the only garden in otherwise sunburnt Malta. It was refreshing and we enjoyed the lovely view from our room every morning. It was also wonderfully peaceful. The bed and rest of the room are very comfortable and nice, the bathroom amazing. Little touches made you feel special (jar of homegrown olives, etc.). If you want something more individual than the drab monoculture of hotels which seem otherwise all over Malta, then this place is it.

Breakfast is a real treat. There was variety, BBQ-ed cooked breakfast, homemade juices and there were interesting morning chats with our hosts. Their knowledge about Malta, politics and history were an unexpected boon. Without a doubt the stars of the place for us were, however, the 2 dogs (Max, Sasha) and a PJ, a charming canary bird whose daily morning shower ritual we were honoured to observe.

Roger and Maria's personal touches, their great care to detail, pleasant taste, wonderful hospitality and their gorgeous house all came together beautifully. Thank you for a lovely time.

Room Tip: We didn't see the bigger room and were rather chuffed even with the smaller garden room. We are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IzzyH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just about the perfect B&B -- a great property, lovingly improved upon over decades with gardens and additional rooms; hospitable and knowledgeable hosts who bent over backwards to make sure our stay was perfect; a central location that is peaceful and not crowded with other tourists; large and comfortable rooms with every modern convenience; and a wonderful breakfast al fresco, with fresh fruit right from the garden.

I came from a business conference held at a 5-star Malta hotel to stay the weekend at Selmunett, so I can directly compare that experience to this. The large hotel was technically perfect, but of course, it's a hotel, it was very busy and rushed. Selmunett is as good or better on the technical merits, but then there are the hosts, Roger and Maria, who take it to a whole new level of hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Roger and Maria were the perfect hosts. The room was spacious and had large windows overlooking the lovely garden. The location was perfect, Naxxar is a pretty town away from the busy tourist locations but close enough to all the sights for convenience. Breakfast was really special, lots of choice with fresh eggs, bacon and sausages cooked on the BBQ by Roger and served overlooking the garden which was full of flowers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVJEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxxar
1.9 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel
Corinthia Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Anton
1,643 reviews
5.3 mi away
Julesy's BnB
Julesy's BnB
#1 of 2 in Cospicua (Bormla)
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sunseeker Holiday Complex
1.2 mi away
Artemisia B & B
Artemisia B & B
#1 of 1 in Mosta
16 reviews
8 mi away
Port View Guesthouse
Port View Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Marsaxlokk
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selmunett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selmunett

Address: Triq E. Bradford | San Pawl Tat Targa, Naxxar, Island of Malta NXR 2216, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Naxxar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Naxxar
Price Range: $123 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Selmunett' is a charming family run luxury Homestay property located on the edge of the village of Naxxar, which is more or less in the centre of the island. We have two en-suite bedrooms and garden for the use of guests. The sea at St Paul's bay is a mere ten-minute car drive away. The capital Valetta is 15 minutes away; the airport and golf course 20 minutes away. We strongly recommend that you hire a car for your time in Malta. We would be happy to arrange this for you when you place your booking with us. If you do, and you stay for 7 nights and over we will offer you Complimentary one way airport transfer Airport - Selmunett and the use of a GPS navigation system to help you get yourselves around the island. The bus service in Malta is smooth with fully air-conditioned and modern buses with many routes round the Island. Our local bus stop is a mere three minutes from the house. Fitness enthusiasts, during the cooler weather, might like to consider bicycles, which again we can arrange. Rentals come complete with helmets, front and back lights and a locking system. Whilst we do not provide evening meals, we have a full list of recommended Restaurants that are in walking distance and of course others that are further a field and require transportation to get there. Apart from this we do have a Restaurant guide in each room so guests may wish to select their own, pubs and bars that we recommend listed here on our site. WiFi is available throughout and in the event that guests require the use of computers in order to re-confirm flights and print boarding passes, this can be done with pleasure. Each of our rooms have iPhone/iPod docking systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Selmunett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selmunett Malta/Naxxar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing