We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Palazzo in the sun with quiet, luxurious surroundings and gracious hospitality.”
Review of Selmunett

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Selmunett
Ranked #3 of 6 Naxxar B&B and Inns
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Palazzo in the sun with quiet, luxurious surroundings and gracious hospitality.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We might return to Malta just to stay in Selmunett again with Roger and Maria. We had a lovely time and enjoyed staying in such a tasteful, gracious palace-like home. We were made to feel part of the family.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NX2T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
53
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Such a lovely place to stay in Malta. The host Roger and Maria were so kind to us. Roger said even goodbye to us at 5 pm in the morning. The breakfast on the terrace was a tastefull and happily start of the day. We would like to visit this place again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Ordered rooms at this excellent B&B for my friends when they came to visit us in Malta. They were welcomed by the fantastic hosts Maria and Roger and spoiled with their charm and hospitality. I'll recommend them anytime.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jboee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Do it!! Such an extraordinary place of history, beauty, food and pleasure. When you go, Selmunett B&B is the place to stay!
Enjoy the quiet comfort of a lovely family home, set in beaurtiful gardens in the Embassy area, with your choice of private, perfect suites. Your Maltese hosts, Roger and Maria, will spoil you with their food and concierge talents, enhancing your visit beyond your wildest dreams.

Nancy Taylor, Washington D.C.

Room Tip: you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The charm of Selmunett lies in the lovely gardens and terraces, the warmth of the Stricklands’ welcome, and the comfort of the accommodations. It is a hidden treasure with bougainvillea spilling over the walls, on a quiet residential street that belies its convenient location near the center of Malta.
Our tranquil room, in muted colors and lovely fabrics, overlooked the garden and olive trees. Anything we needed, from morning wakeup coffee to help with a pesky camera charger, was cheerfully supplied. Our hosts knew everything about the island, from the history to the latest restaurants, and put us in touch with guides and taxi drivers as needed.
Roger’s breakfasts were delicious and varied productions, with everything one could want. Roger “harvests his own acres,” so we were treated to his olives, sun-dried tomatoes and herbs, and homemade jam. We lingered on that terrace, dogs at our feet, watching the pomegranates ripen on the tree.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaretta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Selmunet in Naxxar provides the perfect answer for guests looking for a quiet central situation on Malta and outside the Valetta built-up sprawl but within 30 minutes of most locations including the airport and Valetta itself. The old capital of Mdina and adjacent Rabat are only 15 minutes away by car. Local shops and several restaurants are within easy walking distance. Roger, your host, is a helpful mine of information and produces a range of (cooked) breakfasts which also include fresh fruits and are very good. These are usually served outside on a covered patio but a retreat into the kitchen is necessary if it is too cold or it rains.(It is worth noting that small mosquitos will inevitably surprise the unprepared outside - room windows are protected by screens .)

As things currently stand, the swimming pool and immediate surroundings are not available for the use of guests after September and keen sunbathers/swimmers are advised to check this situation when booking. That said, there is a large and quiet terrace overlooking the garden should you want to sit and read. Rooms are equipped with tea/coffee facilities, TV /radio and access to WiFi but no in-room fridge but your host will willingly supply fresh milk in the mornings and afternoons on request. In fact, the secret of a stay at Selmunet is indeed not to be reticent in voicing your needs for things such as an extra pillow for the bed etc - it is expected.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center; this B&B does have a swimming pool but as things stand, this is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Joyce50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was my second visit to Selmunett in two years. This time my wife and I "insisted" that we stay in the main house, rather than in the self contained unit, which is more suitable for the first-timers.

We had a great time staying with Maria and Roger, they made us feel like part of (long lost) family. The owners are very kind people and have a wealth of information about the history of Malta and the current attractions.

If you are a teenager, you might prefer to stay in St. Julian's [walking distance from the clubs], but for a married couple Selmunett is definitely more appealing proposition.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris_Just_In_Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxxar
1.9 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
3.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
2.6 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 15 in Qawra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selmunett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selmunett

Property: Selmunett
Address: Triq E. Bradford | San Pawl Tat Targa, Naxxar, Island of Malta NXR 2216, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Naxxar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Naxxar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Selmunett' is a charming family run luxury Homestay property located on the edge of the village of Naxxar, which is more or less in the centre of the island. We have two en-suite bedrooms and garden for the use of guests. The sea at St Paul's bay is a mere ten-minute car drive away. The capital Valetta is 15 minutes away; the airport and golf course 20 minutes away. We strongly recommend that you hire a car for your time in Malta. We would be happy to arrange this for you when you place your booking with us. If you do, and you stay for 7 nights and over we will offer you Complimentary one way airport transfer Airport - Selmunett and the use of a GPS navigation system to help you get yourselves around the island. The bus service in Malta is smooth with fully air-conditioned and modern buses with many routes round the Island. Our local bus stop is a mere three minutes from the house. Fitness enthusiasts, during the cooler weather, might like to consider bicycles, which again we can arrange. Rentals come complete with helmets, front and back lights and a locking system. Whilst we do not provide evening meals, we have a full list of recommended Restaurants that are in walking distance and of course others that are further a field and require transportation to get there. Apart from this we do have a Restaurant guide in each room so guests may wish to select their own, pubs and bars that we recommend listed here on our site. WiFi is available throughout and in the event that guests require the use of computers in order to re-confirm flights and print boarding passes, this can be done with pleasure. Each of our rooms have iPhone/iPod docking systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Selmunett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selmunett Malta/Naxxar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing