We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“COUNTRY FOOD & SERVICE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rapid Valley Restaurant

Rapid Valley Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Lansdowne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“COUNTRY FOOD & SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Like Roast Turkey & Roast Beef that was carved from WHOLE Turkeys and REAL Roasts of Beef - not from Deli packages - THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PATRICK D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    27
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“All you can eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

It doesn't matter what you order, it will be difficult to eat all of it. Portions are "Jethro" size, and everything is made from scratch. If I didn't know any better, I would guess that my grandmother is the head cook here.
Specials consist of:
Soup or salad, entree with veggie and starch. Homemade pie for dessert.
Excellent value. i am a regular.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Value especially for breakfast or lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a very popular restaurant with people who live and work in this area. It is part of a Gas Bar and you would easily miss it. The food is very good and the prices very reasonable. Everything is home made and every day there is a different home made soup on the menu and daily special. The fries are excellent and come "unsalted" which is a rare treat. Service is fast and friendly. Not the type of restaurant that you choose for "special' or for "atmosphere" but just a good meal. They also have yummy desserts to tempt you near the front door, that you can buy to take home.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank duffyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Holidaying in the 1000 Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We are spending 16 nights travelling around the 1000 Islands starting in Kingston. We stayed 2 nights in Lansdowne and were so impressed with this restaurant that we ate there both nights. The food is excellent, helpings generous, service good and prices amazing. I was very impressed with the roast dinner and expected thin slices of meat but it was much more like a large steak, superbly cooked with virtually no fat at all. The soups were were impressive too and the desserts were large. The first night we had to take our desserts away with us as soup and main meal were more than enough, but for $16.99 for 3 courses we couldn't say no! Would recommend this place to anyone that likes good food, but it's not for those wanting high end dining. You can tell a good place if the locals eat there, and they do!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wasbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Was skeptical at first, but ended up being blown away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had someone recommend this during our trip to Gananoque. Although my wife and I were somewhat skeptical about going to a diner for supper, the recommendation was so enthusiastic that our curiosity got the better of us. I'm glad it did - we were absolutely blown away! The food we got was incredible, and there was a ton of it - we stopped eating when we were full, and both had enough food left for a full lunch the next day! Food was very reasonably priced, especially considering the quantity.

I would recommend this place emphatically.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rapid Valley Restaurant also viewed

 
Lansdowne, Ontario

Been to Rapid Valley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing