We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one excelent place to fish and to find good friends”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Esquina Del Lago
Ranked #2 of 4 San Carlos B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 24, 2011

with amny years of fishing and visiting several places arround north and south america, I can tell you that this place is excelent for good fishing, excelent hospitality and good food, plus a good after dinner songs. Im ready to go back this year and try to kill my last year record 5 tarpons over 70 kilos and I lost one over 100 kilos its fantastic place I truly recomend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roberto v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

Amazing ranch on pilotis with casual service, french cuisine with carabean flare, memorable night-long discussions with Philippe, on a stretch of river so rich in birds, fish, monkeys, flowers of al kind. A real experience of the Nicaragua. We went for tarpons fishing and stayed a week. We ate amazing food. Discover San Carlos with our guides, from the inside and with access like we'd never have. Still dream about those thick oranges we found at the market.
Loved it. Still think about it years later. Would be back in a heart beat.
Bonjour Philippe!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I traveled here from Costa Rica to fish the nearby Solentiname Islands. I was pleasantly surprised by the hospitality and food at the lodge and the quality of the guides. Phillipe is a great host. Do not expect five star accommodations since it offers simple but adequate accommodations. They have been working on some private bungalows that I expect to see completed on my next visit this coming September. I read comments from other travelers, and although I did see the dogs, I saw no mess because of them. I felt very comfortable and well taken care of at all times during my stay. There is so much to do around the area that a second trip is already confirmed. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poezabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We booked a flight to San Carlos on a Sunday and only realised afterwards that there was no river transport that day after our flight arrived. After reading what the guide books and many people online have to say about San Carlos we were cursing our stupidity until we found this place. On arrival at the airport we were met by the very friendly Roberto who escorted us across the Rio Frio to La Esquina del Lago. There was no charge for this service.

We were pleasantly surprised by the town of San Carlos and the lodge. Make no mistake this is not a super luxury place but is way better than any of the other options in San Carlos. The staff were super friendly and helpful doing everything possible to make our stay pleasant. The lodge is across the river from town but they are quite happy to take you across any time you need and for no charge. We really enjoyed these little excursions as they gave us a chance to observe the bird life across the water (including the marvellous Roseate Spoonbill) from close up.

The lodge has two stories and the views of the sunset from the upper level are superb, those from the lower level slightly less so. There are chairs and hammocks on the upper level where we sat and enjoyed a sundowner every day. Our room and bathroom were a reasonable size and the bed was comfortable.

The food at the lodge was prepared in accordance to our tastes and was good. A meal that stood out for a meat lover like me was the filet flambed in cognac and served with a French style pepper sauce. And then there is the river shrimp ... The meals and drinks were reasonable priced. There was no question of price gouging at this lodge which we appreciated.

The lodge has kayaks which you are welcome to use while you are there. We made good use of them paddling up the Rio Frio towards Costa Rica as well as around the nearby lake shore. There are lots of monkeys and good birdlife in this area. For backpackers like ourselves this was a definite bonus as the free use of the kayaks more than compensated for the room being a bit more expensive than we were used to paying in Nicaragua.

When we were there the river was really high and had flooded much of the property severely limiting access to any of the land around. This meant that it was not possible to access the walking paths normally available to guests. The dogs too were marooned but we found them to be very friendly and good company !!

Philippe is an excellent host with a wide knowledge of many subjects and a very interesting man to talk to. We learnt a lot from him. Tshampa is an excellent guide and has a knowledge of birds unsurpassed on the river. We were unfortunately too poor to take full advantage of his services but he was more than happy to answer our questions in any case :-) The lodge has a number of fishing boats and the fishing tackle was plentiful and in good condition.

Perhaps the highest praise that we can give is that we ended up staying here for 3 nights at the beginning of our river odyssey and returned for one more at the end before continuing on to the Solentiname.

Room Tip: For those who don't mind sharing a bathroom the rooms upstairs have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

a paradise of fishing, if you love being in touch with nature, the sunset with many colors.
sunrises that make you sigh with its splendor.
You have to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaveCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

This lodge is overpriced for what it offers. Cleanliness is a problem with 4 dogs peeing and pooping in eating and sitting area. Bedding was questionable, we've stayed in one star hotels throughout Belize and Nicaragua which were by far cleaner. I deliberatly left the bed unmade when we took an overnight trip down river only to find the room hadn't even been swept or garbage taken out when we got back nor the bed made.
After discovering a beautiful little hotel down river in Sabalos for half the price including breakfast we realized that La Esquina was really lacking (at this point we weren't sure what to expect being our first week in Nic.). If we had known there was better accommodation down river we would have planned our trip differently.
The upside is that the staff are great people and we enjoyed the time spent with them. Phillipe although a very friendly fellow needs to pay better attention to his lodge. Also he needs to be more honest and up front about things, fishing in particular. Maintenance needs to be taken care of (dock out front was an accident waiting to happen) and his staff need better equipment to work with.
Until things improve here, my advice is to go down river to Sabalos and save your money. Only stay here one night if you arrive in San Carlos to late to go down river,
since there isn't anything else much better in San Carlos.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gbjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Stayed at La Esquina based on the great web site on the fishing, great food, rooms and eco lodge with walking trails etc. Most of this is inaccurate and I don't know how anyone would call this clean or value for the money. We could not walk anywhere off the dock as the water was to high and had been for some time none of which we were told before we got there. There is four dogs roaming underfoot both peeing and the other one on the docks and backs of chairs and use the big crocodile you see in the pictures as a peeing post. I wish I would have know that before I got a picture of me hugging it. Discussting. The probelm is it took three days to clean the dog poop off the dock. We fished for 8 hours and spend a lot of money to catch nothing. We went down the river with two guides and stayed over night at Hotel Sabalos which we were told was 25.00 US a night with hot water and spotless with good food and service bar none. Nothing like the La Esquina that we were paying $50.00 each for and had to ask for towels , sheets that were not stained and a room that got flooded because someone forgot to turn that water tank on the roof off when it was full. No one really seemed to get to excited to help us out with drying all our gear and fortunately my camera was not in its case that was filled with water. Would I stay there again. NEVER which is really to bad as the guides are great guys and we had fun with them . We discivered we could go down the river on the fast ferry to Hotel Sabalos , hire a guide ther for way way less than we paid Phillipe. We did go to the Solentines with his guides and that was worth what we paid. As far as boats most of them are junk and no engines have been replaced in the last two years like the web site says. The fibreglass on the boat we used was cracked so bad that we were supplied with plastic lawn chairs placed in the boat to sit on. Really safe as you bounce across the waves on Lake Nic. All in all the most expensive part of our whole Nicaraguan trip and the most disappointing. There is much more I could go on about but I am sure you are getting the message. Lots of big talk on the La Esquina web site but little fact to back it up.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GaryandLeslye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luna del Rio
Hotel Luna del Rio
#1 of 3 in El Castillo
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sabalos Lodge
Sabalos Lodge
#1 of 2 in Boca Sabalos
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lara's Planet
Hotel Lara's Planet
#3 of 3 in El Castillo
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand River Lodge
Hotel Grand River Lodge
#3 of 8 in San Carlos
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Juanita
Hotel Posada Dona Juanita
#3 of 4 in San Carlos
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montecristo EcoLodge
Montecristo EcoLodge
#1 of 3 in Boca Sabalos
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Esquina Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Esquina Del Lago

Address: Bocana Rio Frio | National park Los Guatuzos, San Carlos Pobox4, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rio San Juan Department > San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Carlos
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Esquina del Lago Jungle River Lodge is located only at five minutes from the town of San Carlos, on the other side of the river and on the corner of the lake (hence the name). The place is set in the peace and tranquillity of the Los Guatuzos National Park. La Esquina del Lago offers a wide variety of activities and services. There is a FREE BOAT SHUTLE from San Carlos available at any time, and kayaks can be used in and around the property free of charge as well. Equipment can also be provided to practice fishing around the hotel. The hotel has GUIDED TOURS in motor boats (there are 6 boats of various sizes, all fully registered). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Esquina Del Lago Hotel San Carlos
La Esquina Del Lago Nicaragua/San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing