We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect French Retreat”
Review of Le Manoir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Manoir
Reviewed August 26, 2010

I went to Le Manoir by recommendation and was very pleased that I did. It is a beautiful manor house that has been lovingly restored and renewed by the resident owners to the highest standards and is extremely luxurious and comfortable. On the first night we asked for a light snack and it was superb, served with a fine bottle of wine to help us relax after the journey. We are not breakfast eaters but I saw enough of what was available to wish I had more of an appetite in the mornings! Nothing is too much trouble, from restaurant reservations to suggestions for days out. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 26 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2010

Our third time back to stay with Helmut and Jennifer at Le Manoir and everything was as perfect as ever. These lovely people really know what they are doing and make you feel so welcome you just *have* to keep going back. Utterly faultless - stunning interiors, gorgeous breakfasts, charming hosts. Perfect. Go there!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spiggiewiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

This is one of those rare bed and breakfast you came away dreaming about starting your own bed and breakfast or doing up a beautiful french house. Helmut and Jennifer will make your stay extremely welcoming and it is a beautiful tastefully done up manor house. It is very personal and warm. You are instantly relaxed the minute you walk into their house. Even though our stay is short we had enjoyed their company immensely and would definitely like to return very soon.
The breakfast deserved a special mention. Out of all big and small hotels we have stayed in France this is by far the best quality breakfast. Fresh fruits, really good cheese, cold plate and fresh bread. The attention to detail makes this place a cut above the rest. I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maidstoneroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

This is were you go to chill out
friendly warm and welcoming and the breakfast well what can one say other than fantastic

keep up the good work we will be back that is for sure

linda and David

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Handmadefurniture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

This was our fourth stay at Helmut and Jennifer's delightful 'Manoir'. We have now been able to sample all of the four bedrooms! All of the rooms are beautiful and elegant with luxurious en-suite bathrooms.
Le Manoir is very stylish and has been featured in numerous interiors magazines but it is also very comfortable and Helmut and Jennifer are brilliant hosts with attention to detail being second to none.
Breakfast is as you would expect top class and delicious including local cheeses, bread eggs and homemade jams.
We find the location perfect for us when visiting 'The Wine Society' in Montreuil. There is an excellent restaurant within walking distance and Le Touquet is only half an hour away by car.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaffronF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We have recently returned from a wonderful House Party at Le Manoir to celebrate a birthday.
Eight of us had a great time at this lovely house with Jennifer and Helmut giving every attention to detail as usual. Tea in front of a log fire, delicious food and comfort all around us. Nothing is too much trouble and we were really spoilt. Roll on the next celebration!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

What a wonderful, romantic and quite unforgettable experience we had staying at the beautiful home of Jennifer and Helmut Gorlich. We had never experienced such comfort and style and it was quite the most romantic break we have ever experienced.
Thank you for your kind hospitality. You both made our weekend away one we will never forget. The attention to detail and the kindness you showed us was amazing.
We hope one day to repeat our fabulous weekend away.
Thank you to you both.
Gary and Vicky Pugin, Surrey, England. (ex South African)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyIreneAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir

Address: 34 rue de Maresquel, 62870 Gouy-Saint-Andre, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Gouy-Saint-Andre
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gouy-Saint-Andre
Price Range: $170 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 18th-century manor with a large, English garden, Le Manoir is located 30 km from the beach in Le Touquet, the Opal Coast and Baie de Somme. The terrace offers panoramic views of the countryside and a continental breakfast is available every day. Decorated with antique furniture, the guest rooms have views of the garden or the courtyard. Each room features facilities for making tea and coffee. The en suite bathrooms include a hairdryer and free toiletries. Breakfast is served in the dining room and consists of homemade products such as cake, jam, bread, cereal and pastries. Traditional French meals can be prepared for dinner upon request in advance. After breakfast, you can visit the property's horses. With free private parking in the courtyard, this B&B is 20 km from Crecy Forest and 16 km from Montreuil. Local activities include hiking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Manoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing