We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Manoir
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie(Gouy-Saint-Andre)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel LE VAUBAN(Montreuil-sur-Mer)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Jardin Sauvage(Hauts-de-France)
Booking.com
View Deal
Le Trianon(Hesdin)
Booking.com
View Deal
Hypnos Hotel(Hesdin)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
23
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshouse is beautifulbreakfast was amazingbreadone nightceciliabedroomjamsuk
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 26 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We revisited Le Manoir with another couple on the way back from our holiday in south west France. We have stayed there numerous times over the last seven years both as a couple and with friends ,however this was our first visit since it changed owners one year ago. It continues to be a beautiful and well run b and b , Cecilia is very friendly, works very hard for her guests making her own cakes, bread etc.and obviously loves her new home. However we all felt that some special touches supplied by the previous owners were missing which detracted from the usual special ambiance. The lack of fire when we arrived on a cool dull rainy day was an example and in the past before leaving for dinner in the evening a complementary aperitif and nibbles would be offered and candles lit creating a lovely atmosphere. Breakfast was pleasant but previously cheeses ,meats and eggs had been available . We also had to sit separately from our friends as only one table which was occupied seated four or more. Because of the above we felt that the tariff was a little excessive at E160 with breakfast. We used three other b and b s on the way to and from our holiday destination and many others on previous trips to various locations in France all of which offered equal or more for at least E30 less.These changes would not matter much if the tariff was less as Le Manoir still has a lot to offer. Obviously the new owners want to put their own stamp on their business and as they have a family they may not want to run le Manoir the same way which is fair enough but in our opinion the price should be lowered. We would not stay again as we can find similar nearby for less.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AquilegiaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia L, Propriétaire at Le Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and it helps us to improve our service. Nevertheless, please note the tariffs are the same as with the previous owners and in France we serve continental breakfast. Previous owners were english. We understand your frustration about the breakfast but you forgot to mention that at the same time there was a very old person who had a lot of problems to move and he wanted to be with his family. On our side, we really appreciated your stay but found your statement not fair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Words nor pictures could express how perfect Le Manoir is. My boyfriend and I stayed there in April when Jennifer and Helmut were still there. They did a beautiful job renovating and developing the most carefully and tastefully decorated residence. They went the extra mile with small touches like tea & cakes in the afternoon, nibbles & wine in the early evening, and exquisitely presented breakfast of fruits, meats, cheeses and fresh farm eggs. I have no doubt the new owners will follow in Jennifer and Helmut's footsteps and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rissasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I don't know where to start, cannot fault this beautiful french home with stunning grounds and buildings.
A real family welcome, a courtyard full of horses, ducks, geese and cats. The decor and furnishings are delightful and very comfortable. We chose the lovely 'grey' room, spacious and with views to the front and rear of this wonderful property. Dinner was delicious, from start to finish, preceded by aperitifs and handmade canapes Coffee and petit fours by the open fire . Everything was homemade and prepared with care and precision,beautifully presented and accompanied by great wines. Breakfast just as good, with fresh produce bought that morning.:)

Room Tip: Four rooms only, 1 and 4 have double aspect, and more spacious but they all looked lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentcritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Please note that the photo of the orange bedroom has somehow strayed from a hotel also called Le Manoir but at Orchies. This is not representative of the quality of the rooms Helmut and Jennifer provide - make sure you are on the right website, i.e. Le Manoir at Gouy St Andre, before you book for a top quality hotel experience. Jennifer's tasteful furnishing of bedrooms and public sitting areas is comfortable and relaxing, and both Helmut and Jennifer will go out of their way for the whole of your stay to make sure that you have everything you could possibly want. Breakfasts offer a vast array of lovely things to eat, including eggs from the chicken in the garden at the side of the hotel and homemade preserves of all sorts made by Jennifer. If you need help in choosing a restaurant for your evening meal you will be told about all types of eating establishments in the area from those with Michelin stars to auberges offering plainer fare so that you can make your choice. It's a very special experience to stay here, one to be repeated as often as possible we think!

Room Tip: All the rooms are of the same high quality - we choose the yellow room as we think it has the best view!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed at Le Manoir for one night after arriving in Calais late in the afternoon. Helmut and Jennifer were the perfect hosts, offering us tea and cakes on the lawn and a glass of wine before we went out for our evening meal.
The house is incredible and Helmut and Jennifer are rightly proud of the features they have been the subject of in house-style magazines.
The breakfast was superb, with entertainment from Helmut thrown in for free!
I could not recommend Le Manoir enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews