We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday lunch”
Review of The Temple Inn - CLOSED

The Temple Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Liss, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“sunday lunch”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Visited Temple on Sunday 27th April for Sunday lunch. What a beautiful meal, really fussy about roast potatoes they were really scrummi. The whole meal was so nice, definitely going back. Also went to Indian night, great evening tastefully decorated gave great ambience, food good as well. So glad pub open & alive. Anita & Paul are a real asset the pub really needed these people with the vision of what the pub needed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sh0rty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    46
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a little Gem”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have been to the Temple Inn a couple of times just lately and I can only say wow. The food and service are fantastic. Anita and Paul were perfect hosts and a real asset to the place.
I was told that the out door area would be getting a makeover soon so bring on the sunshine and lets get out there.

I am looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLH2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Improvement”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

What a difference good tenants make! Since Anita & Paul have moved in the Temple has improved beyond recognition. If you've stayed away because of its earlier reputation TRY IT NOW.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank forte69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Sunday Lunch in a lovely pub!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I took my partner, mum & daughter & boyfriend for a Sunday lunch at the Temple Inn. What a tasty and well presented meal. Plenty of choice and food was well presented, large portions and really wonderful! If you want a `pile it high sell it cheap' meal go somewhere else. But, if you wnat a really good quality meal, good wine and beers and a friendly atmosphere I would recommend a visit to the Temple.

While we were there the garden was being cleared and re-laid with turf. In the summer months dining and the pub experience will be enhanced by being able to enjoy the outside.

Great job being done by Paul & Anita in getting this old girl of a pub back on the map!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liss, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would definitely recommend!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The Temple inn is a lovely pub. I would recommend this small, local pub for its great traditional pub food. The temple is a very welcoming pub run by the lovely Anita and Paul who offer friendly customer service to all customers. It's great just to nip into for a quiet drink or have a delicious meal with family and friends. The events I have been to on several occasions are a huge success and are a great way of interacting with other local people.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meganwisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Temple Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing