We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food!”
Review of Hawkley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hawkley Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Liss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I have been renting a holiday cottage near Selborne for 10 weeks, no other pub in the area has matched the quality supplied by the Hawkley Inn. On some occasions the food has been absolutely first class whilst others just extremely good, we have eaten here 6 or 7 times and it is always excellent. Last night we took advantage of the Monday night Steak and chips special offer and at £9 was unbelievably good value! The chips are home cooked and the sirloin as good as any We have had for a very long time! The menu is fresh, home made, quirky and ever changing. During the week two courses are £15 and three for £20. Real Ales are a plenty and a decent wine list too! Try it out.....you will not be disappointed! Friendly and allow dogs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillipsmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 211 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had an evening meal. There was a warm and relaxed atmosphere in this lovely old pub. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The food was served promptly and looked very attractive. We loved the garlic flowers with the vegetables. We ate everything with gusto. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Had a great stay, the pub was excellent with several real ales on rotation, the room was lovely and better than expected for an "inn" stay. The small touches such as the mineral water, whisky decanter and pillow chocolates made us feel that it was a luxury hotel rather than a B&B / pub. Room was clean, bathroom great with toiletries and powerful shower. Lovely rural location in the South Downs with many walks and bike rides from the doorstep. Staff were super friendly and went out of their way to help. We also ate in the pub both nights of our stay as well as breakfasts and one lunchtime and the food and drink was all perfect, tasty and well presented, served in good time with good sized portions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icedgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Whilst on a trip to see friends and visit Peppa Pig World we stayed at the Hawkley Inn. The weekend was wonderful, the accomodation is beautiful, the family room was spacious and very well furnished, a travel cot was provided, which was lovely as they tend be big things to lug around. We ate in the pub 3 times and each time the food and service were excellent, with meals ranging from Fresh Fish to Steak and Ale pie and scrummy desserts, the chefs are doing a great job and the Mother's day roast lunch was beautiful, excellent roast beef and home made yorkshire puddings! On each morning we indulged in a cooked breakfast which was truly excellent, so nice to have real sausages and lovely eggs. The staff cannot do enough for you which is a real treat. I believe the new owner took the pub on in mid March 2014 and can only say that with the team they have and the obvious enthusiusm and experience the Hawkley will continue to be a real sucess. Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirstie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

While working nearby, we stayed here for just one night. I wished it could have been longer and will definitely stay again if I get the chance.

Simon the new owner is an awesome host, and we where greeted on arrival by the friendly atmosphere of the locals enjoying the pubs great selection of ales in the pub and food in the dining area. The menu looked fantastic and was reasonably priced so we also had dinner there. Seriously, if you visit here for nothing else let it be the food. It was incredibly good. I also sampled a few of the ales (in half pints, we still had to work the next day) and Simon was knowledgeable and keen to give insight and tasters of these fine brews.

The room was brilliant. Quiet location, new and tasteful decor that suited the building, solid furniture, high quality bed and bedding, lovely bathroom and all very clean. All of this and extras like; chocolates on the pillow, a dram of whiskey in a decanter with glasses, mini coffee machine with sealed fresh coffee, turned a very good room into a great room. The breakfast was perfect and Simon was very accommodating to our requirements.

Visit here, have dinner, try the ales, stay the night enjoy the breakfast it is time and money well spent and in great company too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Initially when I booked I was told the pub was closed until, I think, 5pm. As this was November and it's dark and cold by then I asked if we could possibly be allowed in earlier. this was agreed by Nick by email. On arrival went to the door which was open and we were welcomed in by Alan the barman. Room looked nice and good en suite but the bed was rather hard and the room was too hot to sleep comfortably. Had a delicious evening meal and fabulous company at the bar with a couple of locals and Alan the barman who was off teaching ski-ing the next week. Breakfast was also good and the chef great to chat to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Rude manager and staff, apart from two extremely helpful waitress staff who deserve to be working somewhere better. The building of the pub itself looks very tired and dreary, the rooms seem to have been more recently decorated, however don't appear to be kept particularly clean with dust laying everywhere. The food, despite being significantly dull, was actually pleasant enough for hungry travellers such as ourselves. However we expected more for the money.

Good money wasted on a bad stay. Thank goodness the business payed for it and not my own purse!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTallFrenchLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liss hotels
3.1 mi away
The Jolly Drover
The Jolly Drover
#2 of 5 in Liss
148 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Flying Bull Inn
2.4 mi away
Overglen Court Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkley Inn

Address: Pococks Lane | Liss, Near Petersfield, Liss GU33 6NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Liss
Price Range: $127 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawkley Inn is a traditional country pub in the heart of delightful tranquil village, close to the Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex border.Downstairs you will find an unspoilt, little changed traditional pub serving a huge range of locally brewed real ales and locally crafted ciders as well as really good, home made country pub food. Outside there is a spacious, well maintained beer garden and upstairs there are four superb bedrooms, all recently created and boasting the highest standards of comfort with luxurious large double beds, powerful showers, free wi-fi and everything else you would expect in a luxury hotel room.Hawkley is very well situated for those wishing to explore the outstanding countryside on our doorstep and for those who need to be near Petersfield, Alton, Basingstoke, Portsmouth or Guildford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hawkley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkley Hotel Liss
Hawkley Inn Liss, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing