We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpowered Camping at Darlington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NRMA Darlington Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We have been unable to find anything to beat Darlington. The shade, the space, the wildlife, the access to resort faciities, the closeness to the beach, the quiet, the water temperature, the surf, the beach patrols and the service are excellent. Just watch out for flooding in heavy downpours - it could be better drained.

Room Tip: Pick a high spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 695 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

I have to open this review with how disappointed I am with this holiday park, we are seasoned campers and have camped many times in the rain before, so this review is not written lightly. We had booked an unpowered (or second class, as we were made to feel) site and could not have had a worse time. I should have paid more attention to the other reviewers who warned not to book it. The moment we arrived we were told that the sites were flooded (no one seemed to see the need to inform us of this before we arrived, despite having contact numbers and email addresses to contact us). We found a site that wasn't too badly flooded and set up (in hindsight, we should have just gone and found another park). The camp kitchen was unable to be used as it was surrounded by water and roped off, the amenities were no where near the sites and i'm sure that because we weren't paying top dollar for a villa or powered site we were just forgotten.Our first three days, although sunny, were still muddy, and we were informed by local residents and park employees that this was the fault of the council, yet the holiday park were more than happy to take our money. We were not at any time offered any alternative (powered site or villa) and when we asked for a shovel so we could dig a trench around our site, we were told that they would be back with one - it never arrived, so my husband ended up digging a trench around our site with his bare hands, we didn't think that going to a holiday park we would have to pack and shovel etc. I have never had a worse experience. I am fully prepared to accept that the park cannot control the weather, but they can control communication with their customers and inform them either when they book or even when they arrive of the state of their unpowered sites. Our trip was ruined and we have returned home a very disappointed family. I am putting up this post not out of anger (although I am extrememly angry that our once a year holiday has been cut short), but I am posting to warn others, please do not ever use their unpowered sites, they look absolutely nothing like their website. I will note that when I informed the staff that I was going to fair trading for false advertising, I was given a full refund - which was stuffed up and my card was over refunded and now has to be recharged - but the management spent the whole conversation blaming council, instead of taking responsiblilty for their lack of communication. Now unfortunately my family and I will have to wait another 12 months for a chance for a holiday and believe me we will never go to Darlington again.

Room Tip: my tip is not to go there ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We keep coming back to Darlington Beach year after year because it is just SO GOOD! In fact, we've been staying here for family holidays for my entire life, ever since it was Darlington Park and they had Peacocks wandering around! The Peacocks are (unfortunately) gone, but there are still plenty of ducks, rainbow lorikeets, kangaroos and lizards inhabiting this beautiful holiday park!
The facilities are second to none, with 2 large outdoor pools and a fantastic waterslide. Then you can jump in the massive heated spa to relax as well.
The beautiful private beach is only a short walk and there is golf and tennis for the sportspeople in your group and two fantastic jumping pillows and bike track for the kids.
Our most recent stay was in a Gumnut Villa which is a perfect size for 2 couples plus a few little kids, or a big family. It was neat and clean with great cooking facilities and was surrounded by beautiful palms gardens that offer privacy from the other cabins around you. The bummer was the bath in the cabin was a little hard to get around for bathing a small baby, so we used the laundry tub instead. They also have Austar which is great for chilling out if the weather turns rainy.
The staff are super friendly and helpful and made our stay so easy and comfortable.
We recommend staying here to everyone, it's beautiful, quiet, a great leafy setting with a fantastic beach and pools. What else could you want?

Room Tip: Gumnut Villa's are great for a large family or 2 couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharWillJai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Two weeks wasn't long enough, we all wished we had booked in for another week instead of moving onto another park, including my teenage daughter which is a miracle in itself! Darlington offers something for everyone and is truly a magical spot to reunite the family again and just hang out together in peaceful, tranquil surrounds. I have recommended it to so many people already!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This was our last stop on our way up the East coast back to Brisbane in January 2012. The staff were helpful with the booking and our stay in a Lagoon Spa villa was a great end to our trip. The boys loved the pools and spotting dragon lizards around the place. The evening meal was delicious and enjoyed in the lovely 'al fresco' eating area. We liked the look of the caravan sites- the lawns and angled driveways and look forward to returning with the van sometime. We will certainly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

What a quiet, safe park this is. Wonderful for a family holiday. We stayed for a week in a powered site, these are huge sites. The kids never stopped, from swimming at the pool, riding bikes, jumping pillow, beach, activities, so much for everyone, also nice and quiet when you wanted to relax. We would definitley recommend to anyone and will definitley be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julwil95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The service and staff were fantastic.. The facitaties were perfect for families with young children over all a fantastic place to stay

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterquring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrawarra
15.0 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
379 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
8.4 mi away
Discovery Parks - Emerald Beach
Discovery Parks - Emerald Beach
#1 of 1 in Emerald Beach
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Lorikeet
Gateway Lifestyle Lorikeet
#2 of 3 in Arrawarra
82 reviews
14.3 mi away
Solitary Islands Marine Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NRMA Darlington Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NRMA Darlington Beach Holiday Park

Address: 104-134 Eggins Drive, Arrawarra, New South Wales, Australia (Formerly NRMA Darlington Beach Resort and Holiday Park)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Arrawarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Arrawarra
Price Range: $96 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NRMA Darlington Beach Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on pristine Arrawarra Beach just north of Coffs Harbour on the NSW Mid North Coast, NRMA Darlington Beach Resort & Holiday Park offers the ideal place to take time out and recharge with the family. Spanning over 110 acres of coastal forest, our eco-friendly holiday park is a nature lovers paradise. Take time out to meet the locals; the kangaroos and native animals, watch the sunrise on the beach or wander through the adjacent forest and feel yourself relax with every step. Our tropical oasis provides accommodation options to suit all needs and budgets including modern 2 and 3 bedroom Villas, and great family cabins on the park's own lagoon. We also have a large range of spacious caravan, RV and camping sites - some of the biggest in Australia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your NRMA Darlington Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NRMA Darlington Beach Holiday Park Australia/Arrawarra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing