We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limousin steak in La Rochfoucauld”
Review of Chez Steph

Chez Steph
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $67
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Vayres, Limousin, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Limousin steak in La Rochfoucauld”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I had a delicious meal at Chez Steph where the excellent steak was cooked on a charcoal grill and served with fresh vegetables. Great friendly service and interesting decor

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    112
    36
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“yummy yummy yummy”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had a really disappointing/ horrific meal at another local restaurant the week before, so was hoping to redress the balance on our last night by going to Chez Stef. We have been before so knew it was good, but this time my steak was sublime, Faux filet, rare, housefries with garlic, mushroom sauce.. OMG.. it was melt in the mouth and so so tasty i never wanted it to end.. could happily eat that meal every day..

mmmmmmmmmm

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sausagenmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“In my opinion the best steak and chips in France!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have been to Steph's about 6 times in the last couple of years and it just keeps getting better. I really do not know better steak ad chips in France. It is the chips that take it to a difference level. Cooked in goose fat and turned in rock salt and parsley they are to die for. The beef is hung longer than usual in France. I would not bother with a starter. The steaks are definitely the main event and you may just have enough room left for one of the delicious retro deserts (peach melba, crème brulee etc.).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade
Level Contributor
284 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our second trip to La Rochefoucauld, and Chez Steph, A lovely atmosphere, we made so welcome and great food,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgiegirl1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angouleme, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like Steak? love Chez Steph”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This restaurant is always buzzing with energy , a place where the locals eat the most superb steaks cooked on an open fire. For those ,like me who don't always want steak there is a wide and varied choice of other dishes. Food is served in typical Bistro style on large wooden platters by cheerful helpful staff. A place for all the family to eat what they most enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMM16260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Steph also viewed

La Rochefoucauld, Charente
La Rochefoucauld, Charente
 
La Rochefoucauld, Charente
 

Been to Chez Steph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing