We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Golf & Country Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victoria Golf & Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Rajawella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Writing this because I believe in sharing the good parts of life.....instead of keeping them for yourself.

Ended up here in february 2012 after coming up from Unawatuna. Had read about the golfcourse in a top 100 Asian course to play and felt like this was a good one day stop on the way to Colombo. 2012 I stayed 10 days, rented clubs in shop, played matchplay everyday with my caddie, MC Kumar, had fantastic and cheap food at the clubhouse, met fantastic people, and spent the afternoons reading beside the eternitypool.

Last year february 2013 I spent 3 weeks here!

There is not much more to do here than play golf, relax, eat and ..........recharge your batteries.
BUT....sometimes that is what you need in life.

Spend a night or two at the resorts cottages but if you want to spend more time here (and I think you will) then contact Carol Bonifas which has a House/Hotel just beside 1:st fairway, with pool, breakfast, dinner......all of it....and to a VERY decent price.

Please......visit!

Tony

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 100000Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    25
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
21
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Great property near Kandy. Bit of a problem getting there as road is being developed. But once at the resort it is so quiet and peaceful !! The chalets are lovely. .High ceiling and open bathrooms balineses style. Very clean. Food is excellent and vegetarian food is very organic with vegetables grown on the property. The golf course is 18 holes and huge.
Stayed for 2 nights. .too short !!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjudesai3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Unsure why the agent sent us here as we hate golf, but anyway!
Check in professional, room was large, could be alot nicer. A bit dingy, especially in bathroom. Hot water was faaaaantastic, shower best thing about our stay!
Aircon is noisy - room while spacious lacked "warmth" and ambience - was quite "cold looking"
Breakfast was amazing, buffet superb tasting food.
Staff were not overly friendly, quite reserved and aloof, didnt make you feel at home.
A nice place to stay, but FAR out of town. There are nicer places to stay in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This little golfing paradise is just three hours by car from Colombo and offers the golfing enthusiast the best golf in Sri Lanka, with good quality accommodation and restaurant facilities on site to make this the ideal location for a golfing break during any trip to Sri Lanka. When you are not playing golf you can enjoy splendid walks around the lake and surrounding hills, go for swim in the pool, play tennis or relax in the spa or bar with excellent views over the course. This course is not easy but what a great test for golfers of all abilities. The staff are excellent helpful and always trying to please. The Caddy Master and his team are very helpful with a good and very professional team of caddies and ball spotters to make your game even more enjoyable. The local members always welcome visitors to join them at every opportunity.

Room Tip: Ask for chalet overlooking golf course and within easy walking distance of the club house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

They say there is no charge for golf buggy as it's complimentary but the day we played they didn't allow Buggies which is fine as the ground was wet . Then charged us to rent trolleys £5.00 the course is costly enough for amateur golfers just taught it was a rip off...

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Patt2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent a night at VGCR on a very quick visit with family and freiends. The place was amazing. Our chalets had a beautiful view, overlookng the golf course and the Victoria reservoir. The rooms were very spacious, clean and well maintained. Nice restaurant with fantastic sri lankan food. Wetern breakfast is a bit dissapointing. Suggest you ask for a sri lankan breakfast.

Waiters were somewhat slow to take orders, but very friendly and courteous.

We didnt have time to play golf, but i am sure it would have been an amazing experience. Overall fantastc place for a relaxing family holiday, especially if you are a golfer.

Room Tip: chalets adjoining the golf course have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family, friends and I have played golf at Victoria many time and I have to say it's probably the finest experience anywhere. The original caddy master Peter was an absolute gentleman as is the current guy Siva, also his assistant who is a great guy.
From the moment you leave the first tee (with caddy and ballboy) what a luxury ! ! ! Far superior than Europe & America. The course is extremely beautiful with some of the most amazing views from the various tees, especially the third hole and the quite spectacular fifth. The caddies are very knowledgable and most of all honest as are the ballboys.Forget wingeing about the rooms and food
If it's golf you go to Victoria for it cannot be beaten. Will be back soon. Barry Walker.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazwalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rajawella
7.3 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
9.6 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
9.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
10.7 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Golf & Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Golf & Country Resort

Property: Victoria Golf & Country Resort
Address: Mahaberiyatenna Road, Rajawella 20180, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Rajawella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rajawella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria Golf & Country Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 12 miles from the centre of Kandy, the Hill Capital of Sri Lanka, the Resort overlooks the Victoria Lake, with breathtaking views of the Knuckles Ranges in the background. Away from the bustle of the city, and at 1,500 feet above sea level, the 520 acre resort provides guests with a secluded ambiance in a pleasant climate, supported by friendly service and excellent accommodation, dining, sporting and recreational facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Victoria Golf & Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Golf & Country Hotel Rajawella
Victoria Golf And Country Resort
Victoria Golf & Country Resort Sri Lanka/Rajawella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing