We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secret Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victoria Golf & Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Rajawella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Secret Paradise”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We travelled with a group of friends and we stayed in Eagle's Falls. Lovely holiday home with private swimming pool and housekeepers with world class golf course . The Resort is perfect for golfers and non-golfers . We had a wonderful time!
Pls check out the photos of the Resort at http://sunlifeshinefree.blogspot.com/

Thanks Ms Danushka for helping us with our countless queries and the booking! And also for organizing the fantastic pool side barbecue buffet on the night of our arrival.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sun_life_shine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    27
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We didn't stay here but just to get a massage but we were treated like a resident. We got our own hut with private swimming pool which we could use for free. The full body massage was fantastic and worked out £15 for a full hour. There's a modern, well-equipped shower inside the hut.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie-sooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My wife and I were fortunate enough to stay at Tamarind Lodge with a group friends and experienced what can only be described as one of the best holidays we have ever had. Victoria Golf & Country Resort is a haven for both golf (beautiful and challenging course) and relaxation. We can’t say enough about Tamarind Lodge though, the place is simply amazing. The facilities are comparable with a great hotel but with a perfect homely feel. The gardens, swimming pool and various terraces are ideal for relaxing and enjoying the breathtaking views. Of course on top of this Tamarind Lodge serves up superb food courtesy of Dawn and Dissa! The food was a surprise everyday and something that we all enjoyed and look forward to. Overall the Tamarind Lodge and Victoria Golf & County Resort provided us with a magical holiday that won’t be forgotten.

We are already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldiholdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

On our trip with the family to Kandy we wanted to play golf, but did not want to travel 30 to 45 min by taxi before playing, so we decided to book a villa at the Victoria golf & country resort for 2 nights. We had the Lanka House, a huge villa of about 250 m2 with many rooms and view on the golf course and jungle. The price is really fair. The villa is a 5 min walk away from the reception and the restaurant. The big swimming pool was even closer.

We have no negative remark what so ever. It seems that the villa are owned partly by foreigners, who rent them to the resort for guests when they do not use them. There is a "hotel service" with daily fresch laundry and cleaning. In the night there is even a gard next to the entry of the garden/villa, wich is probably more symbolic, because the area looks really safe.

The scenery around the resort is beautiful, with an artificial lake, the jungle, the golf club in the middle. We played twice on what is the nicest golf course in Sri Lanka. Our daughter did horse ridding (as it is possible to rent horses at entry of resort). It is also possible to do some nice trecking around, but we were too tired after playing the 18 holes..

The restaurant food is of great quality with a good service.

We highly recomend to stay there even if you do not play golf, but want 2 or 3 days to relax in the nature. Kandy is not far away.

The

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We spent 3 days at the Eagle Lodge villa and had a wonderful stay. Villa is beautifully designed and decorated and the salt water pool is an added bonus. We had a BBQ dinner by the pool and the club staff were very accommodating to our requests. Kudos to Rajah and Rita (the caretakers) for the authentic sri lankan breakfasts and warm hospitality. The Davies' who own the villa have done an amazing job with this retreat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeenaSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

It is in the middle of nowhere and quite tricky to find - you take the A26 out of Kandy and in the middle of Digana you fork right off the main road, then follow a bumpy road about 8 kms til you suddenly come onto the resort - the golf course is both interesting and challenging - the caddies are attentive and skilled - our ball spotter saved us probably 15 balls over our 2 rounds for the two of us - the restaurant staff are kind and helpful - food in the restaurant was very good - we stayed in the chalets which were spacious and comfortable - there is a lovely 20m pool - lots of birdlife to see, monkeys and monitors on the course.
The Bambaragala Caves (you turn left down a narrow tarmacked road about 2kms before you reach the golf club) were an amazing experience, we preferred them to the Temple of the Tooth. You can arrange a meal outside the golf course at the Lions Den (it is about 3kms before the golf course) - the owner has spent half his life in Italy and the food was excellent and a bargain price. They needed a bit of notice to prepare the food (we visited the caves while they got it ready!)

Room Tip: For the chalets you take your meals in the clubhouse which was nearby and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonyseeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
236 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The dirtiest beds I have encountered in the past years

We stayed at the golfresort over Christmas and I was happy I could leave! We booked the chalets and since they are cheap I did not expect a lot but this was awful.
Beds smelled so dusty I did not dare to move or get my nose to close to the pillow. My lavender linenspray was not able to help as well. Bedsheets were so thin you could see the pattern of the mattress and pillows. My guess is they just don't change the sheets after guests leave.

We ordered a seperate bed for my son during the reservation which was not there. The brought it in howeverbyt the next day we saw the bedsheets were very dirty.....there were dark stains in the sheets, looked like gecko droppings. And my son slept in it. How can you give your guests dirty beds????

The bathroom was basic and made of concrete. The claim to have an outdoor shower which means there us a puece if dirty mesh above your head instead of a ceiling.....and there is a smelling showercurtain with fungus all over it.
Towels were rare in the resort - we got 2 thin old towels and we were clearly with three. Next day we only received towels late in the day since laundry had not arrived?????

And no fridge in the room

The only good thing is your terrace with 2 colonial comfy chairs and a view iver hole 17, greenery and the mountains

The swimmingpool is nice and has a great view over the golfcourse and the mountains as well. Here towels are rare as well and we found them somewhere in a cupboard in the dressing room - the looked clean. The dressingroom was musty and dirty.

Ponyclub has a few horses and our 5 year old wanted to ride, so what does the horseguy offer: the largest horse he has????? Interesting. A few of the other horses did not cone across friendly as well as they kept their ears turned backwards and one tried to bite me while I was passing. Not a good sign.

The next item: the restaurant. Recently build with a modern fresh look and large terrace overlooking the course. Kids can run around freely on the grass, there are sime dogs running around. All good.
The food however was pretty horrendous. Breakfast consisted if orange juice from cordial, bad cappucino's and toast with jam totally made up from artificial colouring and flavors. The first day there were some croissants and cake and bananabread. They ran out of it the 2nd day ....(christmas morning, mind you)
They served Christmas eve and christmas dinner and the menu looked promising. I did not eat the Christmas dinner because of the poor quality. If you serve 'medaillons of lobster with smoked salmon' you should not serve some terrine-like sausage slice. Same goes for 'oven roasted quail on a bed of duck liver pate'. This was a slice of terrine as well and the bed of duck liver was inside the terrine (looked like dog food). The consommee had 2 little cubes of meat per person and consommee made out of a tablet had more taste. Turkey was dry and came with cranberry compote from a can. Dessert was ginger parfait however it was not frozen and was more like a mousse (made from powder). The copied the text from a french menu and served something totally different.
The only edible thing was the veggie fried rice and that one was actually really good.

Then transport: the picked us up in Colombo and I requested a stop at the elephant orphanage. They wanted to pick us up at 9.30 so we would be there for sure at 1pm. I double checked with our airport hotel and they said it takes 2 hours. So we left at 11 and were exactly at 1pm at the orphanage.
To leave the hotel for our airtaxi back to Colombo, the hotel did not know where the 'airport' was in Kandy. When booking I did ask them how far away the airport was and they mentioned 20 min. Rather strange they did not know now. According to them it was the bookingsoffice, different counter....
Anyway, the restaurant manager was extremely helpful and managed to call sri lankan air on christmas and find out where we had to go.
Needless to say the ensured we were there an hour before departure and the airport is nothing more then a stone bench in the grass beside the river (seaplane)

If you are a golf fan and would like to stay here (course is apparently really nice and comes with caddy and ball boy), book one of the large newly built villas and stay away from the chalets. Those are in desperate need of renovation, because there is for sure a lot of potential.

Last one, wifi is only available if you buy a card which gives you temporarily access......

I was so appalled by the room that I forgot to take pictures.....

Room Tip: Stay away from the chalets, maybe some of the recently built villas will offer a fresher sleeping op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariken v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaResort, Manager at Victoria Golf & Country Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Management Response to ‘Avoid’

Dear Guest,

We accepted your booking from a travel agent. Initially the booking voucher was for two double rooms, two adults and two children aged 7 and 12 (total 4pax), this was received by email on 14-10-11 from your travel agent. On 19-10-11, a request was made to revert to one double room with two extra beds for 4 pax. After informing the travel agent that we do not put 4 beds to a room, rather than go back to 2 doubles, we compromised and agreed to put one extra bed and one mattress in one room. All of this is documented between the travel agent and ourselves. All of the linen was freshly clean and is always changed after guest departure and prior to new guests arriving. When you had been settled in, the staff confirmed with you that you were happy with the arrangements. There was no mention of mattress sheets being dirty at the time, and this being discovered the next day after the bed was slept in, cannot be attributed to unclean sheets supplied, which in fact were new sheets.

The bathroom is a combination of granite stone walls for the shower area, and titanium concrete sink benches and floor. As it is open air the shower area is covered with a security mesh which will from time to time collect leaves from trees above and is cleaned as and when required. The bathroom was inspected after your departure and there was a light mould on the shower curtain. In your reference to towels you state that you were three but you were clearly four. Due to heavy bookings over the Christmas period we were pushed on the linen front and we used an outside laundry, nevertheless the staff changed your linen on each day of your stay.

The swimming pool dressing room is routinely cleaned and no mention was made to staff of anything untoward regarding the same.

Ponyclub. The booking shows that your 5 year old is actually 7 years old. You were offered ‘Sheik’ for the ride he is a medium sized horse. When you asked for a change you were given a smaller horse ‘Medraj’. All horses with inexperienced riders or children, are under the control of an experienced handler at all times during the ride.

Breakfast. The set breakfast menu consists of Fruit Juice, Cereals/waffles/pancakes or two eggs any style, sausage, bacon or grilled tomato, home made bakery basket, tea or coffee.

As our records show none of your family ordered or ate the Christmas Dinner and you state the same, therefore your comments on the meal would have to be treated with caution. While you have commented that you did not eat the Christmas dinner you stated that a consommé made out of a tablet had more taste. It would be interesting to know how you determined that. The restaurant used imported cranberry sauce from Singapore, as there is no local manufacturer.

Then Transport. As you are well aware your driver works for your tour company and is not employed by us, and any comment on the same should be directed to them. We do of course know where the airport is but as you were using your own driver from Colombo he may not have known where the Boat Plane landed which is indeed 20 minutes from the Resort. Our Reception staff would have directed him to the Boat Plane Dock at Polgolla.

You will of course remember that we met before your departure and I carefully noted down your complaints, of which there were 20, and we discussed them over a period of 45minutes. These were thoroughly investigated and a complaints report prepared and kept on file. I did this as my staff felt your motive in complaining, maybe was to obtain a refund. Indeed during our conversation you kept coming back to the question of whether or not we would give a refund. This in spite of your admission to me that the complaints were of a trivial nature and had built up from the time your driver took you, not to reception, but directly to the chalet, which caused you to feel that you were not properly greeted. (for your information the driver, who has brought guests to the Resort before, knew where reception was but he claimed he by passed reception because his guests were tired)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rajawella
9.6 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
9.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
9.5 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
11.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Golf & Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Golf & Country Resort

Property: Victoria Golf & Country Resort
Address: Mahaberiyatenna Road, Rajawella 20180, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Rajawella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rajawella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria Golf & Country Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 12 miles from the centre of Kandy, the Hill Capital of Sri Lanka, the Resort overlooks the Victoria Lake, with breathtaking views of the Knuckles Ranges in the background. Away from the bustle of the city, and at 1,500 feet above sea level, the 520 acre resort provides guests with a secluded ambiance in a pleasant climate, supported by friendly service and excellent accommodation, dining, sporting and recreational facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Victoria Golf & Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Golf And Country Resort
Victoria Golf & Country Hotel Rajawella
Victoria Golf & Country Resort Sri Lanka/Rajawella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing