We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Ellerton Bungalow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doluwa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ellerton Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Don't let the bumpy road on the drive up from Kandy put you off as The Ellerton boutique style hotel and location are well worth it. A warm welcome awaits you from the attentive staff and when we saw our rooms in the Valley house we were amazed. Three rooms located next to the pool with a huge shared verandah for lounging, drinks and dining have a view of the stunning valley. Bathrooms are huge and well equipped and there is also a communal space for making tea/coffee incorporating an extensive library with local info and seating. Dining was outside in a garden area and local Sri Lankan dishes were on offer as well as western alternative. Curries were superb. The first morning we took the dogs (Ben &Polly) on a walk to the river. Polly disappeared & made her own way back whilst Ben made sure we got home. The main house is beautifully furnished with antiques & a formal dining room for if its cool. Staff can be seen cooking in the kitchen and always stop for a chat. Drinks were included throughout our stay and the wine offered was extremely drinkable. The whole experience was relaxed & we wished we were staying longer.

Room Tip: We had rooms in the Valley House which I would recommend. There are 3more in the main house but we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BohoEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 301 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

The three of us - two sisters and a niece - spent two nights in this lovely boutique hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We enjoyed the company of their friendly pets. The location was fabulous - high up in the hills overlooking lush tropical vegetation. The food was excellent. We had a suite of rooms - two bedrooms and a bathroom. The only downside was not having air conditioning and as it was unseasonably warm our room did get very warm in spite of the fans.

Room Tip: Our suite was plenty big enough for the three of us. We overlooked the lovely garden area. Air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed for four nights in early February 2013 in this excellent boutique accomodation. Somewhat off the beaten track, its superb location and outlook - together with excellent food and service, wonderful gardens and surroundings, an attentive owner and team, and the most walked dog in the world (Ben) make Ellerton the perfect place to unwind. Kandy proved to be a circa 45 minute Tuk Tuk ride away and its certainly worth fitting in a visit there to any itinerary. I heartily endorse the recent reviews provided by 'herblambrechter', 'LynP52' and 'Rosyglow' and have no hesitation in recommending Ellerton.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrostyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have stayed 2 nights at Ellerton and it was a trip back to nature,where we easily could have spend more nights.Location is superb,we even decided not to go into crowded Kandy and prefered more time at relaxing Ellerton.The house dog Ben is a real darling and unbelievable well behaved,he gives a lot of character to this place and takes you for secure walks around the property and close tea fields.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herblambrechter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at Ellerton with my friend for two nights but how we wished we had booked for at least a week! Like the others who have reviewed Ellerton remarked we too had a warm greeting from Harry/Head Steward and of course the house dogs Ben & Polly (there is a resident cat too appropriately called "Kitty"). I congratulate the owners of Ellerton on their superb restoration of this old bungalow, the lounge area is so welcoming as are the bedrooms. The verandah at the rear of the house with sensational views in all directions was perfect to enjoy our pre-dinner drinks! Now to the food, well again I cannot say enough about the wonderful Chef who delighted us with some really special meals, many with herbs & vegetables from their own garden, all cooked & presented faultlessly. In addition, the Chef offered to give us a curry cooking class and a personal tour of the edible part of the gardens, a real bonus. It is a real climb in the car to reach Ellerton but definitely worth every bump in the road!

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms in the main house as it offered the special feeling of staying in a grand home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A small boutique hotel with spectacular views over the hills of Kandy. Our rooms were beautiful with a communal area where we could make tea, read one of the hundreds of books or borrow one of the many reference books available. The staff is extremely well-trained,happy and efficient but not intrusive. We found the food to be wonderful, with home-made yoghurt and curd, delicious curries or Western food available at every meal. The hotel is situated within easy reach of Kandy. We were really pleased that we factored in a rest day at this hotel. A day lazing around the pool with a pot of tea was a very welcome break from our sightseeing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosyglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were greeted on arrival by Harry, the Steward and the house dogs Ben and Polly. We were shown to our room (number 1) in the main house.

The room was a spacious double with four poster, two easy chairs and an en-suite withg the usual toiletries.

We were shown around the complex including the pool and adjacent lounging area, dining area (inside and out) and inside lounges. After we unpacked tea and cake were served in the lounge.

After early evening drinks we were served dinner, a set meal but with a choice of chicken, chicken curry and veggie curry. nI had the veggie curry with rice and five other curry dishes. With complimentary wine and followed by ice cream and fruit. The starter was cold soup, sounds odd but was actually delicious. This together with delicious b'fgast showe the food to be superb.
They demonstrated that the single charge to cover all meals and drinks was good value.

Our only issue was the leaking shower. We mentioned this to the manager who said he was aware of it and they planned to refurbish this bathroom when it quietened down
.
Staff were unobtrusive but attentive and helpful. Our three day stay showed how great the staff were. The Ellerton could teach some bigger and posher hotels how to do it porperly. harry should recieve special mention as the person who seemed always to working and on the ball.

The information in the room included lots of useful info including local walks with a map, a special touch.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at the Ellerton,a small but nearly perfect hotel which provided an excellent base in a tranquil and beautiful setting.

Room Tip: We sawe rooms in the main house and near the pool but were told the garden room is lovely so choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doluwa
15.6 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
6 mi away
Mountbatten Bungalow - Kandy
Mountbatten Bungalow - Kandy
#1 of 1 in Bowalawatta
188 reviews
9.6 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 57 in Kandy
575 reviews
6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
20 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerton Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerton Bungalow

Address: New Gurukele, Doluwa 299045, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Doluwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Doluwa
Price Range: $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellerton is a fine old tea-estate bungalow where our aim is to give you the feeling you are staying in a friend's house and not a hotel. We deliberately lack many of the features associated with hotels but these are more than compensated for by a genuinely relaxed and informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ellerton Bungalow Hotel Doluwa
Ellerton Bungalow Sri Lanka/Doluwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing