We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Serendip Stone Bungalow & Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$49
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
$20
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Earl's Regency(Tennekumbura)
$105
$95
Earls Regency
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knuckles View(Tennekumbura)
$8
Booking.com
View Deal
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kandy Holiday Home(Kandy)(Great Value!)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Town Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
79
52
15
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
52
15
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnarrow lanestone bungalowthe riveroff the beaten trackbeautiful propertyswimming poolrooms are spacioustwo nightskandy townnice viewverandadrivercalmtoilet
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 164 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This B&B is fantastic. We stayed at 4 hotels/B&B (some were 5 star) whilst in Sri Lanka, and price versus quality this is by far the best place we stayed at. The room was extremely comfortable, antique furniture, good quality ceiling fan and mosquito net (both important in Sri Lanka) and a very comfortable bathroom. The food served at the dinner buffet is delicious and a good price for a hotel/B&B ( i think around 1000 rupees for all you can eat buffet, 5 different curries with rice and popodoms, plus dessert). There is a big comfy living room with a porch with equally comfy lounging furniture. The gardens are gorgeous and well worth getting up at 6am for the morning chorus displayed by the many different types of birds. Breakfast was delicious, exotic fruit buffet, homemade bread, eggs, jams, good quality fresh brewed coffee (another rarity in sri lanka).
One of the best parts of this large majestic house has to be the two resident dogs chocolate and toffee. They are so friendly and really enjoy entertaining the guests. Coming from someone who is not a dog lover!
Stephanie (owner) wasn't there whilst we were staying however she did call one night and speak to us to make sure that we were happy and enjoying ourselves - a very nice touch. Her attention to details such as this can be seen all over the house.
Living in japan, where we are spoilt with the best service and quality you can imagine, i would highly recommend a few nights stay.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the house, although smaller, have a fantastic view over the garden which is well worth asking for.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yasumidesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalin P, Manager at Serendip Stone Bungalow & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit to serendip stone bungalow. Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the service in our bungalow is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. Along with my team, I sincerely appreciate your positive comments and am delighted that you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is a delightful place to stay, although difficult to find and the track very rough, but our Driver triumphed finally. Everything was excellent, the room, service and food. We had two meals here, veggie curry, freshly cooked by a local lady. We thought all the dishes delicious, filling and very reasonably priced. We loved the garden with the resident Kingfisher, parakeets and many others, and the walks by the River with the dogs, Chocco and Toffee.
We even had freshly picked King coconut juice, after an amazing display of tree shinning.Thanks to the guys and cooking lady who looked after us so well.
The pool was small but welcoming after a hot visit to Kandy. The jacuzzi was not working, they were waiting for someone to fix it.But nothing could detract from our special time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurar50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalin P, Manager at Serendip Stone Bungalow & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit to serendip stone bungalow. Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the service in our bungalow is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. Along with my team, I sincerely appreciate your positive comments and am delighted that you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The perfect hotel for a honey moon stay in Kandy. Small, intimate, comfortable and friendly staff. The only two inconvinients: little bit far from Kandy (and difficult to find) and overpriced food.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablorva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalin P, Manager at Serendip Stone Bungalow & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2016

Dear Guest., Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit to serendip stone bungalow. Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the service in our bungalow is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. Along with my team, I sincerely appreciate your positive comments and am delighted that you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This is a wonderful place. The service is excellent and the food fine (only vegetarian) At the moment we were here, we were the only visitors. It was low season so the price was nice ;-) It's 2,5 km to Kandy. The jacuzzi is a pleasant place for relaxing. There is also an free WIFI access to internet. The rooms are very good, only no airco, we don't miss this in Juni.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonny62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalin P, Manager at Serendip Stone Bungalow & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2016

Dear Guest., Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit to serendip stone bungalow. Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the service in our bungalow is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. Along with my team, I sincerely appreciate your positive comments and am delighted that you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Having been so disappointed with the overpriced Heritance Kandalama the night before, we made it down the little track to the Serendip – located right on the river. It was a very pleasant surprise, with a truly tranquil feel to the place and birds singing away in the garden. The staff was immediately on hand to tend to our every need, although their English was a bit limited.

We were concerned that there was no AC, but an efficient fan over the bed did the trick. On the second night, we used a mosquito plug - not the mosquito net (as this reduced the fan effectiveness) and slept well without any bites!

As we were the only guests on our first night, it was like having your own private villa. The pool is small, but I did manage a few refreshing lengths. The staff tries to anticipate your needs, like turning on the pool filtration when they saw me in a swimsuit, and rushing out with a cushion for the lounger. On other occasions, you have to ask. We waited an age for hot water in the shower, so on mentioning this the manager said “hot water in 2 minutes” and proceeded to flick a switch somewhere to achieve this. It was the same with the Wi-Fi – ask and another switch is flicked to activate the signal.

Our guide had to find separate accommodation in Kandy – even though I had offered to pay the Serendip for an extra room. “Rooms are for guests only” I was informed. As we were the sole guests, and our guide was clean and immaculate, I found this a little surprising.

On the first evening, I purchased a glass of their white wine. Finding it a bit sweet for my taste, and given that there was no alternative on offer, I brought in my own bottle to have with dinner on the second night. I was therefore shocked to be charged 750 rupees corkage without previous mention when the final bill came. Was it some coincidence that the owner had arrived and was overseeing the hotel when we checked out?

A fan and better lighting would be a real bonus on the outside terrace in the evening. Otherwise, for the price of EUR 71 per night paid through a tour company, the Serendip was a little gem.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalin P, Manager at Serendip Stone Bungalow & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit to serendip stone bungalow. Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the service in our bungalow is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. Along with my team, I sincerely appreciate your positive comments and am delighted that you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews