We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever!”
Review of Polwatte House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Polwatte House
Ranked #1 of 10 Kundasale B&B and Inns
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Ever!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have travelled to many countries over the years and this lovely place stands out above all. We weren't at a "bed and breakfast", we were invited into a home for fellowship and food. Aiilsa and Andrew and their friendly little kids and great staff made our three days there fantastic. The rooms were comfortable, the setting relaxed, the unobtrusive music was spellbinding, The food was very good. Our hosts invited us on a picnic with their friends and we hiked to a water fall and swam. Aiilsa and Andrew gave us really good advice about things to do and see as well. Just can't say enough good things.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank QuigDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We LOVED staying at Polwatte House. The house is a beautiful colonial pad hidden away from the noise and pollution of central Kandy. The atmosphere of this family home is very friendly, open and relaxed. The rice & curry cooked by their housekeeper is amazing, a must eat! Both Ailsa and Andrew are able to offer suggestions and advice for traveling in Sri Lanka, what to see and where to go.

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more and go for the ensuite, it's a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HonestlyHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My girlfriend and I had wonderful couple of days with Ailsa, Andrew and their girls. the guest room is nicely renovated, food was great, the house is beautifully located next to a river outside Kandy. We couldn't have wished for anything else. Thank you Ailsa&Andrew!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank edermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hosts Ailsa and Andrew could not have shown us more kindness during our stay. Although it's well off the main road, our driver managed to get to the house without problems. The secluded location lends an air of detachment from the hustle and bustle of Kandy and there are lovely walks down by the river and up through the lanes. The garden is a lovely place to relax and my bird watcher friends found plenty to see too. The two young cooks produce wonderful Sri Lankan dinners and one day gave us a cookery lesson (with lots of giggling!) The rooms are basic but the style and decor is appropriate to the house. A definite must whilst you are travelling round Sri Lanka if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing place to stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent accommodation and experience. Polwatte House is in a gorgeous setting right next to a river. We stayed for 2 nights and had 2 lunches and one dinner which were quite possibly the best food we had in Sri Lanka. Ailsa was very kind dropping us to the cricket and we enjoyed chatting about Sri Lanka and otherwise relaxing next to the river. An excellent range of DVDs in case you feel the need to watch something. A short bus from Kandy and it's a different world! I would recommend getting dropped there as it is hard to find if walking from the main road.

Only tip would be to have food prices published somewhere.

Thanks Andrew + Ailsa. Good luck!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank moosey97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband, toddler daughter, and I stayed with Andrew and Ailsa and their two lovely daughters for two nights in August. We had a wonderful visit- I cannot stress enough how comfortable and welcoming their home is and how hospitable they are as hosts. In fact, it really did seem like they were friends by the end of the visit! I dream about the bedroom and bathroom that we stayed in- the super white walls and floors and the lovely shower! While other reviewers have commented on the distance form Kandy, we personally did not find this to be a problem. Ailsa called auto-rickshaws and they came immediately and we were able to arrange a meeting/pick up time for the afternoon. And it was actually cheaper than what other posters have written. And faster too! In other notes, the breakfast was lovely with really good coffee and homemade jams and the two women who work with them are just wonderful too. And I should stress that everyone was super accommodating and welcoming to our rambunctious toddler and Ailsa made sure there was food that she could eat.

Polwatte House is a very unique space and I am so glad that we got to experience it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelefrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Ailsa and Andrew are a very nice couple with two lovely girls, and this is their home. The house is located by a beautiful river in which we were able to kayak. I want to give them five stars, as their hospitality was extraordinary (they prepared a special dinner for us under the stars and Ailsa gave us a ride to our next destination!). However, I would advice them to lower their prices, as their place is a bit far from Kandy and the rooms and bathrooms must be somewhat improved in terms of cleanliness and decoration. Right now the rooms are too basic (although you cannot see this from the website). We felt we paid more than in other, similar homestays (we paid 65 dollars per night, while in other places we paid between 30 to 55 dollars). The house has a lot of promise, but then again it needs investment. We wish them the best of luck, and we enjoyed our stay, so this is only constructive criticism. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VZebadua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolwatteHouse, Owner at Polwatte House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We really appreciate your review and the good rating you've given us. We are pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed meeting you both.

Also we appreciate the constructive feedback you've given regarding our rates. I just wanted to let you know that the rates you paid were our High season rates, because the days that you stayed with us was when Kandy is at its busiest due to the Kandy Perahera Festival. Due to the heavy demand during the festival time, it is usual for many establishments to raise their prices to reflect this. Our usual prices throughout the rest of the year are $35 B&B for our two rooms with shared bathroom and $50 B&B for our room with attached bathroom. But your feedback is very important to use, so I will take this into consideration when setting our next year's High season rates.

Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kundasale
1.7 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
1,956 reviews
3.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
4.7 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
753 reviews
0.5 mi away
Winter Villa Kandy
Winter Villa Kandy
#2 of 10 in Kundasale
25 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 405 in Kandy
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polwatte House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polwatte House

Property: Polwatte House
Address: Polwatte Estate, Kundasale 20168, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kundasale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kundasale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful riverside home and only a 15-20min drive from Kandy. It's nestled in one of the few remaining old coconut estates in the area and is in the perfect position to explore Kandy and the surrounding highlights or just put your feet up with a book and enjoy the peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Polwatte House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polwatte House Sri Lanka/Kundasale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing