We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oruthota Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oruthota Chalets
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Digana
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Has improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed a night on way to Knucles range. This hotel has improved a lot since my last visit. The dining area has been extended to accommodate more. Buffet is available to all three meals. And the charges are very reasonable.The staff is very friendly and helpful. Adjacent to Victoria reservoir.

Room Tip: select a room to view the reservoir
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giriColombo_SriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Situated on the banks of Victoria reservoir. MD M. Sansoni has tried his best to add a eco friendly atmosphere to the property. This exercise is partly achieved. The chalets are located along the lake. Rooms are okay but the toilets are not up to standard but usable. Food is okay and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giriColombo_SriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed just the one night - but would like to have stayed longer. Unfortunately it rained and we didn't really get the benefit of the pool. The views overlooking the lake were beautiful, but for us rather spoilt by the rain. Our room was near the lake and we had a good view of it. The room was fine - nothing spectacular - but good by Sri lankan standards. the humidity was quite high and its difficult for them to keep mould out of the bathrooms, but there was plenty of hot water. The owner, Michael was around and made people welcome. Food was very good. Our group of 16 managed to get curry, beer and fresh fruit for £8 a head

Room Tip: We had one down by the lake - ask for one with a view of the lake - some of our party had one at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anet-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked in for Saturday night (26 Jan) and were given a nice room with an excellent view of the lake.
Unfortunately, as another reviewer has said, the food on offer was of poor quality.
Service was also somewhat of an issue and we had to carry all our own luggage to the car on check out.
We wanted to sit by the pool on Satuirday afternoon but it had been hijacked by a group of drunks who decided to bang their drums for 3 hours and sing as loudly as possible. We had to stay in our room with the windows closed because there was nowhere to eascape to. When they finally left the area was filthy and no attempt was made to clean it up. Probably because there was only one other room occupied out of 20 on offer.
It's a true shame when such a wonderful location is let down by poor service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IanRSriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

We took a long weekend break at Oruthota Chalets.
The staff are very polite and went that extra mile to make us (and other guests) happy. They have a team of very committed staff.

The rooms were clean (but nothing extraordinary) with great views of the "Mahaweli" river.
We booked full board but they had a very limited choice for meals. The buffet was not very appealing and wasn't the best choice for health concieous individuals. The best is to book on room only and order from their A'la carte menu, which is very reasonably priced.

The check-in and check-out was also very speedy.
Best to inquire from them about the credit cards that they accept as it is limited.
Internet access is through their office computer.
Overall, a great little hotel with a unique view. Good a'la carte, bad buffets / set menus.

Shanake & Liandra

  • Liked — Great Views, Great People
  • Disliked — Buffet, Set Menu
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Digana
6.9 mi away
Green View Holiday Resort
5.6 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
5.6 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hunas Falls by Amaya
Hunas Falls by Amaya
#2 of 3 in Elkaduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Kandy Villa
Grand Kandy Villa
#1 of 1 in Sirimalwatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oruthota Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oruthota Chalets

Property: Oruthota Chalets
Address: Oruthotachalets, Digana, Rajawella, Via Kandy | Rajawella, Digana, Digana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Digana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Digana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oruthota Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oruthota Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oruthota Chalets Hotel Digana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing