We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My very favourite”
Review of Mish Mar

Mish Mar
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Majorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $100 - $2,000
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My very favourite”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

What's not to like! Marla and Camillo make all guests new and old welcome, great food, fabulous atmosphere. Waiters get very busy at times though and you some tes have to wave and shout a bit to get a G and T refill. Thank goodness for Arjun and Binod!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neet753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    31
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a wonderful holiday in Majorda and it was made extra special when we discovered Mish Mar. We don't spend every day on the beach but every time we went we were warmly welcomed. With regard to a previous reviewer, we didn't spend lots of money on fish and it didn't make any difference to the service we received, it was excellent.

The owner Camilo is a local man, he is very friendly. We were looked after mainly by David who deserves a medal in customer service. Binod was also friendly as were all the staff. Ask Ricky about his football career. John who took the money was also great and what a shirt.

The toilets were the best shack toilets I have ever experienced in Goa and even had a great place for hand washing.

I will try and post some photo's but unfortunately the ones I took of Camilo seemed to have disappeared from my camera (sorry Camilo).

I would definitely recommend Mish Mar and can't wait to return next year.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scattyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have visited Mish Mar over many years, the food is always good no matter how busy they are, this is a very busy shack. The staff are excellent , very attentive. We were recommended a couple of Nepalese dishes by Binod and they were excellent. These were not on the menu but Camillo and his staff will always accommodate and cook dishes to your taste.
Camillo and Marla are great hosts and always make you welcome.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beneyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
829 reviews
359 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
“Did not float my boat”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Visted this beach shack 3 times during my 7 week holiday, The first occasion was enjoyable and the food reasonable. On the other 2 times it was a different story. As we are not fish or seafood eaters, the big earners, we were sort of ignored and the curries served fell well low of expectations, in fact one dish was returned as it was bland and tasted of nothing, the dish was replaced with a marginally better dish. The menu has a very limited range of curries, which is disappointing.

There was one member of staff, who took our order, he was pushy and aggressive, even though he had taken our order he insisted that we should order something better like prawns or lobster, I tried to expain that if that if prawns where what I wanted that I would have ordered them in the first place.

This restaurant has a good reputation for seafood, pity the curries do not achieve the same standard.

Not the place do go for a good curry and quiet evening on the beach, overall disappointing

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab fish, fab beach”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Our first visit to goa and we did not have to talk far along the beach to find this excellent shack. We enjoyed some delicious fish and prawns served by David who made us feel welcome and prepared our regular beach lounger each morning. Thank you for being part of a great holiday. Stephen and sara

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyholidaysEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mish Mar also viewed

Majorda, South Goa District
Utorda, South Goa District
 
Majorda, South Goa District
Betalbatim, Salcette
 

Been to Mish Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing