We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photos don't do it justice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Tavernetta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Tavernetta
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scopello
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Photos don't do it justice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This place is beautiful: the garden, the views, the pool, the restaurant food.. My husband and I had an amazingly relaxing time here. The staff and owner took good care of us; the rooms are clean, newly renovated and tastefully decorated; the hotel is walking distance from a few "calette" (beaches, including the famous Tonnara di Scopello).
Scopello is a gem, a beautiful place to relax and enjoy local food (try the pane cunzatu at a baker around the corner from the hotel) and stunning views of Lo Zingaro. Scopello is also fairly close to many other attractions in NorthWest Sicily (San Vito, Segesta, Erice etc).
I would go back to la Tavernetta in a heartbeat.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    74
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
82
234
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The room was lovely and clean with an amazing vue.
The breakfast was delicious and the service very friendly.
Such a great place to start your holiday.
Walking distance from to Tonnara beach and Zingaro Natural reserve. I recommend taking a boot with the fun crew that works on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emanuellealexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The hotel is right in the centre of the tiny village, literally 100mt from the old Baglio - the central enclosed square where the life of the village is centred. However the establishment maintains its quiet and secluded atmosphere thanks to its private gorgeous garden with olive trees that contours the hotel on the side of most of the rooms. The garden overlooks the coast towards the Zingaro natural reserve and has a stunning swimming pool also with sea view. Relaxing in the shade under the olive trees with that view is in itself worth the price of the rooms. You still have to add a great restaurant serving local seafood on a splendid terrace to complete the palette of the services. The rooms are very nice and with all amenities but you will really want to minimise the time spent there. The great picture is completed by the family that owns the hotel and its staff: warm and professional they make you feel at home. A place to come back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baol1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A quiet, restful and a beautiful location to chill out in. Lovely cove for sea swimming a short but steep walk away. Wonderfully helpful and smiling owners and reception staff who spoke English or who tried their best to learn or teach us Sicilian!
Lovely 'infinity' pool and gardens.
Efficient A/C and welcoming restaurant run with efficiency and with a good choice of well cooked and reasonably priced a la carte food. Great breakfast (if arriving early).
Owner went out of his way on a Sunday to repair a fault with the room shower.

Room Tip: A 1st floor room is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

There is no doubt that Scopello is a very enchanting small town set up on the hills and La Tavernetta has a choice location with breathtaking views across the lovely garden and on to the distant sea. Rooms, unfortunately are very small as are the bathrooms and balconies, which is a pity.
Dining was very good with an amazing selection for breakfast and excellent dinners with maybe one
of the best Risotto alls Marinara that I have ever had.
The major let down while we were there was the noise from both the neighbouring houses and more importantly from the youngsters who we saw working at night in the Restaurant, not good that they play football in the garden while there are guests with the obvious loud excitement that ensues.
Apart from this would I recommend La Tavernetta? .....yes as long as you accept room size and the management can rein in the youngsters.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here with my husband for two nights and would definitely stay again if we go back to Scopello! Simply beautiful hotel with great service, good food and wines and fantastic view! Pool area is great and cosy and the whole place is so charming, peaceful and stylish.

Room Tip: ask for a garden room, rather than one facing the street. The street was surprisingly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiFo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We spent a fantastic few days here as part of a friends wedding and I can't speak highly enough of the place. Friendly family run place with everything you need, nice rooms and a great pool - but it's the view that is truly stunning! This place is a hidden gem that offers a true Sicily experience for the best value we've found yet.

And don't forget to see Giseppi in the local shop for the best sandwiches in town...

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scopello
0.0 mi away
Baglio di Scopello
Baglio di Scopello
#2 of 6 in Scopello
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Cala Marina
Hotel Cala Marina
#2 of 15 in Castellammare del Golfo
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Torre Bennistra
Hotel Torre Bennistra
#3 of 6 in Scopello
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
#3 of 15 in Castellammare del Golfo
4.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baglio dello Zingaro Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Grotticelli
Hotel Grotticelli
#6 of 6 in Scopello
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tavernetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tavernetta

Property: Hotel La Tavernetta
Address: Via Armando Diaz 3, 91014 Scopello, Castellammare del Golfo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castellammare del Golfo > Scopello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scopello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Tavernetta 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Tavernetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Tavernetta Scopello, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing