We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The setting is exquisite. No wonder they film movies there.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tonnara di Scopello

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scopello
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tonnara di Scopello
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Scopello
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The setting is exquisite. No wonder they film movies there.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were two couples travelling in low season (rainy November). Despite our arrival during a torrential downpour, we found shelter, warmth, and an unforgettable experience at Tonnara di Scopello. The caretaker Mohammed was very welcoming and was able to communicate well enough in French, which made up for our very limited Italian vocabulary. We stayed in two sea-front rooms: Ancore and Sotto la Torre. They were just lovely. The reservation office in Palermo provided excellent advice and service in English. The property is run as an historic site by a cooperative. The main drawback of not being run as a hotel is that reservations can't be confirmed without making a deposit by wire transfer, which is costly. We took our chances that there would still be vacancy the day we arrived, and we were in luck. Businesses in Scopello were closed for the low season (as, it seems, is the case in most Sicilian towns), so our accommodation included morning espresso drinks and croissants. The opportunities for photography are endless. For cat lovers, there are plenty of kittens on the property too. I would happily go back there for an extended retreat. The tonnara would be an inspiring place to write, paint, or simply contemplate the sea.

Room Tip: Aim to stay in the main buildings at the seafront, rather than in a side building near the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HeatherfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    51
    37
    19
    47
See reviews for
71
114
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

It is really a heartstoppingly beautiful place. and being so close to the sea makes it more so. The history also. However. for the money there are a few major niggles. the beach is invaded every day and these fellow tourists frequently invaded our apparently private space to take photos, nosey around etc. The Taverna B in my opinion has the best views devoid of les bronzes. but....no sun. north facing....ridden with insects and invading millipedes. We expected an outdoor kitchen but it was more like a student kitchen without a roof. To not be too negative. you don't get something for nothing so if you can handle the invasion and have a flexible budget it is a really beautiful place and the history and (most of the) ethos of the place is unique and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jules1980verne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scopello hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
san francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location of this place is really lovely, and for those looking for a serene spot it couldn't get much better. I liked the apartment (in the administrator's section), and the simple furnishings have a lot of character that suited the place very well. For wanting to read a book and get a lot of sun and turn off the brain, it was the ideal place. Don't expect 5-star hotel service, but then who wants all the formality of a posh hotel? Here you can really relax, in a dreamy setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenn1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in September and, honestly, could have stayed longer.

I'm utterly baffled by some of the reviews on here regarding the Tonnara. It's made painfully clear - before you even book the accomodation - what you should expect. As an old tuna fishery, Mohammaed, the owner, has tried to maintain its traditional appearance. And it works. The rooms are basic, with little outdoor kitchens, there's little there in the way of entertainment and it can get pretty busy at times, but that's not the point. I imagine there are few places in the world that provide the same sense of tranquility (once the hoardes have departed - before 7pm I might add), privacy and sheer beauty than the Tonnara does.

If you want somewhere equally as beautiful but with fancier accommodation, you're not going to find it. It's that simple. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy enough - there's not really much more you need.

It's a (relatively tough) 15-minute walk/scramble to the gorgeous town of Scopello, which is perfect for a lazy afternoon or evening meal if you're not wanting to cook. You can also drive there if you've got a car - it's probably about five minutes.

If you need luxury, this place definitely isn't for you. But if you're looking for a one-off, memorable holiday experience then I highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leuven
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

like nearly all the other reviews, we have to agree that the location is super, but the rest is quite poorly going to a bad rating for the rooms. We were allowed to take the dog with, they didn't mind when we asked when booking the place. But having a dog there is a different story, the lady owner Danielle, was not pleased at all and told us the dog was not allowed in the water and had to stay at a place where she could be disturbed by it. That meant he was not allowed somewhere near to where we would be. it made us get out of the tonnarra, and only come back when we were going straight to our apartment. The apartment was dirty and badly finished. The 'kitchen' had no tools to be used, not even a kettle. The setting was stunning too bad the owners don't care about the rest just the cash!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cendihay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We absolutely loved this place and so we'd like to keep it for ourselves! The location is just beautiful, the sea is emerald blue and clear, we stayed in a wonderful room with direct access to the front of the old factory building and the tiny private beach. It's true that it's basic, but it has bags of charm. Mohammed runs the place and is very helpful if you speak French or Italian. The local town has restaurants, shops and a great ice-cream parlour, the local supermarket has everything for self-catering. We wanted to stay all summer...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank World_Shopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

The location and La Tonnara are unique, fantastic. The rooms are very poorly furnished - basically you pay for the location and the priviledge of being in a historic building. Unfortunately, the very small beach of La Tonnara is invaded, during the day, by an army of day visitors (who pay a few euros for access), who practically prevent the paying guest from accessing the beach. In a show of terrible taste, one of the historic rooms opening on the beach is full of vending machhines!! We have found day visitors looking into our rooms, using our bathrooms, sitting at our tables.... One gets the impression that the owners are interested in making quick money without any effort, when they should pay much more attention to the privacy of the paying guests and the services they provide at a price that is not that small. Overall, management is poor, and it is often the case that the owners' family and friends use the spaces theoretically available to the paying guests. No effort is made to illustrate the history of La Tonnara - there is not even a small Museum, although this is advertised in the owners site. It is a real pity: La Tonnara would deserve a much better management!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Silvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scopello
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baglio di Scopello
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Tavernetta
Hotel La Tavernetta
#1 of 6 in Scopello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
#3 of 17 in Castellammare del Golfo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Bennistra
Hotel Torre Bennistra
#3 of 6 in Scopello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Grotticelli
Hotel Grotticelli
#5 of 6 in Scopello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Cala Marina
Hotel Cala Marina
#2 of 17 in Castellammare del Golfo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonnara di Scopello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonnara di Scopello

Property: Tonnara di Scopello
Address: Largo Tonnara Scopello, 91014 Scopello, Castellammare del Golfo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castellammare del Golfo > Scopello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Scopello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Tonnara Di Scopello Hotel Scopello
Tonnara Di Scopello Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing