We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tenute Plaia Agriturismo
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel has a great view and is close to nearby towns.
Room is very basic, air conditioner was not what we are used to, so it was very warm in the room.
We attended a wedding on property, the food was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TPGCMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    51
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
52
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Tenute Plaia Agriturismo is a beautiful property with magnificent views, exceptional food, friendly staff and is a great "home base" if you want to explore the surrounding areas including the Zingaro Reserve. Two of our three night stay was peaceful and most enjoyable. However, on the third evening (Friday), that all changed. At 12:00 a.m. the OPEN AIR discotheque next door began playing music so loud that earplugs barely helped us sleep. This continued until nearly 4:00 a.m. culminating with a fireworks display, more music and cheers from the crowd. This was our final night there as we were driving back to Rome the following day (yes... driving!). Needless to say the stay would have been great but beware of weekend stays you will not be rested.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side may be quieter but you'll still hear the disco on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed four nights, without any intention to explore the agriturismo aspects of this property, hence we viewed this as a quite ordinary B&B (however with room entrance directly from the inner yard) rater than a farm stay.

As a good value, rurally sited hotel Tenute Plaia was impeccable. Quiet, beautiful setting and the suprisingly lively (we went sligtly off season in april) hamlet of Scopello barely 10 minutes away with a good selection of resturants and some bars.

The food was good and rustique, especially the antipasti and primi piatti. To that extent I did not fully appreciate the secondi and dolce, I discovered that to be inherent in my taste towards the Sicilian cuisine. The breakfast was also fully acceptable to people not in to the sweet breakfast of southern Europe: cheese, cereal, youghurts, un-sweetened bread and ham was available.

The room was quiet and well cleaned, I really appreciated that the blinders allowed for total darkness even after sunrise.

It was our first trip with child, the large inner yard and the surrunding areas was a positive aspect - especially as there was no stairs.

Also, disregard the slightly campy aspects of some photos on the website, in real life the apperance of the property was quite genuine and elegant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RazorOfOccam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

My best friend and I stayed three nights at this Agriturismo and had a wonderful time. It's located quite high up on a hill overlooking an incredible coastline - you get uninterrupted views of the blue, blue sea. There's a covered terrace where you can eat, and there are lots of different places to sit and read, in and out of the sun. It's true that the pool is tiny, but there are so many gorgeous coves nearby for swimming that you don't really need it.

The rooms are immaculately clean, and they left us a free bottle of local wine as a welcome gift. The shower wasn't quite hot enough, but other than that, no complaints.

We didn't have a car, and managed fine, but beware that buses from Castelmare del Golfo are few and far between. Ours didn't turn up, so we had to hitchhike.

It's a five minute walk uphill to Scopello itself, where there are half a dozen or so restaurants. One night we ate at the Agriturismo, which is pretty good (get the taglietelli alle sfincinello - it's mega). Breakfast was quite basic, but pleasant.

The nature reserve is a five minute drive away or a 20 minute walk, ditto the Tonnaro.

One last thing: there is a very noisy stray cat which hangs around the place crying all day, which you will find infuriating or cute depending on the way you roll.

All in all: highly recommended.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank karenparkyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

I enjoyed staying here. It is a very nice and clean place set away from the business of some of the other nearby cities. The location is quiet and nicely set upon the sea. It was a good base for us to explore the places we were interested in like Palermo, San Vito Lo Capo, Castellemarre Del Golfo, and Erice/Trapani. The only slight knock as someone also said was that the food, while good, isnt fantastic - it certainly will not wow you like you expect to be wowed in Italy. But there are plenty of places to explore nearby. There is actually a small market down the street that makes some of the best cheeses, no, the best cheese Ive eaten (I come from an Italian Immigrant family, so Id like to think Ive grown up around some pretty serious cheeses :)

I would reccomend this place, especially if you are looking for a quiet and beautiful locale.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeOxlargeOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

This is a beautiful agriturismo near the lovely Sicilan village of Scopello. It is set in peaceful countryside, close to beautiful beaches (walk or drive to tuna cannery and Zingaro nature reserve and drive to San Vito Lo Capo). The food is good but not as good as that in some of the restaurants in the village of Scopello, which is about 5 minutes' walk. Our room was lovely. The very small pool is refreshing but turned the white stripes on my daughter's swimsuit, and the white hair on my partner's chest, green.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Better food in the village
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redl4wyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Booked this 'agriturismo' so that we could see the beautiful town of Scopello and take a boat trip up Lo Zingaro National Park, both of which we really enjoyed.
What I didn't enjoy was this hotel, a complete let down, and certainly not an agriturismo in my book. The photos on the website are misleading, it is an ugly concrete monstrosity. Ok ,the view across the bay is fab, but there is no where nice and shady and relaxing to sit and enjoy it. We ended up moving an uncomfortable iron bench into the carpark to sit and watch the view!! The rooms were clean but very basic. The pool is more like a hot tub and we didn't want to use it...not my idea of a pool, more a paddling pool! I booked this place because it had a pool the photos of it are misleading, don't go here just because it has a pool.
Don't eat here either, there are cats everywhere, the service is slow and haphazard, the food is pretty boring, go to Scopello to eat, just up the hill...much better bet.
Other grumbles were the cat sick outside of one bedroom door on arrival!!! Had to ask the receptionist to get it cleaned up....not what you want to see on arrival, especially after coming from beautifull agriturismo of Mandranova!!
Honestly the place is like a cheap motel and they charge euro 200 a room a night!!!
Far better bet to stay in rustic simplicity in Scopello itself or at the Tonarra where you are right on the sea.

  • Liked — not much
  • Disliked — pretty much everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmellasoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scopello
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baglio di Scopello
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Tavernetta
Hotel La Tavernetta
#1 of 6 in Scopello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Bennistra
Hotel Torre Bennistra
#3 of 6 in Scopello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Grotticelli
Hotel Grotticelli
#5 of 6 in Scopello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baglio dello Zingaro Hotel
4.7 mi away
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
#2 of 17 in Castellammare del Golfo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenute Plaia Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenute Plaia Agriturismo

Property: Tenute Plaia Agriturismo
Address: Contrada Scopello n. 3, 91014 Scopello, Castellammare del Golfo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castellammare del Golfo > Scopello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Scopello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenute Plaia Agriturismo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.Surrounded by the blue sea and a green fragrant garden, the farm Tenute Plaia is the ideal place for those who appreciate a holiday in contact with the simple and genuine nature, to relive the smells and the tastes of the past.The location of the farm allows to visit and reach with short trips various places in provinces of Trapani, Palermo and Agrigento such as: the nearby Zingaro Nature Reserve, the archaeological sites of Segesta, Erice, San Vito Lo Capo, Mozia, the Saline of Trapani, Palermo, Monreale, Selinunte and Agrigento.All rooms are tastefully decorated, with shower, air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and telephone.The tradition is also in the restaurant we serve typical local dishes such as caponata, stuffed dried tomatoes, pasta "busiate" with sauce, basil and aubergines, sardines "a beccafico" using only products of our farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Tenute Plaia Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenute Plaia Agriturismo Scopello, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing