We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to eat, drink and linger.”
Review of Il Baglio

Il Baglio
Ranked #15 of 24 Restaurants in Scopello
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A great place to eat, drink and linger.”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Lively open air restaurant in the middle of Scopello in the court yard of an old mansion house. Great atmosphere, can be very busy at times and pleasantly chaotic. Excellent selection of high quality dishes, all food cooked fresh. Good local Sicilian wines, also by the glass. Reasonably priced, child friendly. Pleasant service. A great place to eat, drink, linger and observe your fellow diners.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank victor030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    139
    112
    78
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food and lively atmosphere”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We visited upon recommendation from our guesthouse owner and were not disappointed. The food was reasonably priced and good - we had caponata, pasta busiati and cannoli. The cannoli was one of the best I had in Sicily, it was light and delightful. Service was efficient but a little impersonal and the restaurant was bustling so it may not be suitable for diners who are after a cosy, intimate setting. We enjoyed the lively atmosphere though and dawdled over limoncellos (sent over by our lovely guesthouse owner who happened to be dining there too) after the meal. Overall, it was a great evening there and the restaurant feels like the kind of place popular with both tourists and locals alike.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joey_boyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good local cuisine”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Visited early June, together with my wife. The food was very delicious, I had mussel soup and rissoto with seafood. The service might have been a bit faster, and the atmosphere a bit cosier, but overall the experience was good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martinsoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael Ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Scopello Gem”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Visit May 6/13 2012 with small group of British walkers. Delightful location, clean comfortable rooms with good plumbing, a small minifrig, and very helpful staff. Wifi is free, but generally not available in most rooms. We took all our breakfasts/dinners there with excellent Sicilian styled food throughout (one cannot do much with breakfast however). Staff very attentive and manager requested written surveys from all of us at the end of the stay.
Staff also arranged excellent taxi service (Giorgio) for a daytrip to Palermo for eight of us.
Scopello is a tiny village with few services but a delightful base for a week's exploration of the cultural and walking possibilities of the area.
Very much recommended

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average but not bad”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The first time my swordfish was roasted too dry, the second time the pasta was ok but my partner received the wrong pizza; when asking the waiter it took him ages to admit to it (he did not even recognize his own pizza siciliana, and his english was non-existent), by that time my partner had lost her patience. Service was below average, but prices are modest.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brice3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Baglio also viewed

Scopello, Castellammare del Golfo
Scopello, Castellammare del Golfo
 
Scopello, Castellammare del Golfo
Scopello, Castellammare del Golfo
 
Scopello, Castellammare del Golfo
Scopello, Castellammare del Golfo
 

Been to Il Baglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing