We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place but can be quite expensive”
Review of Creative Gardens

Creative Gardens
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in Donaghadee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Lovely place but can be quite expensive”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I do like going for a nosey round the flowers and ornaments etc., Then followed by coffee and cake. Very very busy place (and can be noisy!). Scones are huge as are the portions of pavlova and apple pie, but they are scrummy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaLou1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    43
    28
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Garden Centre, Food not to die for!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I love going to Donaghadee garden centre to purchase a new range or plants in the spring, but I have found that the Cafe isn't living up to the standards set by the rest of the complex.

I find the food basic and over priced, basically you pay restaurant prices for a cafe and I would probably have rated it lower if not for the Garden centre itself.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dwd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Donaghadee's Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have lived in Donaghadee my whole life, and 'Donaghadee Garden Centre', as it is fondly known to my myself and my family, has always been somewhere I enjoy visiting.

My most recent experience is one that I feel I really must share. I recently visited the café with my elderly mother, who is a little hard of hearing and often can find it quite difficult to move around. On coming in to the centre, I was greeted by a very friendly member of staff who asked if we needed any assistance at all. When I told her that we had come to use our In Bloom vouchers in the café, she very kindly escorted us round to make sure that my Mother would be seated. As it turns out, she had remembered us from our previous visit when we had purchased some garden furniture. She started asking all about it, and if we enjoyed the purchase, which I thought was just lovely!

On entering the café, the staff were as delightful as always, and the food was just delicious. We were seated straight away, and every care was taken to make sure that my Mum was comfortable. With my In Bloom card, I get coupons four times a year that I can redeem in the café, so on this occasion, Mum and I had come for a cup of tea and some buns.

We had a scone each, which were huge, along with a cappuccino and a hot chocolate which we got free of charge with my free tea/coffee vouchers, and it really did brighten up a cold and blustery day. The only disappointing thing that I can report is that I didn't get to try the delicious lunch that was on offer, as it really did look and smell delicious!

I'd just like to thank the staff for always being so friendly when we eat here, and for treating my Mum so well. It is one of the few visits out of the house that she makes now, and it is always a pleasure!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryM1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

was there for lunch and boy what a lunch a bowl of stew (would have got 2 out of it) the other people all enjoyed there lunch

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Redfire999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Good for food but a very cold place, keep your coat on when eating.
A bit expensive , usual small tea pots that leak when poured . Why have cheap useless tea pots.
Might be back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creative Gardens also viewed

Donaghadee, County Down
Donaghadee, County Down
 
Donaghadee, County Down
Donaghadee, County Down
 

Been to Creative Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing