We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every penny and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hammet House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hammet House
Ranked #1 of 5 Llechryd B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth every penny and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed for one night last month, we chose Hammet House because of the location and style of the property and we were not disappointed. The house is in a peaceful location, there are beautiful grounds to explore, but the interior is so stylish and welcoming you could not be blamed for wanting to stay indoors.
The staff were very attentive but did not fuss and they seemed genuinely keen to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. The food was fantastic value and absolutely delicious. We would definitely recommend Hammet House to other couples looking to get away and recharge in charming surroundings. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBAKER_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    103
    39
    8
    3
See reviews for
55
307
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Even though we were attending a family funeral, we did have a memorable stay at Hammett House and will definitely return when we are next over from Ireland. The hospitality and charm was second to none, food and the house champagne delicious. The whole ambiance made for a delightful experience. We loved the whole ambience of Hammett House, it is quirky and a lot of fun and an eclectic mix of modern and old fashioned style. Perfectly executed by the young owners and a real credit to them. P.S. Loved the divine flapjack thank you, a real treat and much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefwoodpecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a quality, boutique hotel for a short break away from the kids. We chose Hammet House because of location, style, size and previous recommendations. We have just returned home from our two-night stay and can thoroughly recommend it - and are looking forward to returning there again soon.

The hotel itself is very tastefully finished with really interesting furniture and finishing touches. The bar and lounge areas are relaxing and great places to relax and spend time sipping real ale, fine wine or super cocktails. From the decor to the light fittings, everything is interesting and works together perfectly.

The staff are very attentive, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food was exquisite and had everything was served with style. Great little touches throughout - from the nibbles served with the drinks, to the quality flapjack, real coffee and choice of tea in the bedrooms.

An absolutely cracking hotel for so many reasons - impossible not to enjoy oneself. Well done to the owners and all of the team there - we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Second visit to Hammet. This time for a family wedding. It was all anybody could want it to be. They looked after everybody from 9 to 90 (quite literally!) really well and the arrangements for the day were superbly catered for and very efficiently run. From arrival on Friday, through the preparations and the ceremony, the reception, meal and evening disco till the early hours of Sunday everything went well. We were about 75 people but they could cater adequately for at least double that number. Food superb. Staff very willing to do anything needed. Would recommend this place to anybody whether just for a weekend stay, as we did before, or for a big celebration. My only regret is that Hammet House is a five hour drive away from where I live.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was our first visit to Hammett House, but certainly not our last! From the very warm welcome, superb bedroom and first class meal, this beautiful country house with an eclectic mix of very modern furniture pieces and more traditional furniture was a winner.We have dined in some fine restaurants in the past, and would rate the meal we had on the first night as being very good and accomplished.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgriffithschs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked two 'good' rooms at Hammet House, via a special offer, to include afternoon tea on arrival. The hotel is a delight, and exceeded our expectations. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, with wonderful beds and linen, settee, large TV and quality toiletries. Everything was spotlessly clean. The house-made flapjacks, to accompany the tea in our rooms (fresh milk was provided on request) were delicious. Afternoon tea was splendid - scrumptious little cakes, good sandwiches, excellent scones and champagne. We had dinner on one evening and it was first class - faultless. Service throughout our stay was exemplary - the staff are to be commended. Finally, the location of Hammet House is lovely - right above the river Teifi, with riverside walks, and the nearby village of Cilgerran, with its castle. All in all, a great place to stay - relaxing, comfortable, good service and excellent food. The 'special deal' made it good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank monmouth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights under a 'Secret Escapes' deal for our wedding anniversary. It was a lovely stay and we were catered for very expertly and pleasantly. The food was top class and the room was very comfortable and well furnished. The hotel has a great mix of traditional and modern fittings and furniture. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. We really enjoyed the riverside walk to the castle too. Thanks to the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyandBecky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llechryd
5.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
6.2 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
21.5 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
20.4 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hammet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammet House

Property: Hammet House
Address: Llechryd SA43 2QA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Llechryd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Llechryd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hammet House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hammet House is a luxury country house hotel in beautiful Pembrokeshire. In glorious landscaped grounds the hotel sits on the famous river Teifi right on the Pembrokeshire Ceredigion border. Built in 1795 by Sir Benjamin Hammet, the grade II listed Georgian house has been brought bang up to date with a clear focus on modern luxuries, great service & ultimate relaxation.A luxury bolthole set in secluded grounds, Hammet House is a hidden escape that nestles discreetly amongst Pembrokeshire’s glorious coastline and countryside, and Ceredigion’s spectacular beaches and heritage. Bedrooms are packed with contemporary style & luxuries, with Egyptian cotton on the beds, flat screens on the walls & indulgent Ren products in the bathrooms.In the bar & dining room you’ll find cool contemporary spaces to unwind, relax, eat & drink in, all brought to you with our easy-going yet impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hammet House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammet House Llechryd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing