We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hammet House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emlyn Hotel(Newcastle Emlyn)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cartref Hotel(Fishguard)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tara Hotel(Fishguard)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveler rating
332
112
41
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
332
112
41
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplastic chairswine listnew ownerscountry houseold housealongside the riversmoked salmonfront of the housewedding venuewest walesbeautiful houseoutstanding roomfluffy towelstwo night stayboth nightssuperb foodcooked to perfection
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 502 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Very attractive 18th Cent. house, now a small hotel. The house is lovely & it is furnished in a "modern" style (plexiglass chairs in the restaurant, orange 50s retro style sofa in the bar, etc). I enjoyed the contrast - more fun & much more interesting than struggling to keep in period.

The hotel has a special Late booking deal in Winter which means that for £89 per double room you are bumped up to the best available room on the night. & on a Sunday night in mid-December, we were given a wonderful big room with a modern & very comfortable four poster bed!

You can eat dinner here too. Very nice slightly cheffy food, £32 for two courses (my partner had pea panna cotta & loin of venison, I had fois gras & cod on leeks & mashed potato - both very good). & a very reasonable Merlot for, I think, £18 a bottle'

Breakfast is very good too (freshly squeezed orange juice is always a good marker) & pretty much anything you like.

I really liked this place. & with the Winter late booking special it is an absolutely amazing deal!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david-206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We've just returned from staying at Hammet House for a family celebration for my mother's 80th birthday. I'm sure I'll repeat much of what has been written before......but this really is a very special place.
Set in a beautiful, unspoilt and relatively remote part of Wales, the hotel has clearly benefitted hugely from new ownership and a subsequent refurb in 2012. Of course, these things are personal - but we all loved the interesting combination of old and modern, with each bringing out the best in the other. This is a lovely, traditional old manor house which has been enhanced and uplifted by some striking and imaginative contemporary design-led touches. Our room ("Fabulous") was spacious, relaxing and extremely comfortable (although a couple of the other rooms in our group had not yet had their refurb completed) and the public areas are warm, characterful and welcoming.
The service throughout the weekend was attentive, low key, friendly and very helpful. And the food we ate on the first night in the bar, from the house menu, was a cut above most bar food and prepared to a high standard.
But the real highlight was the following night, when we ate from the dinner menu in the restaurant. Between twelve of us, we ended up choosing every dish bar one and, without exception, they were all excellent - combining great technique, flair and imagination, with superb local ingredients and a strong degree of seasonality. It was very, very special. It's great - and relatively uncommon - to see a chef combining all of these thoughtfully, without being tempted to overstretch himself. Together with the occasion itself and a really good, and almost entirely organic, wine list, it made for a truly outstanding evening - one which will remain with us for ever.
Forty eight hours here flew by and, without a doubt, we'll be back. It was more than worth the four hour drive from Surrey and whenever it is that we return, it won't be soon enough....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago and had a wonderful time. As others have state decor is not what you expect but it really did suit the place. The owners have really thought about making this a different place and in my opinion have succeeded. It may not be to everyone's taste but I really liked it.
We booked a 'good' room but ended up in an 'outstanding' room which was wonderful. The room was very large and furnished beautifully. The bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get up and only made it just in time for breakfast!!! I'm not a cooked breakfast person but here it was stunning!
Staff I must mention are Stacey and Sophie who we dealt with the most on our arrival. They were both delightful and a credit to the hotel. I must say all staff were very helpful and polite nothing was too much trouble.
We would definitely return here again. The location and surroundings were stunning and a wonderful are to explore.
Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at Hammet House recently and it couldn't have been better! The staff were fabulous, going out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay just excellent service, the best at any hotel we've stayed at. We also received a complimentary room upgrade to a 'good' room - it was a big room with tidy en-suite and an extremely soft luxurious bed.

The food was equally amazing, but not in anyway overpriced. We had a champagne afternoon tea (delicious), mushroom and goats cheese burgers in the evening and a lovely sumptuous cooked breakfast. Again we want to thank the staff for being so welcoming, being vegetarians we usually only get one choice on a menu, the Hammet House team made a special effort and even produced us a personalised vegetarian menu! Five stars - we'd love to visit again.

Room Tip: We were upgraded from a cozy to a good room. A lovely big room so always try to get the upgrade :)
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank digitom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful As previous reviewer has stated beds and bed linen of excellent quality The house was lovely and warm with log fires in the public rooms.Best to be there though in the Summer as good walking area
Food absolutely delicious especially the porridge for breakfast.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 8 which was large but bathroom needs attention
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews