We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and welcoming evening away....!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flambards Hotel & Tea Rooms
Ranked #2 of 5 Llechryd B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saundersfoot
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Relaxed and welcoming evening away....!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

From initial check in to check out.... this was a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere......with friendly locals and residents....and helpful owners...!! The weather always plays a big part in awaydays....and we'd had a scorcher......so.... lovely stroll along the river bank toward Cilgerran and a quick tour of the village and its history before a drink in the rear beer garden and then an enjoyable evening meal in the bar area..! We will return to complete some of the sightseeing we didn't complete.........!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimboSaundersfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    1
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Will never come back there again and will not recommend.

Very nicely decorated but....

...First we have booked 3 double rooms for 6 people through booking.com (£80 per room) but then one more person joined in and we rang the hotel asking to add a bed to one of the rooms. It was refused and additional single room was offered for £50. The surprise was that all double rooms could actually accommodate 3 people in each room (1 double bed and 1 single bed in each room!) and in one of the rooms there was a portable bed which could have been offered for this additional person. So 7 people could have stayed in 2 rooms instead of 4, we were not impressed because obviously owners looked for some extra cash!

Rooms were spacey and there was everything in them you would need but for this price I would expect some extras-bottled water, biscuits etc.

Bathroom however, was not as good, the shower was not properly cleaned, it was very small and the mould was black and massive above on ceiling.

The noise was also annoying. The pub downstairs was packed with locals, cars and bikes speeding down the main road just by the hotel, the ceiling sounded like collapsing when someone was moving about in the room above and noise from neighbour flushing the toilet was a bit too much.
The meal was OK but too expensive (min about £8 for fish and chips). The breakfast was very good though, loads of fresh fruits, yoghurt and cereal, the full english breakfast was very nice, not too fatty but fresh. However on weekends it could be a bit later than 8-9 am....

Overall I was surprised to see 4 star award in the hotel, I stayed in many 4* hotels but this was definitely the worst and I would give it max 2*...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rzaruwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My partner and I visited on a Thursday night on a lovely May evening. We got in to find a wood burning fire roaring which made both my partner and I extremely hot and uncomfortable. The pub was empty apart from a couple of 'regulars'. We ordered our food and because we we very hot in the bar area went through to the restaurant.

The food was dreadful, very bland and tasted like a ready-meal (nothing special!). This sadly was the same for the pudding!

When we were eating our meal the owner kept looking through the glass to see if we were still there (certainly didn't make for a relaxing meal!)

All-in-all, very disappointing! My partner and I love the informality of pubs and did expect locally sourced food in this sleepy little village pub - how wrong were we!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NWilliams94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydia_anne_p
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Convenient for Castell Malgwyn based weddings.
Room badly in need of an update.
Breakfast only available between 8:00-9:00 even on a Saturday!
Have seen a better welcome..
Good Shower.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lydia_anne_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I spent one night here in grey rainy October. The room , food and decor could not be faulted. spotless bathroom with nice big shower, flat screen TV and nice comfy bed. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevetheChauffeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llechryd
5.1 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
440 reviews
6.0 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
551 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seven Stars Guest House
Seven Stars Guest House
#4 of 5 in Llechryd
24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hammet House
Hammet House
#1 of 5 in Llechryd
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flambards Hotel & Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flambards Hotel & Tea Rooms

Property: Flambards Hotel & Tea Rooms
Address: near Cardigan, Llechryd SA43 2NT, Wales (Formerly Carpenters Arms Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Llechryd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Llechryd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Flambards Hotel & Tea Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Flambards Hotel & Tea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flambards Hotel & Tea Rooms Llechryd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing