We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite possible, the worst hotel I have ever not slept in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yvre-l'Eveque
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quite possible, the worst hotel I have ever not slept in”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Judging by outward appearances, you might assume the Le Mans 'Country Club' was pretty special. Bolt on some fairly fancy prices, the photos on their website and fact the Audi Le Mans team stay there in June and,w ell, you might even think it looked like a bargain! Trust me, it isn't.
In fact, after 6 days of touring around the region, this was by far the most disappointing venue we stayed in. How bad? Well, if somebody else hadn't been paying, I would have been straight out the stable door.
Stable door? Well, don't be fooled by the Best Western pictures - a large number of the bedrooms here are situated about 100 yards from the chateaux in what appears to be two rows of stables. There are no proper windows, just the glass in the door and a half-moon window above it, with net curtains over both. Eek!
The area outside our door was littered in cigarette ends, there were no flowers or a seating area in the vast open courtyard between the two rows of stables and the only sweet touch was a donkey in a field next door, who had obviously dug his own tunnel out.
When we arrived, the counter staff did not have a record of our reservation (this does happen but as I am a journalist for a national British newspaper on a travel feature, you expect they would know). Finally, we were found 'in the system' , handed a card key pass and pointed in the direction of the stables. The hotel car park was empty, nobody else was in the foyer - why didn't he offer to help us with our bags, or take us to the room?
At least the wifi in the room worked - it meant I could go online and book a restaurant in Le Mans, cancelling the booking at the Country Club itself.
Next morning, breakfast was almost pitiful. The pretty part of the restaurant was laid out for dinner, so we were invited to sit in an area with two other French businessmen who, judging by the look on their faces, also fell for the website images and imagined this might be a great place to stay.
I would ramble on about the rock hard bed (I like a hard bed but this made my hips ache), the security light that came on every time somebody walked past our room, and the lack of country-club style facilities but if you are truly crazy enough to stay here, then don't say I didn't warn you.
Pay less - stay somewhere in old Le Mans - and don't be fooled by the hotel's beautifully fabricated website...

Room Tip: Take a tent instead - it will be more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    93
    53
    21
    9
See reviews for
41
114
5
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Condom, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stopped here overnight en-route to South West France and chose this particular hotel primarily because we imagined, due its location, it would be peaceful and quiet. It certainly was!

We were extremely happy with our room on the top (2nd) floor of the old chateau. Our room was a good size, comfortable and well-equipped but the decor was just beginning to fade.

We chose not to eat in the hotel's restaurant on account of the relatively high cost (à la carte with 3-courses starting at around €40). We also decided that the breakfast offering wasn't worthy of the €15 per person asking price.

Disappointed to discover that €10 had been applied to our bill for the supply of a cot!!

Room Tip: We were happy to be allocated a room in the original chateau, I believe there are also rooms in rede...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAWALB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The place is beautiful.Be sure to know how to reach it.(we had some difficulties at night)
We had a room in the "orangeraie" It was perfect,but i suggest that you book in the castel even if it is a bit more expensive.Book in advance.
The room is provided with anything you need (even bathrobes for the cheapest room) and the bed is a very confortable one with nice linen.
Parking is easy and free on the spot.
Wifi is free and perfect.
You may like or not the inside of the castle downstair..it is not seventeen century furnished.
The food is absolutely delicious and reasonable price (30 euros for a real Christmas dinner with foie gras to start with....) they have a real good chef..
The lady in charge of the hotel could not be more pleasant, she makes you feel at home as soon as you arrive...she is sweet and cool....
We recomment highly this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Boy is this place difficult to find but when you get there it is worth it. The address says Yvre-l'Eveque but it's actually between Parence and Fatines on the D91. The interior decor of the Chateuax is ultra modern whilst the exterior retains it's charm. Food is very good although expensive. The rooms are in what appears to be a converted stables some 100 metres from the Chateuax - if it rains, you get wet! But it is a nice place to stay with very comfortable, well appointed rooms.
I hope the hotel management reads this revue as they really do have to improve their leaflet with much better directions on how to find the Chateaux. Apart from that it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs book a ground floor room as there is no lift in the stable block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amethyst31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Beautiful small chateau in lovely surroundings.
Beds very comfortable, woke too late for breakfast.
Dinner good, wine list a bit wanting.
Furnishings cheap and modern, not in keeping with building.
Staff friendly and helpful, will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yegodsandlittlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryYvreLEveque, Responsable relations clients at Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are happy to learn that you spent a lovely stay in our place.

Thank you for your feedback,
We look for welcoming you again very soon

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here to break the journey south from the ferry.

The room (in the orangery) was huge and well equipped. The restaurant was great - attractive but informal, very helpful waiters, delicious food. The staff were helpful.

The downside is that there was nothing else. "Country club" implies a nice place to spend a day - partly why we chose it, to spend the afternoon relaxing after a painfully early start. But there were no other facilities except a sun-baked tennis court, and walks in the grounds rapidly reached the rubbish tip or sewage system. So I thought it extremely pricey for the lack of facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helium6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryYvreLEveque, Gérant at Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Customer

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. Your opinion is important to us.
We are happy to ear that you enjoyed our rooms and the food in the restaurant.
Regarding hotel features, we are sorry to learn that you were disappointed by the lack of activities. Indeed, we only have a tennis court and no pool. That is why wa have partnerships with golf, pools, spa and equestrian center nearby our hotel.

Hoping to welcome you again in our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

It was a hot and miserable summer day in leMans, almost 100 degrees F. Although the hotel has no AC (very few French hotels have AC), I asked for a fan in the room and was accommodated immediately. The staff are friendly and efficient. The food was superb. The clientele during my visit were mostly wealthy English auto afficianados. There was an Irish couple and child that I dined with. Delightful. This property has excellent value and is well managed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Frjcarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yvre-l'Eveque
4.9 mi away
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
#5 of 41 in Le Mans
547 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mercure Le Mans Centre
Mercure Le Mans Centre
#6 of 41 in Le Mans
445 reviews
5.7 mi away
Concordia Hotel
Concordia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Le Mans
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Domaine De Chatenay
Domaine De Chatenay
#1 of 7 in Saint-Saturnin
75 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Le Charleston
Hotel Le Charleston
#2 of 41 in Le Mans
283 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ibis Le Mans Centre
Ibis Le Mans Centre
#1 of 41 in Le Mans
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club

Property: Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club
Address: Chateau De La Ragotterie, 72530 Yvre-l'Eveque, Le Mans, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Le Mans Country Club)
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Mans > Yvre-l'Eveque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yvre-l'Eveque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club Hotel Yvre-l`Eveque
Best Western Le Mans
Le Mans Best Western
Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing