We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than expected”
Review of Chez Laurette

Chez Laurette
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Malaucene
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Chez Laurette was recommended with reservations by a local resident. "Oh, it's Monday night in October. All the better restaurants are closed, Chez Laurette is all that is open right now, so sorry." After this damning with faint praise, we entered with low expectations. We were then quite surprised with a really excellent French country dinner. In fact in our 10 day stay in France, Chez Laurette managed to turn out one of the better meals of our trip. While the restaurant does not have the high style of presentation so common in France, the quality, portions and presentation was still quite nice. Frankly, many upscale restaurants in America could do well to copy Chez Laurette. My husband had the lamb and was still craving it several days later. Note that Malaucene and Vaison du Romaine are very close to each other and share a lot of their tourists. Malaucene makes its money by catering to cyclists are are considered as a less desirable, lower spending tourist with very pedestrian needs for good food. Therefore, Malaucen is considered a poor cousin of Vaison. None-the-less, Malaucene is appealing in its own self contained sort of way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroltheodora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    103
    23
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I first visited Malaucene in October this year. We've tried several restaurants in the area, but a friend of ours recommended Chez Laurette. It was love at first site, the restaurant is quite intimate with a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere.The service is excellent, Mr. Pierre was very polite and knowing his duty well; he helped us choosing the wines for each course we've had; which was great having in view that we don't know much about french wines and their connection with the meals served. The food was excellent, every course we had was very tasty. We've tried all the courses as we've eaten at Chez Laurette every day of our stay. Chez Laurette became definetly our favorite. Well done Marie and Pierre!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mihaela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“C'est tres Bon”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We come to Malaucene every year and Chez Laurette is our favourite restaurant. The food is excellent and the environment relaxed and welcoming. For rugby buffs, the gentleman likely to be serving you was Romania's no. 15 in the early 90's.
Just finished eating there an hour ago and still savouring the tastes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malthibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

French cousine at it's best. Not very pricy, intimate. Tables both inside and outside. The Lapin course was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HiHoSilver9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozel, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not accommodating”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We visit Malaucène 6-8 times a year, the majority with groups of 8 or more as we work as cycle guides all over France. We are always looking for new places to try. Sadly Chez Laurette would not even give us a chance to try! We are vegetarians and while that is not common in France, most places accommodate. At Chez Laurette when we advised we had 2 vegetarians, they immediately said no - we gave them suggestions on food items on their menu that they could provide us, and still it was an absolute no. Extremely disappointed, but one persons loss is another's gain...just down the street the Bleu Citron, was not only welcoming but we had a fantastic meal of homemade raviolis , delicious salads and great dessert!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cyclegirlfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Laurette also viewed

Malaucene, Vaucluse
 

Been to Chez Laurette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing