We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Madelene

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malaucene
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Madelene
Ranked #3 of 10 Malaucene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A bit of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our stay was outstanding. Phillip and Jude made us feel like visiting family. We relaxed into the renovated Abbey with three solid meals a day and outstanding local wines. At our request, the food was heavily vegetarian using local and seasonally fresh ingredients. Everything was delicious. The after dinner cheese platters were to die for as were the fresh croissants each morning. Our room near the pool was huge with a spacious shower and tasteful, simple decorations and the bed very comfortable. La Madelene is off the beaten path yet close enough to experience all that Provence has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ochw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
43
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This summer, my husband and I stayed at La Madelene for 2 nights on a B&B basis and then for 3 nights as part of Philip's Rhone Wine Tour. Both experiences were outstanding and I would highly recommend your staying here. Philip and Jude are passionate about what they do and they do it superbly. They really care that you have the best possible time while staying with them and while visiting the Rhone. La Madelene is a sophisticated and idyllic place to stay while exploring the Rhone. Our room was spacious, private and well appointed. Philip's knowledge of wine, and Rhone wine in particular, is extensive. Yet, he is brilliant at making sure that everyone (both the wine novice and the wine expert) learns about the wines of the Rhone at their own level. The restaurant that he recommended to us was excellent and we would not have found it on our own. Likewise, the restaurants that he took us to as part of the wine tour were all top notch (and we are picky foodies). As others have noted, Jude is an unbelievable cook and the meals that we had at La Madelene were as good, if not better than those we had at restaurants. I just can't say enough good things about Philip, Jude and La Madelene. Rest assured that when my husband and I return to the South of France, we will make sure to return to La Madelene.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CL2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We are 4 couples sitting at Marseilles airport reflecting on the last 3 days. There is 100% agreement in the group; this was the perfect long weekend. We are all well-travelled, but Jude and Philip took us by storm. A late arrival on Wednesday did not stop Judy from serving a 5 star dinner with Philip's excellent wine choices. From that point on, until we left on Saturday, the quality remained at top level.
La Medelene is a stunning place in a beautiful setting. The rooms are all renovated to top standard. Jude continued to serve fantastic meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Philip guided us to 8 wineries, all carefully selected to give us the full flavor of the variety among wine producers. From Philip, we learned more about wine than we have ever done before. On top of all this, Jude and Philip did everything they could possibly do to ensure that we had a comfortable stay.
We are all entering flight LH 1089 with big smiles in our faces.
From the group: Jude and Philip, thank you so much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eirik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I am sitting here in our next location - an apartment in Bordeaux - reflecting back on our four fabulous nights at La Madelene. This was my first wine tour, and I certainly started at the top. Philip knows everything about wine and was happy to share his knowledge with the rest of us. Jude is a fantastic cook and hostess and was kind enough to accommodate my request for near-vegan food.
An example of their hospitality - we arrived too late to have dinner in town, tired and hungry. Jude immediately fixed a quick dinner of the best bread, cheese and salad I have ever had. On our last night there, my husband broke out one of his bottles of Chateau d'Yquem and Jude, with little notice, researched which desserts would be the perfect pairing.

Our days there flew by much too quickly. I cannot recommend La Madelene, and Rhone Wine Holidays, highly enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. And they're all unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

La Madelene, Rhone Wine Holidays, and Philip and Jude are everything written in the reviews and MORE! It was hard to believe that they delivered on every point noted on their sites with perfection. The La Madelene was an ideal setting for a relaxing stay, just like visiting old friends, The dinners that Jude prepared were outstanding and wine selection top end. We will be requesting some of the recipes for sure. The Rhone Wine Holidays tours to wineries were better than expected with owners (or sons or daughters) greeting us and showing us around each winery and taking us thru their wine tastings. A perfect mix of small to larger wineries made for very interesting contrasts in both ownership, wine making, and their wines. Most of the wineeries would be impossible to get into without Philip.The lunches between our winery visits were well chosen and delicious. If not for some rain, the lunches would have been extra perfect with patios overlooking the valleys and mountains available to us. Philip is the wine expert everyone knows and respects (and who we would all love to be) while Jude creates the perfect home, food, and hospitality to make a wonderful stay. More could be said on all the small but important details from breakfast to appetizers and wine before dinners but I will stop here with a large thank you to Philip and Jude.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The highlight of a recent trip to France was a stay at La Madalene which included visits to a great cross section of southern Rhone wineries and a great education of the wines in this region. We were totally impressed with the lovely, comfortable rooms and our friendly accommodating hosts, Phillip and Jude. Each meal prepared by Jude was exquisite, elegant and paired with Phillip's excellent selection of wines. We were totally impressed with everything during our stay at La Madalene. Expect wonderful if you go there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Last year my wife and I organized a yoga retreat at La Madelene. With the wonderful support of our hosts Jude and Philip this turned for our guests and us in a magnificent experience. The rooms are tastefully designed and equipped with contemporary amenities and give this centuries old building new glamor. Surrounded by orchards and vineyards and beautiful large trees you indeed feel like in paradise. The Yoga Classes took place either on a large wooden deck adjacent to the building or on a lawn right beside the pool. The friendly reception and warm hospitality of our hosts, their open ears for any request were further key elements to make this stay memorable. But - and now speaks the food and wine lover in me, what convinced me the most of La Madelene's quality, was the continuously outstanding quality of the provided meals and beverages. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were indeed feast for the senses and exceeded my high expectations. I'm so happy that we managed to organize another stay at "La Madelene" this September again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own individual style and great quality. The beds are very comfortable and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malaucene
6.0 mi away
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Hotel Crillon le Brave
#1 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Bastide Bleue
La Bastide Bleue
#2 of 2 in Seguret
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
3.6 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#1 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mas de Longuefeuille
Mas de Longuefeuille
#1 of 10 in Malaucene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Madelene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madelene

Property: La Madelene
Address: Route d Entrechaux, 84340 Malaucene, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Malaucene
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Malaucene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential RHONE WINE TOURS ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing