We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible food lets down this beautifully placed restaurant”

Le festin de Babette
Reserve with
Le festin de Babette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible food lets down this beautifully placed restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Festin de Babette is a lively, friendly restaurant situated right next to the river. In the evenings, watching the sun set over the water can be very pleasant and the waiters and waitresses are generally friendly. There are usually a large number of tourists from the surrounding holiday villas etc. but this does not detract from the atmosphere, in fact, we've always found it quite fun to guess where they're all from.

Unfortunately, none of this can make up for the quality of food at the restaurant, which ranges from merely underwhelming to bad. We have been to Festin de Babette three times in three years and have always found the food to be disappointing. We kept going back due to the strong recommendations of our villa's guidebook, however, we never found the elusive combination of meals which justified the reviews.

Our most recent trip featured some of the worst meals we've ever had at a restaurant. One of the starters was literally just a plate of parma ham served with bread and butter (12 euros). A main course we ordered was a plate of four langoustines, which the diner had to deshell, each leaving a small piece of meat roughly the size of a little finger (21 euros). This was accompanied by a little pot of pasta (3 euros extra). Finally to cap it all off, we ordered an apricot tart which was so sour as to be inedible (8 euros). There are some good courses hidden in the menus (the puy lentil and foie gras starter) but they are rare and finding them is a lottery. Better meals and value can be had, in general, by sticking to the cheaper set menus.

In summary, this beautifully located, well-staffed restaurant is dismally let down by the quality of food which struggles to rise above mediocre.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    104
    25
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dordogne
Level Contributor
146 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“A Lovely Accident”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Heading as we were for Albi but having set off late we decided to stop for lunch in St Antonin. We were a group of 4 and noticed the location of Le Festin on the river bank and thought - great location and asked for this empty table and persuaded the young server to give us the only empty table by the river which he did after some hesitation. We all enjoyed the very simple starter of tomato and chevre and most of us had coquille st Jacques with aubergine and spaghetti as a main. We all agreed that it could not be faulted on value for money and the service from the young Belgian waitress was faultless. Not haute cuisine for sure but for value and pleasure on warm afternoon just great

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank froggychap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant, but.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The location is lovely, right on the side of the river near the main bridge into St Antonin. The staff were pleasant and the food was just ok for the price. It's standard fare and it's possible to eat better and have better value for money in St Antonin.
If you want to sit on the terrace right next to the river it's best to book well in advance. There is a road (albeit a very minor one) that splits the terrace dining area from the main restaurant. Staff have to cross the road each time they attend a table on the terrace (only in France.....).
Like so many restaurants it just needs tweaking and some more attention to detail. I often think the solution is just 'new blood' as often everything seems rooted in the past (not in a good way).
Overall a reasonable place and would visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CriticsView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ate here a few times, the food offers decent value and the location is fantastic overlooking the river, would go again at anytime.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely setting.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This has a relaxing setting , on the banks of the river - if you get a terrace table.- if not , the main restaurant is across the road. The service was friendly and efficient however the menu was quite restrictive and overall the food average at above average price. There are better places to eat in town , albeit without the view !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keithc05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le festin de Babette also viewed

Saint-Antonin Noble Val, Tarn-et-Garonne
Saint-Antonin Noble Val, Tarn-et-Garonne
 
Saint-Antonin Noble Val, Tarn-et-Garonne
Saint-Antonin Noble Val, Tarn-et-Garonne
 
Saint-Antonin Noble Val, Tarn-et-Garonne
Varen, Saint-Antonin Noble Val
 

Been to Le festin de Babette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing