We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dire Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
3 Tuns Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Pettistree B&B and Inns
Woodbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dire Food”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

The Three Tuns food ??? Dire Dire Dire !! They write a good menu but the proof of the pudding as they say is in the eating. If indeed they have a trained chef (which I very much doubt) they need to go back to basics & learn how to cook.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    42
    10
    8
    34
See reviews for
21
46
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We arrived to find notices stating card machine was out of order & was told that 'the boss' said they could not accept cheques ( no 'boss' in sight! ), so it was a trip to the cash machine for all of us. The pillows were ridiculous - about 2" thick, so a complete waste of time ( the young girl who checked us in agreed, but did make some comment about problems with the housekeeper ). We did have soap in our bathroom - one jar was somewhat watered down, but that was more than others had - they had nothing! The young lad who was there later on in the evening was pleasant, and once again pleasant the following morning as he desperately tried to cook breakfast for 17 people who all wanted it at a similar time. And when someone asked for jam / marmalade we were told by the waitress ' we don't have no jam or marmalade'.
The rooms are grubby - the carpets have obviously never been cleaned properly. The grouting & sealant round the bath horribly mouldy
Who is the manager of this place? I guess he/she is far too embarrassed ever to own up to being responsible. No doubt the reason for going away when guests come to stay. I do think if you're trying to run a business, you should be there to look after your customers

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FellowCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pettistree hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

How can I describe it without swearing?
The place is (without a doubt) the worst place I have ever stayed in. That includes all sorts of places around the world.
It should be closed down or it is about to close down. The poor guy who is attending reception was so embarassed that he had to go and give us some of his personal towels, as the place did not have enough for all the bedrooms. Bob, the owner, should concentrate on running a business that does not include customer service, as we can all confirm: you fail miserably!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Froggylondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Rooms could do with a good clean. No soap in the shower. Waited 40 minutes for breakfast. We will NOT be going again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Arrived saturday @ 7.15pm , no record of our booking. No manager and no staff , just one young guy who was the chef for a week, but now front of house or general dogsbody.

apologised said the motel was full even though i had email conf. He then produced something out of the sixties and showed scribbled room bookings, he also said the previous owner had not paid the phone bills so lines cut off and internet did not work , so no one was picking up emails anyway ( i had booked through their partner website) .

He had been here a week and was alone to run the place. I asked for the manager , he said he was in "herefordshire or somewhere like that" , he left messages but no call back.

we tried 7 other places locally but all full , so we decided very relunctanly to stay in the "out of service" room which had no towells, not been cleaned, dirty sheets, dirty bathroom, no pillowcases. He kept apologising but did produce 2 pillow cases and 2 towells. The cold water tap did not work. The room was the size of a cupboard.

possibly worst night sleep ever and we were off on a 35 mile charity bike ride crack of dawn. slept on the bed & which was like concrete and kept constantly awake by other guests drunk and the young lad smoking a joint outside our window,

you couldnt make this up !! how this place gets a rating is beyond me, plus they have no phone number and no website . On one website I even saw a menu for the restaraunt which the guy didn't even know about . This place is dire , please avoid . there are many other B&B's in the area. A hostel or YMCA would have been better

Room Tip: there are no best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexPathfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2011

It was dirty in the bar area and in the rooms are dirty the beds have all pee marks all over them there is to much to say apart from DON'T STAY OR EAT THERE

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sexyguy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed here between site jobs. Great value foods good and the rooms are good. Had a good nights sleep hearty breakfast and will stay again soon. Cheers.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sitemgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pettistree
1.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
330 reviews
4.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
504 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
791 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn
Cherry Tree Inn
#8 of 22 in Woodbridge
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Tuns Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Tuns Coaching Inn

Property: 3 Tuns Coaching Inn
Address: Main Road, Pettistree, Woodbridge IP13 0HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge > Pettistree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pettistree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 3 Tuns Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, comfortable hotel in midst rural Suffolk. Short distances to Ipswich or the coastal towns of Aldeburgh, Southwold or Walberswick. Our bar is stocked with local ales and our restaurant provides a wide selection of traditional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your 3 Tuns Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Tuns
The Three Tuns Hotel Pettistree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing