We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunflower House: The Gite Option”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Fontaine

La Fontaine
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Fontaine
Ranked #1 of 1 Olette B&B and Inns
Norwich
2 reviews
“Sunflower House: The Gite Option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

The three of us stayed for the best part of a week in Sunflower House, a terraced house a couple of minutes walk up the hill from La Fontaine. With two vegans in our party, this was a particularly good option for us, but may suit others as there is no proper restaurant in Olette.
Sunflower House is great. On three levels, you have a loo and washing machine and entry hall on ground; up the stairs to a well appointed kitchen and living area; up more stairs to a double and a twin bedroom and bathroom.
All very clean and Janet and Hugo could not have been more helpful. A warm welcome and introduction to the house, followed by extensive help with planning some excellent walks and activities in the area.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester by the Sea, MA,US
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We had a two night stay here. Our room was quite basic. Our room looked out to the small town square, and the main road just beyond, as a result we were advised not to leave our window open at night. The property was originally a hotel, the current owners have chosen to operate as a 5 room B&B. The continental breakfast was better than many breakfasts we have had in the past. We found the personal attention of the owners, expats from the UK, to be quite helpful. They provided many ideas for walks, hikes, tourist visits and dining. They clearly love the area and are generally quite knowledgeable about it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SgFm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We went for a three days trip to the area, and we really felt we were warmly welcomed by Hugo and Janet: they were very helpful in providing information about the area and the dinner prepared by them was excellent. We also had a very nice view from the room. Also it is possible to take a fantastic trip with the yellow train (train Jaune) which is nearby the hotel. We are going to repeat this trip!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lemkow G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed at La Fontaine for our son's 16th birthday weekend as he wanted to go skiing in the Pyrenees. We are in France for 6 mos from the U.S.A. and do not know the area at all! Janet and Hugo and La Fontaine, were the perfect hosts and the best hotel (B&B) for us. La Fontaine was charming, clean, very comfortable and located in the lovely and tiny mountain town of Olette. The rooms were perfect sizes, very cozy and had in suite bathrooms-the view from the windows would be hard to beat! We enjoyed learning about the history of the hotel, the adjoining building and the old convent across the street. The hosts were gracious and friendly and always at the ready with suggestions for the skiers in the family and those of us who don't ski very well and who preferred to do more touring. Our breakfasts were simple and delicious, always fresh and always plenty of food. We would definitely go back to Janet and Hugo if our travels take us to their knook of the mountains again - Thanks so much for a wonderful stay and a very memorable 16th birthday for our son!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eburns5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed with Janet and Hugo, the wonderful hosts of La Fontaine (the Pink Palace), for 5 nights from the end very of August 2010. We had originally only booked 3 nights, but we were enjoying our stay and kept extending it.

Our room and en suite bathroom were both big, cosy and well equipped.

Breakfasts in their dining room were very good, complete with warm croissants, coffee, orange juice, bread and their lovely homemade apricot jam. It was still a little too chilly in the mornings for eating on the terrace.

They cooked one delicious evening meal for us and a group of French guests, which they will do if enough people ask. Otherwise, they will recommend the most lovely gourmet meals just a 10 min drive down the road in Villefranche-de-Conflent (easy parking in the evening). If you don't mind driving further, Le Royal in Molitg-les-Bains does the most extraordinary plate for only 14 euros. It included wine and coffee.

Olette itself is a small shabby town, but is well situated for local site-seeing. Janet and Hugo will recommend a great many things to see and do, and we had not exhausted the possibilities during our stay.

When moving on, we had trouble deciding where to go next. There was no need to worry, as Janet was soon on the internet finding somewhere for us in Quillan, which was nicely placed for the other sights we were considering seeing. They're like that - helpful beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanttobepampered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

Janet and Hugo, the owners of this Bed and Breakfast were the perfect hosts. They carry their duties with ease, making our stay wonderful. The location of the B&B, moreover, is perfect for those who are looking to explore a large area of the Pyrenees. Within an hour drive some of the gems of the eastern Pyrenees and Catalonia can be found. Enjoy your stay! We certainly did.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PdiddyFC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

This hotel is a lovely place in the very centre of a little town of Ollette. It is nicely decorated inside with the items that have special meaning to the owners and with the handmade furniture Hugo (the owner) designs and makes himself. La Fontaine is a special, unique place, which is close to quite a few nice places and beautiful medieval villages of Evol, Eus, Villefranche du Conflent, famous abbey of St Martine de Canigou etc. We liked everything about our stay, the owners were really charming and friendly. They showed us around the hotel and reccommended a few places we should visit. We did indeed go to Jojols - a village situated so high in the mountains that we had the clouds just in front of us - we literally got to experience how it is like to be with our heads in the clouds. :O)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olette
8.4 mi away
Le Clos Cerdan
Le Clos Cerdan
#1 of 2 in Mont-Louis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
8.7 mi away
Chateau De Riell
Chateau De Riell
#1 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
8.6 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 2 in Prades
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Le Mas Fleuri
Hotel Le Mas Fleuri
#2 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
8.9 mi away
Domaine De La Tannerie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine

Property: La Fontaine
Address: Place de la Victoire, 66360 Olette, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Olette
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Olette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fontaine, in the Pyrenees National Park, is ideally situated between the sea and the mountains and is the perfect base for walkers and history lovers. There are 5 comfortable en-suite rooms (14 guests) overlooking the village square. We offer also offer dinners for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing