We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location and a good place to break a journey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Cistelles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Cistelles
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Peaceful location and a good place to break a journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for a third time and the welcome was as warm as ever. Many French hotels and B & Bs tend to have uncomfortable beds. Not so Les Cistelles: the bed is comfortable and the room and bathroom are spotless.
We also booked an evening meal and Gigi even emailed us with some menus to choose from.
It's very easy to reach from the motorway but quiet and peaceful with no traffic noise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

A second visit to Les Cistelles proved to be as good as the first. Gigi & Roland welcomed us like old friends and the evening meal was excellent as well as being good value. The rooms are comfortable and it's a perfect and peaceful place to break a long journey because access to and from the motorway is so easy.
They are planning to add more accommodation on the ground floor but in the meantime just have two guest rooms, although there is also a gite.

Room Tip: La Bicyclette Bleue is the quietest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

It is never easy to find somewhere to stay en route between the north and south of France which is handy for the motorway, approximately half way, offers an evening meal and is a pleasant place to stop. This one ticks all the boxes and as well is hosted by a delightful couple - Gigi and Roland.
They have created a most comfortable B&B mostly by Roland's hard work and building skills. (And they haven't finished yet with more accommodation planned!)
The friendly welcome and care are exceptional and Gigi's cooking would match the best local restaurants. Whether you are looking for a one night stop or several days in the heart of the Bourgogne wine country, this is hard to beat.

Room Tip: We have tried both the current rooms and would recommend either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We had a lovely time staying with Gigi and Roland, the owners of Les Cistelles. This bed & breakfast feels more like someone's home than some of the other places we stayed which almost felt like small hotels with separate entrances for each room. This B&B has two guest rooms on the second floor of the house and we stayed in the Chambre les Papillons which was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was brand new.

We ate dinner with Roland and Gigi. Before dinner we enjoyed reading on the patio next to the garden. We were the only guests in the B&B that night so dinner was just my boyfriend and me along with Gigi and Roland. The food was great and a home cooked French meal was a real treat after eating out so many nights. Gigi and Roland spoke very limited English so we communicated using my boyfriend's abysmal high school French which worked surprisingly well.
The place is easy to get to by car but a little too far to bike from the nearby wine towns.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend Les Cistelles.

A bit about us. My boyfriend and I were traveling for 3 weeks through France, Switzerland, Italy and Poland and we both travel extensively for work. While we stayed at many places during our trip, we only reviewed the few places we really liked.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is a fairly new b & b with two guest rooms both with en suite shower rooms. Our room (la bicyclette bleue) was lovely with a comfortable bed. Everything is spotless and Gigi and Roland were charming and helpful hosts. The table d'hote was also excellent.
There is a lovely garden and it was very peaceful.
This is an ideal place for a stopover as it is easily reached from the A31 (exit Nuits St Georges).
The prices were reasonable and it was very good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Nicolas-les-Citeaux
3.2 mi away
Le Clos Badan
Le Clos Badan
#2 of 9 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ibis Nuits Saint Georges
Ibis Nuits Saint Georges
#4 of 9 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Losset
Hotel Losset
#1 of 1 in Flagey-Echezeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Nuits Saint Georges
Ibis Budget Nuits Saint Georges
#3 of 9 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Gentilhommiere
La Gentilhommiere
#1 of 9 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
5.1 mi away
Vign'appart
Vign'appart
#5 of 9 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Cistelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Cistelles

Property: Les Cistelles
Address: 7 rue de la Fontaine, 21700 Saint-Nicolas-les-Citeaux, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Saint-Nicolas-les-Citeaux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Nicolas-les-Citeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Burgundy, halfway the wine coast and halfway the famous abbey of Cîteaux, Geneviève welcomes you in her house, former sheepfold, restored tastefully. You can restin a frame of flowers and greenery where our room " The blue bicycle " will transport you in the famous novel of Régine Deforges. Our second room" The Butterflies " evoke freedom and lightness. Spacious, comfortable and air-conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Cistelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cistelles Saint-Nicolas-Les-Citeaux, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing