We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not disappoint”
Review of Les Cistelles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Cistelles
Reviewed May 7, 2012

A second visit to Les Cistelles proved to be as good as the first. Gigi & Roland welcomed us like old friends and the evening meal was excellent as well as being good value. The rooms are comfortable and it's a perfect and peaceful place to break a long journey because access to and from the motorway is so easy.
They are planning to add more accommodation on the ground floor but in the meantime just have two guest rooms, although there is also a gite.

Room Tip: La Bicyclette Bleue is the quietest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

It is never easy to find somewhere to stay en route between the north and south of France which is handy for the motorway, approximately half way, offers an evening meal and is a pleasant place to stop. This one ticks all the boxes and as well is hosted by a delightful couple - Gigi and Roland.
They have created a most comfortable B&B mostly by Roland's hard work and building skills. (And they haven't finished yet with more accommodation planned!)
The friendly welcome and care are exceptional and Gigi's cooking would match the best local restaurants. Whether you are looking for a one night stop or several days in the heart of the Bourgogne wine country, this is hard to beat.

Room Tip: We have tried both the current rooms and would recommend either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We had a lovely time staying with Gigi and Roland, the owners of Les Cistelles. This bed & breakfast feels more like someone's home than some of the other places we stayed which almost felt like small hotels with separate entrances for each room. This B&B has two guest rooms on the second floor of the house and we stayed in the Chambre les Papillons which was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was brand new.

We ate dinner with Roland and Gigi. Before dinner we enjoyed reading on the patio next to the garden. We were the only guests in the B&B that night so dinner was just my boyfriend and me along with Gigi and Roland. The food was great and a home cooked French meal was a real treat after eating out so many nights. Gigi and Roland spoke very limited English so we communicated using my boyfriend's abysmal high school French which worked surprisingly well.
The place is easy to get to by car but a little too far to bike from the nearby wine towns.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend Les Cistelles.

A bit about us. My boyfriend and I were traveling for 3 weeks through France, Switzerland, Italy and Poland and we both travel extensively for work. While we stayed at many places during our trip, we only reviewed the few places we really liked.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is a fairly new b & b with two guest rooms both with en suite shower rooms. Our room (la bicyclette bleue) was lovely with a comfortable bed. Everything is spotless and Gigi and Roland were charming and helpful hosts. The table d'hote was also excellent.
There is a lovely garden and it was very peaceful.
This is an ideal place for a stopover as it is easily reached from the A31 (exit Nuits St Georges).
The prices were reasonable and it was very good value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quentin7410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gaetan581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les 2 chambres du rez de chaussée ont un coin cuisine et un salon àvec tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lavivi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Cistelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Cistelles

Address: 7 rue de la Fontaine, 21700 Saint-Nicolas-les-Citeaux, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Saint-Nicolas-les-Citeaux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Nicolas-les-Citeaux
Price Range: $83 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Burgundy, halfway the wine coast and halfway the famous abbey of Cîteaux, Geneviève welcomes you in her house, former sheepfold, restored tastefully. You can restin a frame of flowers and greenery where our room " The blue bicycle " will transport you in the famous novel of Régine Deforges. Our second room" The Butterflies " evoke freedom and lightness. Spacious, comfortable and air-conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Les Cistelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cistelles Saint-Nicolas-Les-Citeaux, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing