We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside Chic”
Review of Cape View Clifton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape View Clifton
Ranked #1 of 2 Clifton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Seaside Chic”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the Cape View Clifton in February 2014 - I grew up in SA and have visited Cape Town many times; my wife and 10 year old son were joining me for the first time. The best way I can describe this small hotel is that if you truly love travelling, occasionally you will stay at a place that captures your heart and that you think of when you are back in the grind of whatever you do when you are not travelling. CVC is one of these special places. I think the reason that this inn succeeds so spectacularly is that it is not trying to do hundreds of different things adequately. Rather, CVC focuses on a few key things - incredible view, great breakfast, lovely rooms, warm service - and makes them memorable. We would all return in a heartbeat. Thanks to Mitch, Celeste, Jean-Claude, Grant and everyone else on the team for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ntsoelengoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess L, Owner at Cape View Clifton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the times to write this wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and it is wonderful to hear that you got the essence of what is essential to us at Cape View Clifton

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes
Jess Latimer and the Cape View Clifton Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    8
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
106
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our recent stay at Cape View Clifton was perfect in every way. Service was of a very high level without being intrusive. The room and location perfect. Breakfast was great. Our new home in CapeTown. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess L, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Michael,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for choosing us as your Cape Town home. We look forward to welcoming you back 'home' soon.
Kind regards,
Mitch Terry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Before all, a big thanks to Mitch and his team for the excellent service totally in line with the breathtaking view. A 'bravo' for chef Q-Latifah for the morning breakfast surprises and the lovely smile that comes with it ! To the people out there, just book and discover a magnificent view of Clifton/Campsbay, enjoy the sunrise and sunset and groove on the rhythm of the sea, enjoy! Regards, Ben

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess L, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Ben,
Thank you for your fantastic review. Only one problem, Celeste insists on being called Queen Latifah now! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Mitch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

A place to give you a good memory . Breakfast is great , the swinning pool view is great and quietness of your room with a espectacular view. location is great and the workers friendly and efficient. helpfull with your request for tickets and good tips for restaurants.You got a feeling of being at home during your stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess L, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Jose,
Thank you for your review and kind words. So pleased to hear that you think of us as a home. Our absolute goal.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Cape View Clifton in the future.
Kind regards,
Mitch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The best place to stay in Cape Town. The owner is always available: proximity, kindness, wonderful taste. A cosy place where you feel being at home. The breakfast is breathtaking, all the employees are sweet! Rush and go there as soon as possible

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess L, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Emma,
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We pride ourselves on staff friendliness and so pleased to hear that you noted it.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Mitch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro, Rj
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a marvelous place to stay in Cape Town. The view is stunning and the relaxed chic atmosphere of the place makes you feel at home. The staff is excellent and helped to make the best of our experience. Unforgettable place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gstar_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess L, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased that you chose us to be a part of your special time together. Hopefully we will see you every year for the anniversary.
Kind regards,
Mitch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was our second stay in the CVC - we stayed for a week! We had App. 1A which is the top floor appartment (see my night photo so you can appreciate the view) very good breakkfast with top service - i love the poached eggs from the breakfast-ladies :-).
The view of Clifton beaches is simply fantastic -you simply can't get enough of it!!!

Room Tip: Go for room 1A (but not when we are there !!!! ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nombulele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess L, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review and submit your breathtaking photo. We will be sure to allocate Deluxe Suite 1A to you every time you come and visit.
Kind regards,
Mitch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
1.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
1.9 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape View Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape View Clifton

Property: Cape View Clifton
Address: 232 Kloof Road, Clifton, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape View Clifton is a centrally located luxury guesthouse. It boasts uninterrupted panoramic views of Clifton, Camps Bay and the Twelve Apostles. Recently refurbished, each suite is designed to provide privacy and the utmost comfort, optimizing the view and creating an intimate space to be enjoyed by guests. Cape View Clifton offers guests traveling in small groups or with family, two and three bedroom suites. These are created and decorated for a laid back and relaxed stay. All suites have private outdoor balconies overlooking the breathtaking coastline for guests to enjoy, with all the comforts of home in mind. The central pool deck provides a perfect spot for guests to relax, enjoy the Cape summer or a glass of wine and the spectacular sunsets. The tourist attractions of Cape Town are a short drive away and further afield are the renowned Cape Winelands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cape View Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape View Clifton South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing