We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly!”
Review of Cape View Clifton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape View Clifton
Ranked #1 of 2 Clifton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Heavenly!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My friends and I had the most wonderful two nights at Cape View. The website is beautiful and created such high expectations and all I can say is that it does not even begin to do the place justice. The views are out of this world, every room is immaculate and designed to perfection. Even the smallest details have been thought out to make guests feel comfortable and pampered. Each and every staff member was so friendly and eager to help at every moment and to top it all off the breakfast buffet and hot special was absolutely divine. The only fault to the entire weekend was that it did not last long enough. Well done Cape View Clifton! Superb!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeViewClifton, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sian,
Thank you for taking the time to review Cape View Clifton. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you next year for your birthday weekend again.
Kind regards,
Mitch Terry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    8
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
106
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Friends had been earlier in the year in SA summer and loved it. The website is beautiful too so my expectations were very high. Reality of my stay was even better - location, ambience, room design, decor throughout, staff, breakfasts - all absolutely superb. Allow time to be at the hotel - don't rush out -it is so beautiful, tranquil and the staff so unobtrusive yet so attentive, you must allow time to savour it. The attention to detail is fabulous. The restaurant recommendations were spot on. Perfection!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeViewClifton, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Brita,

Thank you for your taking the time to write your review. We feel 'word of mouth' is the most powerful marketing tool and I am so pleased that we lived up to your high expectations. Keep spreading the word and we hope to see you visiting us again soon.

Kind regards,

Mitch Terry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I had the distinct pleasure of spending three nights at the Cape View in early July. The property is immaculate, quiet, intimate, and far from hotel-like. Quality touches abound including a turndown surprise that we still laugh about. Mitch and his staff were professional, friendly, discrete, and very, very helpful. We wanted to take the "breakfast ladies" home with us. Restaurant recommendations were spot on as were shopping suggestions. The pictures don't do the CV justice, especially the views of Camps Bay, the Twelve Apostles, and incredible sunsets over the Atlantic. Other than the animals in Kruger NP, the CV was the highlight of our trip to SA. You can pay a lot more for a place in Cape Town, but you won't find a more pleasurable one than the Cape View.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeViewClifton, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Glen and Sharon,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. Your description of Cape View Clifton is exactly what we are trying to acheive.

Looking forward to hosting you again sometime soon.

Kind regards,

Mitch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have just spent ten days staying at Cape View in Clifton, Cape Town. We came to watch our son play rugby and our tour company recommended Cape View. Think of any superlative and it will apply to this wonderful, beautiful, place. The views over Clifton beaches, Camp Bay and the Twelve Apostles are stunning. The decor is white and fresh with sumptuous bed linen and cushions but with touches of warm African design that make the atmosphere homely and welcoming. The bed was deliciously comfortable, the towels soft and fluffy and as the weather was chilly at night we even got hot water bottles at turn down. Jess, the owner is young and eager to please. She spent six years training in London and is a talented business woman and interior designer. Mitch, the manager acted as our personal advisor on what to do and where to visit. He also organised a wonderful mystery tour of restaurants each night and booked numerous taxis during our stay. Breakfast was a feast of fresh juices or smoothies, muesli concoctions, deliciously fresh fruit and every possible combination of cooked delights. All the food was cooked to perfection by our lovely breakfast ladies who also made us packed lunches when we needed them. Although Cape View doesn't provide formal lunches or dinners a chef can be arranged if required. However, we only had one night when we didn't eat out and we ordered an excellent takeaway to be delivered. We felt very safe at Cape View as the security staff were on duty day and night. Parking was convenient directly opposite the property. The staff were the friendliest and most consistently helpful that we've ever encountered and the cleanliness of the whole accommodation has to be seen to be believed. We were so sorry to leave a group of people who we feel have become friends and what was one of the best locations we have ever stayed. We were tempted not to write a review and to keep this place to ourselves but that wouldn't be fair to Jess, Mitch and all the fantastic staff. We just hope there will be space for us to come back in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 which was huge with a large terrace looking over the ocean. But we were given a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OtelInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeViewClifton, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review.

So glad to hear that you enjoyed all that Cape View Clifton and Cape Town has to offer. We look forward to having you back some day soon.

Kind regards,

Mitch Terry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We are on the third day of a long and privileged stay at Cape View Clifton. Room 5 is exceptional with views that you would never tire from. Each staff member has a unique personality that when combined serves to exceed our every expectation. We will write again as our stay unfolds. Thank you, Warren, Delleni and Ocean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeViewClifton, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Warren,

Thank you for your fantastic review.

It is an absolute pleasure hosting your family. You will soon become honorary members of the Cape View Clifton team.

Chat soon,

Mitch Terry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Thank you to all at Cape View Clifton for a most Wonderful although far too short stay! We loved every moment of our night at the Very beautiful, comfortable and oh so elegant Cape View where your every need is anticipated and met with efficiency and a smile....A place where one feels so relaxed and at ease...like being at Home...This is definitely going to become our new "Home away from home" Thank you all at Cape View for making it so!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Clifford B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeViewClifton, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Clifford,
It was an absolute pleasure to host yourself and Ronlynne during your stay with us. We look forward to being the Cape Town home for the Benn family.
See you soon,
Mitch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My son and I stayed at Cape View Clifton for 4 nights. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was perfect - close to the beaches, town and the waterfront. The view was absolutly breathtaking. We had a delicious beautifully presented breakfast each morning.Cape View is tastefully and comfortable decorated. We will definitely be back as we loved the entire experience. Well done and many thanks for an awesome stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeViewClifton, General Manager at Cape View Clifton, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Diana,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Glad to hear that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Mitch Terry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
642 reviews
1.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
310 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
1.9 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape View Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape View Clifton

Property: Cape View Clifton
Address: 232 Kloof Road, Clifton, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape View Clifton is a centrally located luxury guesthouse. It boasts uninterrupted panoramic views of Clifton, Camps Bay and the Twelve Apostles. Recently refurbished, each suite is designed to provide privacy and the utmost comfort, optimizing the view and creating an intimate space to be enjoyed by guests. Cape View Clifton offers guests traveling in small groups or with family, two and three bedroom suites. These are created and decorated for a laid back and relaxed stay. All suites have private outdoor balconies overlooking the breathtaking coastline for guests to enjoy, with all the comforts of home in mind. The central pool deck provides a perfect spot for guests to relax, enjoy the Cape summer or a glass of wine and the spectacular sunsets. The tourist attractions of Cape Town are a short drive away and further afield are the renowned Cape Winelands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cape View Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape View Clifton South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing