We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Saukaserstub'n

Saukaserstub'n
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Jochberg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

After getting over the shock of a 72 euro taxi bill one way from just down the valley, we were looking forward to a fantastic traditional Austrian evening. Lovely welcome, a fine choice of wine and even better specials and food selection, all good so far. After ordering the deer/venison, things started to go downhill. One hour later, no bread, then specials ran out, so no deer, food arrived some was obviously warmed up cooked twice, a definite disaster which left us all feeling deflated and heading for the door. We missed the deserts, coffee etc, all in all very poor. Not sure what went wrong, too many people to serve? Kitchen too small? Very sad as this was a top recommendation.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ALAN_BBBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    24
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average & disappointing”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A friendly welcome soon evaporated as we waited over an hour after ordering to be told that they had run out of some of our choices. As time went on and no food materialised, the waiting staff became invisible. Was the food worth the wait? No. I'd be hard pressed to recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ibc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“mixed”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

mushroom soup tasted excellent, Zwiebelrostbraten was a bit tough and afterwards had digestion problems

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank curtis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very god”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

It's a little cosy restaurant in Jochberg. Everything we ate was delicious. Staff were very helpful. The vine was perfect. Next year we will certainly visit this place again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank israpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
853 reviews
544 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
“Good food, beautiful restaurant and always friendly”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visit Saukaser whenever we are in the area, it is one of the prettiest, cosiest little restaurants we have found, traditional alpine in style with a series of sweet characterful rooms. The welcome is always warm from the lovely owner Gerti who works ridiculously hard as front of house and service is good despite invariably being packed out. The charismatic staff are always happy to translate and without fail speak excellent english. Gerti's partner is the main chef and this owner/manager set-up ensures high standards throughout. Food is top quality, very hearty Austrian fare. They are particularly good at soups and schnitzels. One slight criticism is that the menu and indeed the specials, could do to be changed more often to offer greater variety to regulars. Saukaser attracts a very elegant crowd. However prices are very fair given the quality of cuisine, service and setting. Don't miss this place if you're in the area!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saukaserstub'n also viewed

 
Jochberg, Tirol
Jochberg, Tirol
 

Been to Saukaserstub'n? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing