We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol
Nearby Hotels
Lifesporthotel Hechenmoos(Kitzbuhel)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aurach Hotel(Kitzbuhel)(Great Value!)
$93
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pension HEIKE(Aurach bei Kitzbuehel)
Booking.com
View Deal
Pension Auwirt(Kitzbuhel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Grand Tirolia(Kitzbuhel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveler rating
351
101
45
18
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
101
45
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubturn down serviceski shopmain restaurantski schoolbeautiful hotelmountain viewduring summerspa zoneski roomstea and coffee making facilitiesbreakfast serviceegg stationmountain styleski rentzell am seerestaurants within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 522 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

one of the best hotel where i have ever stayed.
big room, taste breakfast and dinner
very comfortable spa with 3 pools
staff are very helpful
drinks during dinner for extra money but it is a business, not turkish all inclusive
ski lift (little) situated 100m from the hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Кирилл Ч
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I love this place. Beautiful rooms with a large balcony with view to the mountains. We stayed in Kempinski Tirol during summer season. The surroundings are beautiful, you can have an active holiday and enjoy the Austrian nature. The spa area is really amazing! It is a great pleasure to stay in this hotel. The hotelrooms are delicious to stay in, with a huge glass bathroom (bath, a separate shower and enough space).

Breakfast is very good with enough choice and a friendly staff. The dinner in the evening was disappointing. The food was not that tasty. I had Italian pasta and to my opinion it was overcooked and to expensive for the quality. I told the waiter that it wasn't good and he came up with a good solution. Although I would recommend to have dinner in another restaurant.
Breakfast is perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view at the backside of the hotel (so that you don't look at the road and don't have noice from the road).
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaInDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingDasTirol, Director of Sales & Marketing at Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Ms „AnnaTheHague13“,

first of all we want to thank you very much for your positive feedback. We appreciate your time and advice.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you liked our rooms and facilities surrounded by the beautiful nature of the Kitzbühel Alps.
We also appreciate your honest comments concerning the dinner and are glad we could help you solve the inconveniences.

I am more than happy to forward your comments to the responsible departments.

We look forward to welcome you soon again!

Greetings from the snowy Kitzbuhel Alps!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have never made it a secret that luxury for me is not caviare, champagne or Rolls Royce. Luxury is time, space and dedication. All this can be found at Das (The) Tirol.
You might find this hard to believe, but I am not a chartered hotel-review-writer. My wife and our daughter have just spent one week at the 900metre altitude located resort in the alpine mountains of Tirol in Austria.
After the hotel group Kempinski has taken over, the new team is full of ideas and friendly spirit. This shows all over the house.
Arrival: Late at night arrival - still greeted by a doorman, who took care of car, luggage and everything immediately.
A lobby split on two levels with open fire places, free afternoon aprés-ski goodies (tea, hot soup, etc.), a pastry shop, a ski-school counter, a jeweller's shop, a ski shop and some fashion outlets.
Rooms: Large family suite with two bedrooms and one sitting room (room 438, highly recommended, as it is next to the lift to the Sap and all the rest). Fantastic beds, to start with the most important thing.
Over all: Silence. Elegance. Alpine elements are met by stunning interiors.
Food: in general too much. Breakfast until noon (!), main restaurant with dinner buffet, a pan-Asian excursion at the restaurant Sra Bua (what ever that means).
Spa: large spa facilities with four differently temperature saunas, steam bath, in- and outdoor pool, salt-water pool, - all very quiet even wit ha lot of guests at the hotel.
Sport: bonus is the free ski lift in front of the house - either sufficient for beginners or it takes you into the ski world of Jochberg and Kitzbuhel (some hundreds of kilometres of slopes, don't ask me for details).
Staff: upon approaching they look at your eyes and greet friendly. Efficient and always eager to please.
Surprise: that a hotel of this size (it is large) can be cosy.
Negative surprise: garage charge (nobody does expect it, but everybody would be pleased to have the car cleaned).
Summary: one is almost lead to believe that Kempinski are hoteliers since 1897.

Room Tip: Room 438, highly recommended, as it is next to the lift to the Sap and all the rest. Facing South its terrace is perfect for sunny days.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank derreisende28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingDasTirol, Director of Sales & Marketing at Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Mr „derreisende28“,

first of all we want to thank you very much for your positive feedback. We appreciate your time and advice.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you liked our rooms and facilities as well as our staff.

I am more than happy to forward your comments to the responsible departments.

We look forward to welcome you soon again!

Greetings from the snowy Kitzbuhel Alps!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

As being guests at the same hotel but differently named, we were unpleasantly surprised. We expected more and much more from Kempinski taking over the property (since we are regular guests of other Kempinski hotels round the world.
The hotel lost the home feeling- such small details as the Tirol hotels have- as tea time in the afternon for example....

As for the food: we booked a halfboard as normally for a ski holidays. The food is ok, but I would not dare to say it is more than that. Would expect more.

As for dining in the Asian Restaurant. The strangest thing I ever encountered : as we arrived we have been told that we can book a table at Sra Bua at an extra cost of 30 EURO per person.

At the end of much better dinner than at the main restaurant we have discovered that we were given an extra discount of 30 EURO per person. Funny, since the cost of Halfboard is charged 40 EURO (as described at Booking.com) or 45 EURO as described at hotel web site.
Also the degustation menue in main restaurant was priced at EURO 65 and at Sra Bua 85 for the guest which come outside the hotel (so we have been told)
I really wonder where the difference went?????

Moreover the wellness spa is one of the nicest in the area still. But the strangest thing happened. The hotel has a salt sauna and an outdoor salt water pool which designed to be used for the sauna guests. But during our recent visit, they decided to put the swimming pool outside the wellnes area- with putting the signs on the doors leading to the poot declaring the pool to be "outside the textile free zone". Which means: if you want to go from salt sauna to the salt water swimming pool- do not forget to go back to your room for the swimming suits and than go to the pool.
Funny, right?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo_Pet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingDasTirol, Director of Sales & Marketing at Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Mr “Bostjan P.”,

First of all thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your time and advice!

We take your comments seriously and we will forward your comments to the respective departments.

The salt water pool does not belong to the garment free area due to privacy reasons of the guests. We appreciate your understanding.

Concerning the dinner in our Restaurant“Sra Bua”.We offer the so called” dine-around-option”, where you get 30 € discount on the food if the guest has booked half board.We hope this solves your confusion about the price difference.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon and hope to convince you about our services on your next stay.

With the best wishes from the Alps!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This is a real 5star hotel, with elegant and luxury enteriur. The room is spacious with modern furniture. The wellness is great, especially the outdoor "saltbad", from where is amazing the snowfalling...
The service is very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grisham73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingDasTirol, Director of Sales & Marketing at Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Mr “Grisham 73”,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We appreciate your time and opinion.
We are glad that you like our hotel and especially our spa. I am happy to forward your comments to the respective departments.

We would be pleased to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

With kind regards from the Kitzbühel Alps!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews