We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean Accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parys
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender Hills Guest Farm
Ranked #5 of 32 Parys B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A bunch of mates went away for a weekend that included river rafting on the Vaal river. OUr aim was to "be boys" and forget the city for a weekend. We must have been there during a quiet season since it was not too busy and we basically had much of the place to ourselves. The best part was having the Boathouse which has 5 bedrooms and an INDUSTRIAL kitchen. All rooms had aircon and were very clean. The entertainment areas (there are 2) are well kept with plenty of seating and tables. Sharon was fanatstic at the reception and very warm and accommodating. She showed us around the place and made sure we were happy before she left us. She had also given us names of Adventure operators in the area and her recommendation which proved very useful - the company we went with was very professional and represented great value for money.
There is not much to do at Lavender Hills itself (except maybe the swimming pool) but it is quite central and easy to get around to the various attractions around Parys.
A cleanig service was extra (about R100) and did seem to take a while to clean up the very large chalet since she was only one person, but did a good job. The gardens are excellently kept with pristine lawns and flower beds. Was a great overall experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GavinP_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

The "guest farm" is located a few km outside the business centre of Parys and you get to drive across the Vaal River to get there from Parys. It is not an actual farm, rather guest accommodation on a large plot of land.

There were many units and rooms, which meant that there were many people staying there. Our neighbours came home quite late and were extremely noisy.

Our room was clean, pretty, but small with a fridge and kettle but no other self-catering capabilities. The bathroom only had a shower. The bedroom had a double bed. There was a TV, with local channels.

The staff were helpful and recommended several restaurants in Parys as well as suggestions for the rest of our touring holiday.

There was a small swimming pool and two dams for small bird watching.

A little pricey for what we got.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

After reading rave reviews about the place I decided it was the perfect place to go for some rest and relaxation. The lady who took my booking on the phone was a bit icy but I went ahead and booked a room anyway. When I got there to check in the reception I received was equally icy. I asked about things to see and do in town but the reception lady was not helpful at all and just handed me the key and said no more. The room was clean and very pretty. The TV only had only the pathetic local channels. So I went to bed early but couldn't sleep because the dog on the property barked incessantly most of the night. My breakfast pack was equally disappointing. All in all I was happy to leave the next morning for the rest of my holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bittenbythebugza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eisgeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parys hotels
0 mi away
Mistique Waters Guest House
0 mi away
Rus & Vrede on Vaal
Rus & Vrede on Vaal
#1 of 32 in Parys
81 reviews
0 mi away
Art Lovers Guesthouse
Art Lovers Guesthouse
#2 of 32 in Parys
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Pont de Val Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Casa Cara Guest House
Casa Cara Guest House
#6 of 32 in Parys
14 reviews
0 mi away
In town Guest lodge
In town Guest lodge
#16 of 27 in Parys
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Hills Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Hills Guest Farm

Address: 23 Riastuine, Parys 9585, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Parys
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Parys
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self-catering accommodation and B&B in Parys close to the Vaal River ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing