We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wild” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savannah Game & River Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parys
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Savannah Game & River Retreat
Ranked #13 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Parys
welkom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wild”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Wow,what a wonderfull experience.Waking up by the sound of the birds!!!For the first time in my life I was in the wild!!!!!I felt free,relaxed and happy!!Quiet,rejuveniting.And the staff and food simple amazing.I will sure go back!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The tents is a MUST!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Andre and his team go out of their way to keep their guests happy. Tents need a refurb but boma and other outdoor facilities are recently upgraded. Close to jo'burg so great for a weekend away from the city.

Room Tip: Don't go for the rondavels, tents are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kws26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

This relaxing, no frills lodge is a good place to unwind. Staff are friendly and helpful. The tents are basic but have a certain charm. The game drive was great, with all the animals mentioned, especially fun on quad bikes. There is lots of room for improvement but I am sure Andre and his staff will get there.

Room Tip: tents better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Down side , small construction going on ( no noise) but the wunderfull service from Andre and his staff, was more then amazing.
Great place , game drive with all its animals , amzing!

The personal service is a must to come back…….

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeesW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parys
18.8 mi away
The Shakespeare Inn
The Shakespeare Inn
#5 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Waterfront Country Lodge
The Waterfront Country Lodge
#3 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
20.1 mi away
Emerald Resort & Casino
Emerald Resort & Casino
#1 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Rus & Vrede on Vaal
Rus & Vrede on Vaal
#1 of 28 in Parys
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dome Inn Lodge
Dome Inn Lodge
#21 of 28 in Parys
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
9.0 mi away
In town Guest lodge
In town Guest lodge
#15 of 25 in Parys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Game & River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Game & River Retreat

Property: Savannah Game & River Retreat
Address: Woolridge 65, Parys 9585, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Parys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Parys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new and improved home of Savannah Game & River Retreat A secluded African bush retreat where tranquillity and relaxation awaits you... This is where the sunsets explode in brilliant colour of Orange and Red against the mountains of the Vredefort Dome, which is a world heritage site. We are situated in the Free State just outside Parys, nestled in the Vredefort Dome bordering 8km of Vaal River frontage. Therefore we own some of the most beautiful and breathtaking sites and sunsets! We have the pleasure to share 2500 acres with 25 different mammal species. These include Buffalo, Giraffe, Sable, Zebra, Kudu and many more... The list is endless. So you can come and join us for a scenic game drive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing