We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great little break away, suitable for friends...”
other travelers have booked this property
The cottage has been furnished with quirky flair
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage has been furnished with quirky flair
The cottage has been decorated with love and lots of flair. Bedrooms are quirky and cozy, with good linen and hotel quality beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The cottage has been furnished with quirky flair
The cottage has been decorated with love and lots of flair.
Bedrooms are quirky and cozy, with good linen and hotel quality beds
“Stoepsit” is a sport on the platteland. And Kondensmelk’s stoep is a winner!
A real “platteland” garden with a farm dam, fruit trees and sweetpeas in spring
Eeverybody loves our “Damcuzzi” in summer.
Our “damcuzzi” is one of a kind. A small farm dam with inbuilt seating. Perfect for cooling off
Gorgeous little country kitchen, complete with gas stove and brick floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Parys, Free State

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BrentB90
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A great little break away, suitable for friends and family”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Parys is a short drive from Johannesburg, so this is a convenient visit.

The home is self catering, but there is a more than adequate supply of things that you need (to cook, for instance). We bought a lot in Johannesburg which we took along, but there are more than enough shops in town to get groceries and so forth. We visited over the Easter long weekend. Bear this in mind because there are some shops that either close early or don't open at all. We were a little disappointed that a lot of the restaurants closed early on, for instance, Sunday afternoon as though it were an ordinary weekend, ignoring that there were visitors from out of town who would only leave on Monday, and who may wish to enjoy an early supper.

The home was comfortable though. There are three bedrooms, each with a double bed, and two bathrooms. In 2 of the rooms, there is a daybed, so a group of friends can quite comfortably be accommodated.

The "damcuzzi" swimming pool will be great on warm summer's day, but it was already too cold to be used in April. The property is big enough to feel spacious.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider returning again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolfdewit...
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
“Perfect Relaxed Getaway”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Kondensmelk is perfectly located, nearby shops and Galleries, and most amazing Restaurants ! Near to Beer Craft facility, but far enough to experience a relaxing farmlike atmosphere. Equipped with everythiing you need, as well as the best beds and bedding. Will make you feel at home with arrival already ! Kondensmelk is the perfect place to stay with enough space for the whole family, ideally for any occasion getaway. Can't wait for our next visit !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2017
Ah, Dolf, thank you for taking the time to review us. You were the ideal guests and we can’t wait to have to back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suritad20...
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“House with a "Cottage" Feel”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Thanks for an amazing stay at Kondensmelk, fully equipped and tastefully furnished. Farmstyle feel with best of modern and antique combinations. High quality bedding and doors leading to the stoep around the house. Loved the Lemontree and the birds making farmlike sounds from early in the morning. We will definitely return after a good and peaceful weekend at this lovely House

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2017
Thanks so much, Surita, for your lovely feedback. We’d love for you to come back to Kondensmelk...often!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenlbez
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
“Tired of city life?”
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Tired of city life? Then Kondensmelk is what you need. Come home to a beautiful, pet friendly, serviced three bedroom "home" with modern appliances, huge garden, dam to relax in; huge stoep to sit on and enjoy a braai or sundowner and just chill! Big enough to entertain in or to bring family and friends along.

I have been back and intend going back again as it is really a very relaxing "home" close to amenities with a tranquil atmosphere where you can't let your hair down!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review, Chris and Brenda. You guys feel like family by now, and we always look forward to welcoming the Bezuidenhouts from KZN! Best guests ever...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmarieVe...
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Love at first sight!”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We fell in love with Kondensmelk's red front door, and after opening it found so much more we liked. White-washed timber floors, a ceiling fan to keep us cool on a very hot day in the Free State …and of course the famous little farm dam with built in seats. (I can recommend this for chilling with a glass of wine). The stoep was made for stoep sitting. What a pity we had to work. Next time, we’re booking this house for leisure only.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TertiusM
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Quirky cottage in Charming Parys”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I loved my short stay at Kondensmelk. I had everything I needed - a comfortable bed with good linen, a hot shower and full bouquet DStv. I didn’t have time to cook in the kitchen, but it seemed very well equipped, with a large gas stove and even an espresso maker. And that early morning dip in the plaasdam was simply lekker.
I’ll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SdP50
Potchefstroom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I miss that wonderful place...”
Reviewed March 9, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Should have done this in December, but I was also in the process of moving overseas and therefore didn’t….. but as I am sitting in an overcrowded city with more than 10 million people, I am missing South Africa and the wonderful days I spent at Kondensmelk before I left the country. What an unbelievable place! Like spending time on a proper farm with a dam and a big yard with fruit trees galore!
The house is so beautifully decorated and the clean and luxurious linen on the bed was to die for! I spend hours in the bath with a glass of wine, just to move myself to the cute “dam” to enjoy the sunlight.
You have done a wonderful job there! I will definitely recommend Kondensmelk as the place to stay when visiting Parys. You have thought of everything!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2017
Sandra, we’d love to have you back some day soon! Keep entertaining these good memories, and we’ll make sure your next visit tops the first one : )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing