We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Bella Vita in Tuscany”
Review of Palazzo Malaspina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Malaspina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here for four magical nights in the pink room. The view from the balcony is everything one dreams of when you imagine being in Tuscany. When we arrived the Wifi was not connecting. Upon telling Maria she immediately contacted someone who arrived and fixed it pronto and also allowed us to use her personal computer to complete a transaction. Maria and Mary, who works there, could not have been more accommodating and charming. And the breakfasts....mouth watering and delicious. Maria could open her own bakery! We have nothing but great things to say about staying here. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robintravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoMalaspina, Proprietario at Palazzo Malaspina, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Robin,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Palazzo Malaspina.
I'm so glad for your lines about me, my B&B and the village of San Donato in Poggio.
I try to do all my best to guarantee a grateful experience to my guests!
Next time I will reserve for you the room with the Jacuzzi tub!

Best Regards,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 560 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed with Maria at the Palazzo Malaspina for 4 nights. We got there late the first night due to getting delayed in Rome. It was late and Maria still accomodated us even though we were well past the check in time. We had one of the rooms with the terrace. Got there after dark and in the morning opened the doors to the terrace to see Tuscany in all its splender. Mary, the girl that works there with Maria ( the owner ) took excellent care of us, making breakfasts to order and helping with suggestions for the days ahead in our travels through Tuscany. The building is spectacular, just like in the pictures, there were no hidden (bad) surprises. The town is small, but hey, your only sleeping there, Tuscany is at your finger tips. there are a few restaurants, a bank (you will need the ATM) a grocery store, and maybe a few others. Parking is near by, but with just a slight walk back to the Palazzo. The price can't be beat for all you get. If i were to go to Tuscany again I would stay there again for sure. But next time, I would get the room with the Jaccuzi, after walking thru the towns, up the hills, down the hills, up the steps and down the steps, a nice soak would feel sooooooooooo good at night. Ciao.

Room Tip: If you want the view get a room with the terrace..if you want to heal after a long day of site seein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoMalaspina, Proprietario at Palazzo Malaspina, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Joe and Jaci,

Thank you for writing your experience at Palazzo Malaspina!
Next time in Tuscany I will reserve a special room with a Jacuzzi Tub for relaxing after your excurions in Chianti!

Best Regards,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Palazzo Malispina was wonderful! My friend and I wanted to stay someplace in the Chianti region and San Donato was perfect--right between Florence and Siena. Maria and Mary were marvelous--very helpful with planning our days. The Palazzo was beautiful. And the breakfasts were the best of our trip, especially Maria's cakes and the scrambled eggs. We would definitely stay there again! Bellisima!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjkahn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoMalaspina, Proprietario at Palazzo Malaspina, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Valery,

Oh wow! Thank you for writing these lovely lines about your experience at Palazzo Malaspina!
I really appreciate your opinion and I'm so glad of your satisfaction about your stay.

I hope to see again next time in Tuscany, there are a lot of sweet things you have yet to try for breakfast! ;)

Thank you again,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

There are many positive things to say about this B&B, but overall we were disappointed. First the good things - the town is lovely and very convenient to the highway, as well as small towns in the area. Breakfast is very good and service is wonderful. Room are clean and well maintained. The disappointing - We stayed in Room # 5 which was large and private, but was very, very dark and did not have views of the countryside (but overlooked the town). If you want privacy, this is the room for you. But if you want sunlight and a view, it is not. Maria, the owner/operator is a very nice woman but not available. She checked us in and promptly disappeared. If she is in the inn at breakfast, she is very helpful and will assist with reservations, etc. However, if she is not, then there is no way to contact her during the day (at least she did not offer any options and it was our impression that she did not want to be disturbed). In our 5 days, she was at breakfast for 3 of the days. If we go back to Tuscany we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honesttrav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoMalaspina, Proprietario at Palazzo Malaspina, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your opinion about your stay at Palazzo Malaspina.
I apologize for your disappointing about the Room, but you stayed in an antique furnished ambience with original furniture belonged to my Father's cousin with a typical overlook on the medieval village of San Donato. Most of my guests are excited to live a similar experience!

I apologize again if you felt not assisted during your stay. As you told, during the breakfast I usually assist my guests in planning their daily activities, but sometimes there is Mary, my delicious assistant, that cover my possible absences and speaks and understand english very well.

I manage my B&B only by myself, so can happen that I'm busy becouse of thousand of things to do, but most of them are only to guarantee the best experience to my Guests, like preparing cakes for breakfast, doing the shopping to local farms or markets and other daily duties. Although, I'm always available for any requirement because I live there, in the same Palazzo!

Thank you again and I hope to welcome back at Palazzo Malaspina!

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My stay at Palazzo Malaspina was the highlight of my recent trip to Italy. All those beautiful images of Tuscany you see in books or on line, are right there at your doorstep, in this lovely little hilltop village. The village itself is surrounded by an ancient wall and Pallazo Malaspina is located right in the centre of the village, a very handsome stone building located on a cobblestoned street. Inside you are warmly greeted by Maria and Mary and you immediately feel as though you have come to stay with friends in their Tuscan home. The bedrooms are very comfortable, with a view over the rest of the village and towards the Tuscan landscape. Bathrooms are lovely with large fluffy white towels and a really good hair dryer. I looked forward to breakfast every morning which included several home made and locally grown products, great coffee and the option of eggs and bacon. The welcome bottle of local red wine was a nice touch and much appreciated. Maria was very helpful with local knowledge, places to visit and even where to park the car on a day trip to Firenze. A really nice surprise about the location - even though it is a delightfully small and traditional Tuscan village, is, it certainly is not lacking in facilities. There are several dining options within the village and the restaurant next door was just excellent. There is an ATM and a store where you can purchase basic grocery items, cheese, bread and drinks. Its only a 5 minute drive to the freeway that connects Firenze and Sienna, and there are plenty of country roads to explore the surrounding countryside. AND the wifi signal is nice and strong! I would not hesitate to recommend Palazzo Malaspina to fellow travellers, I sincerely hope that I have the privilege of returning one day.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms to choose from, they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karyn_ccc1756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a great home base when visiting Tuscany. This B & B is top-notch. The owner, Maria, was a wonderful hostess who helped us with winery and restaurant options. Malaspina is located in the heart of Tuscany, convenient to Siena and Florence. The breakfasts were amazing and the Cappuccino was the best. Maria's assistant, Mary, was wonderful, and made some of the best scrambled eggs I have ever eaten.

Room Tip: Aske for room 1 or 2 which has a fabulous view of the hills and vineyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCM579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Four of us stayed 6 nights, from April 5-11, 2014. It is a Renaissance Palazzo updated for modern comfort, yet maintains its old charms. Maria is the owner and Mary assists her with breakfast and tending to the guests. The breakfasts advertised on the website are delicious, with fresh fruit, meats, cheese, and pastries baked by Maria daily. Also Mary will cook eggs to order and she makes the best cappuchino in Italy, and you can have as much as you want! The Palazzo is in San Donato, a tiny medieval town with good restaurants and ATMs close by. It is centrally located in the Chianti region, so is perfect for a stay in Tuscany. The rates are very reasonable, and parking is free, although don't bring a big car! By the time we left, we felt like family.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 share a small balcony with great views of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Donato in Poggio
4 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
501 reviews
0 mi away
Le Terrazze del Chianti Bed & Breakfast
Le Terrazze del Chianti Bed & Br...
#2 of 5 in San Donato in Poggio
135 reviews
18.6 mi away
Casa Di Campagna in Toscana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 67 in San Gimignano
378 reviews
20.2 mi away
Tenuta la Santissima
Tenuta la Santissima
#1 of 2 in San Rocco a Pilli
281 reviews
10.7 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#3 of 67 in San Gimignano
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Malaspina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Malaspina

Address: Via del Giglio 35, 50028 San Donato in Poggio, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa > San Donato in Poggio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in San Donato in Poggio
Price Range: $94 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Elegant B&B between Siena and Florence for the best holiday experience in the heart of Chianti."The family who owns Malaspina opens their doors to guests with gracious hospitality. We really enjoyed out stay here! Maria and her husband were the perfect hosts and the breakfast was wonderful!" (One of our guests from USA) So, a great location for enjoying Toscana! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Malaspina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Malaspina Hotel San Donato In Poggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing