We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable B&B in a typical Tuscan location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palazzo Malaspina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Malaspina
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable B&B in a typical Tuscan location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Palazzo Malaspina in San Danota. We enjoyed the location, travel advise provided daily by Maria and breakfasts. Contrary to a previous review, this is an ideal base to visit Tuscany. Situated equidistant between Florence and Siena, we enjoyed both cities and many of the small villages between the two. One could not be better situated for a week in Tuscany. On our daily visits, Maria provided valuable information to make our day trips easy and enjoyable, particularly as it pertains to parking. Breakfasts were plentiful with lots of variety with coffee and eggs to order. The comfort and cleanliness of Palazzo Malaspina and the local village restaurants provided a convenient and pleasant end of day respite from the travel. We always looked forward to coming back to the solitude and beauty of San Donato. We strongly recommend to anyone visiting Tuscany for a day or a week. It clearly deserves excellent rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    48
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
350
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for six nights. The room was beautiful, the bathroom was one of the most modern we encountered during our two weeks in Italy. The B and B was very centrally located, not far from Florence, and in driving distance from most Tuscan towns. I would however highly recommend having a car during your stay. Although the parking in the town can be a bit tight, it is impossible to go anywhere without one. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, Both Maria and Mary,make delicious pastries and jams everyday, and whatever kind of eggs or crepes that you would like.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1103Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent four nights here and it was all we had hoped for. Our room was comfortable, breakfast was really tasty with plenty of choice and Maria was extremely friendly and helpful. The location of Palazzo Malaspina within San Donato is ideal. Everything is close by - the restaurants/pizzeria, gelateria and Tourist Information Office . San Donato is also hard to beat as a base for ease of seeing the rest of the local sights. Roughly half way between Florence and Siena and within easy reach and San Gimignano and Volterra.

As an aside, our favourite restaurant in San Donato was Palazzo Pretorio and if you're thinking of a wine tour then I'd highly recommend Casa Sola - 10 minutes away, very informative and excellent value.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights. Maria is a charming lady who gave us great tips on where to visit . Great breakfast, wonderful location, without reservation would highly recommend staying.

Lynda and Tom

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tecd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We recently spent 6 nights here and were very happy. The house is beautiful, breakfast delicious with very friendly staff. The rooms are very large with plenty of wardrobe space and lovely bathroom. Our room looked over the square and yet we didn't hear a peep - so nice and quiet. The location, we found, a bit tricky to find but was just wonderful when we did. Beautiful village in between Florence and Siena with plenty of other little towns around worth visiting. Perfect base. Maria, our hostess, was very helpful and friendly and a wonderful cook!!

Would certainly recommend anyone to stay here

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy_parsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This place is, by far, a dream come true. Words cannot describe the hotel, the room, the service, the town, EVERYTHING. We were able to visit St. Gimignano, Sienna and even took a road trip through the Chainti Country road. Amaizing. We also went to Florence. This is the place to be, centric, accesible.

Room Tip: Any room will be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidsmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We based ourselves at Palazzo Malaspina so that we could easily visit the neighbouring hilltop towns and castles and the position is perfect. When we arrived the tiny, cobbled streets of the medieval town were full of locals dressed in Medieval outfits with drums, singing and dancing to celebrate the towns origins. It was a fabulous, surprise welcome and we sat at our window overlooking the main square listening to the music and celebrations. Our room was spacious, with stone floors, a big double bed and spacious bathroom and we had a complimentary bottle of delicious Chianti on arrival. The main host Maria unfortunately wasn't around when we stayed but the lovely Mary took care of us and baked the most delicious cakes each morning and made sure that we had everything we needed. El Toppo is a fabulous local restaurant right outside the front door which is well worth trying and there is also a local pizza restaurant in the main square. If you want a peaceful, relaxing few days in Tuscany then I couldn't recommend this B&B more highly. It's also worth mentioning that they have a small, private terrace garden behind the B&B where you can take your wine and book and overlook the Tuscan Hills.

Room Tip: Our room, number 4 overlooked the main square and was really spacious but I believe that 1, 2 and 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsturfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Donato in Poggio
4.4 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.6 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Malaspina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Malaspina

Property: Palazzo Malaspina
Address: Via del Giglio 35, 50028 San Donato in Poggio, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa > San Donato in Poggio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Donato in Poggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Elegant B&B between Siena and Florence for the best holiday experience in the heart of Chianti."The family who owns Malaspina opens their doors to guests with gracious hospitality. We really enjoyed out stay here! Maria and her husband were the perfect hosts and the breakfast was wonderful!" (One of our guests from USA) So, a great location for enjoying Toscana! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Palazzo Malaspina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Malaspina Hotel San Donato In Poggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing