We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An excellent place in a splendid spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Malaspina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Malaspina
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent place in a splendid spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very nice place. Old palace in the centre of small "borgo" conveniently located between Siena and Florence. Spatious, comfortable rooms, modern bathrooms, great view on the Tuscan hills and an extraordinary home-made breakfast. Not to miss. Nicola&Carrie

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NDM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    46
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
341
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

It's difficult to choose where to stay in Italy. I spent countless hours researching and reading reviews. Well, this one I nailed on the head! It could not be anymore perfect! We came to Chianti on the tail end of our trip to relax from a hectic 2 weeks of sight seeing and traveling throughout Italy. Relaxing is exactly what we got. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are cozy, the views are jaw dropping, the food is delicious and the hosts (Maria & Mary) are accommodating! We couldn't have asked for more! The B&B is perfectly located in a small village in San Donato as if you are in the middle of a fairy tail. We tried almost all the restaurants in the small town and each were by far the best food we have had in Italy. San Donato is convenient to fantastic winery's just minutes away (Maria suggested Casa Emma, and we loved it!) as well as just a short beautiful drive to neighboring villages and towns. There is so much to do near by, or you can choose to do as we did, and just relax and take in the small village charm and crisp fresh Tuscan air. Maria is more than willing to help you set up any plans for your stay. We took all of her suggestions and loved it all, so trust her! Our favorite part would have to be the cooking class with Manuela and Silvio at Organic Tuscany. Now that was a memory!!! Ciao for now..... We hope to return in the near future!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RocTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our second stay at Palazzo Malaspina. Maria is a wonderful hostess, the breakfast is delicious and the accommodation beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Not to mention the incredible views and the lovely setting! San Donato in Poggio is perfectly located for day trips around Tuscany and the little village offers delicious meals at the restaurants nearby. I would recommend it to anyone who asked me where to stay in the Chianti area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOViglietti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at Palazzo Malaspina in October, a real little gem in the heart of Chianti. This B&B is located in the beautiful medieval village of San Donato in Poggio and is a great base to visit wineries in the area as well as close enough to visit Sienna, Pisa and Florence. The room was comfortable and clean with modern bathroom and towel warmer, a definite plus for the cold mornings, also had the softest bath towels anywhere in Italy. The views from the balcony were amazing. Maria and Mary provided a generous breakfast everyday with great coffee and great service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beltana01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Palazzo Malaspina is a beautiful renovated palazzo. Our room at the end of the hall was very large, the bed was very comfortable, the bedding was of quality, and I slept well however my husband found the bed too short. The palazzo and our room was very inviting. The view onto the piazza was charming. We could not hear any of our fellow travelers and there was no outside noise, San Donato is very quiet however, we had a noisy air conditioner that would awake us. I loved the wooden beamed ceiling, tiled floors, wrought iron bed and antiques. The marble bathroom was spotlessly clean, large and had a very good shower. There was also a Jacuzzi but we didn't use it. Breakfast consisted of a huge bowl of sliced fresh fruit which was appreciated. There is yogurt, bread and homemade cake and homemade jams. Maggie who serves breakfast is very friendly and a pleasure and she will make you eggs and a cappuccino. My husband's over easy egg was perfect.

Something I didn't care for was the structured hour of arrival. You are asked to be specific and give a time as to when you will arrive! When traveling and sightseeing it is difficult to predict an arrival and we did not arrive until 6:00 which I'm not sure was appreciated given that I had e-mailed and said 4:30 - 5:30. The owners live in the palazzo and are not off site. You will see Maria at check in, check out and possibly at breakfast but there is no one available should you need assistance at any other time of the day for dinner reservations, travel questions, etc. No one will answer the door of their suite outside these timeframes. In addition, there is free WI fi in the palazzo but it does not work in the rooms at all. You must go to the breakfast room to use the WI fi which is inconvenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flymeaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great place to be, right in the middle of the Chianti region; This is a restored old place, with all the good and the bad parts of it. To some, the rooms might look a little bit outdated (very tall, the stone floor is a little bit uneven), but the beds are confy, the bathrooms are quite modern, the service is excellent, and the breakfast is a real treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinchiriac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I read all the Excellent reviews and this probably led to my disappointment. Even though I sent an email stating our time of arrival we were greeted by a note on the door giving a telephone number for reservations. A service person met us and directed us to our room. No information about breakfast or any other details. The room had remenants from the previous occupant. The bottle of chianti had no label and a broken cork. On the positive side the rooms are spacious with a big bathroom. The breakfast is ok. The location is great and Maria is very friendly. If I was to return I would stay at one of the Agriturismos in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nabec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Donato in Poggio
2.6 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
17.7 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
7.8 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Malaspina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Malaspina

Property: Palazzo Malaspina
Address: Via del Giglio 35, 50028 San Donato in Poggio, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa > San Donato in Poggio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Donato in Poggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Elegant B&B between Siena and Florence for the best holiday experience in the heart of Chianti."The family who owns Malaspina opens their doors to guests with gracious hospitality. We really enjoyed out stay here! Maria and her husband were the perfect hosts and the breakfast was wonderful!" (One of our guests from USA) So, a great location for enjoying Toscana! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Palazzo Malaspina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Malaspina Hotel San Donato In Poggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing