We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What I Expected”
Review of Palazzo Malaspina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Malaspina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I read all the Excellent reviews and this probably led to my disappointment. Even though I sent an email stating our time of arrival we were greeted by a note on the door giving a telephone number for reservations. A service person met us and directed us to our room. No information about breakfast or any other details. The room had remenants from the previous occupant. The bottle of chianti had no label and a broken cork. On the positive side the rooms are spacious with a big bathroom. The breakfast is ok. The location is great and Maria is very friendly. If I was to return I would stay at one of the Agriturismos in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nabec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Malaspina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 546 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at Maria's Palazzo in October, and had a really enjoyable time. Our room was very comfortable and spacious and provided great privacy. The breakfasts were very good, nice selection, especially Maria's cakes, and Mary's Cappuccino's. We enjoyed some lively discussions with other guests during our stay. Maria's suggestions for restaurants and places to visit were very helpful. The Palazzo is centrally located for visiting the other villages of the Chianti region and the rest of Tuscany. The only tricky bit, was finding a parking space some nights that was close by, however this is true of many small Italian towns.

Room Tip: We had room #5, next to the breakfast room, very private and quiet with great views of the village s...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandCofBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in October, 2012. The room was good size, bed comfortable and bathroom fantastic for Italy! Had towel warmer and big enough to move around in without bumping into everything!
Pros - clean towels daily, clean room daily, room sizes, bed comfort, great view, laundry service.
Cons - breakfast ok not great, nothing much near the B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed with Maria in September, the room was elegant and spacious with a comfy bed and a beautiful bathroom with a spa bath. A great location in the chianti area with many other villages nearby. The service was very good and the breakfasts were unsurpassed especially the cakes!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Palazzo Malaspina in September, it was our first trip to Italy and we were not disappointed. Maria was very helpful with places to visit and her homemade cakes were a delight at breakfast. Our room was very clean, spacious with a modern bathroom and a balcony with fantastic views over the tuscan hills. The Bed and Breakfast is situated in the lovely village of San Donato in Poggio, with good restaurants. It is also a good base to visit Florence, Sienna and many beautiful towns and villages in the area. We would definitely return!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie01277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Palazzo Malaspina, enjoyed watching the balloons rise over the horizon while lying in bed. I have already made Maria's chocolate cake but didn't have it for breakfast at home, a great hit! Very clean and well situated in Chianti.

Room Tip: Room with a shared balcony has a beautiful view but best if non smoker shares the balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenni1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I went to Italy on our honeymoon and we were referred to this Bed and Breakfast by a cooking class we had booked in the area. The town itself had great views and good restaurants and was close to other attractions in the area (plus it is up on a hill, the views were amazing!!!) The Bed and Breakfast was great - the rooms were comfortable and very nice (no surprises there, as their website has pictures of all of the rooms!)... However, the one thing that sticks out in my mind the most (and have told everyone about so far) is the absolutely amazing breakfast. This is by far one of the best Bed and Breakfasts my wife and I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Make sure to print out directions to the door, our GPS didn't know where to go (which Maria poin...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Donato in Poggio
4.4 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
571 reviews
2.6 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
630 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
548 reviews
17.7 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
714 reviews
10.9 mi away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 67 in San Gimignano
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Malaspina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Malaspina

Address: Via del Giglio 35, 50028 San Donato in Poggio, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa > San Donato in Poggio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in San Donato in Poggio
Price Range: $104 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Elegant B&B between Siena and Florence for the best holiday experience in the heart of Chianti."The family who owns Malaspina opens their doors to guests with gracious hospitality. We really enjoyed out stay here! Maria and her husband were the perfect hosts and the breakfast was wonderful!" (One of our guests from USA) So, a great location for enjoying Toscana! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palazzo Malaspina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Malaspina Hotel San Donato In Poggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing