We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic views and great lunch and winery tour”

Fattoria di Montecchio
Book In Advance
More Info
$148.45*
and up
Half-Day Chianti Tour to 3 Wineries with Wine Tastings and Meal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Montecchio’s Farm is the heart of a property of more than 300 hcts ,in the oldest part of the Chianti Classico area. The Estate is about three hundred hectares large (about 120 acres) of which nearly forty as specialized vineyards, twenty as olive-groves, forty as sow able land.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and great lunch and winery tour”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Our tour guide Francesco from All Around Italy tours arranged for us to have a tour of the winery which was most interesting and then lunch with wine after. The location has the most amazing views and would be great place to spend a couple of days as they do offer overnight accommodation. Our winery tour was conducted by Arianna who was very professional and knowledgable. The selection of wine was good with lunch as was the food especially the cheese doused in honey. Our new found friends also helped make it a great day and we all left very merry so it was quite a noisy minivan enroute to San Gimmiano before heading back to the ship. A great place for a lunch stop and would recommend planning a stop here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovescruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    8
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Firenze, Italia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Arianna is great!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

After many times I visited the winery I have to say the views and setting are great, wines more than high quality and Arianna is a great host! Everybody loves her and she knows her wines and has passion in her job. I suggest to stop there while touring the chianti area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank anna81_cooltours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Favorite afternoon of our trip...Glorious!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We recently booked a tour of Florence with "All Around Italy." It was our third day in Italy, our third long day of touring, and my family had seen enough museums and churches. Our wonderful tour guide Francesco suggested that we might enjoy an afternoon at this lovely winery. It turned out to be our favorite day of the trip and one of the best days we've ever had as a family!

It was a holiday in Italy and the winery was closed to visitors, but Arianna graciously agreed to open up just for us. The villa and views are spectacular. I can honestly say I've never eaten a better lunch in a more glorious setting. We felt like VIP's and greatly enjoyed Arianna's passion and enthusiasm for the wines she was serving. The food was simple, but delicious. Everything was local, from the garden tomatoes to the fennel prosciutto to the unbelievable cheeses and honey. And the wine....fantastico! Very memorable and very generous pours.

Our children are 19, 16, and 7, and the amazing thing is that they enjoyed our afternoon at Fattoria di Montecchio every bit as much as we did. It was an amazing day that our family will never forget. Very highly recommended and we hope to return!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank szpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Wine”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The wine is very good, the tour is interesting with detailed explanation about the wine and the area.

Bought a few bottles home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank alex_povereny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great wine and food nestled in beautiful town. We did as part of a wine tour. Very knowledgeable host! Pace yourself w/ the wine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rafael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fattoria di Montecchio also viewed

San Donato in Poggio, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to Fattoria di Montecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing