We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthof Hochalmspitze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gasthof Hochalmspitze
Ranked #1 of 7 Malta B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We found out about the gasthif thriugh Ros twittering about austria at the NEC bike show in 2010, we stayed at the Gasthof last year, and had such a wonderful time we had to go back for the annual bike blessing on the Dam this year. Greeted on arrival with a cold beer, I think the team have priorities absolutely right!

Ros and John are warm and accommodating hosts, ensuring we had access to the MotoGP assen race, lifts into Gmund and most wonderfully wi if throughout the Gasthof this year.

On our first evening after dinner Dave and I were presented with a bottle of prosecco to celebrate our recent engagement, a lovely, wonderful surprise.

Some new members of the Gasthof team this year, Rosalie, the daughter of guests we met last year! Vernon....the Amazing cook and Wilf who kept our beer topped up.

Staying at Hochalmspitze you are part of a biker community, and it was an honour to ride with our hosts and other guests in yellow t-shirts (available to purchase!) to the bike blessing, a wonderful day out- check out the many photos on the website/Facebook.

The Gasthof rooms are immaculate, spacious and with indoor and outdoor parking, a drying room and washing facilities it is the ideal location to begin, end or stay for a European bike trip.

Can't wait it see Ros and John At the NEC and then at our wedding celebrations later this year.

Thanks for another wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2uptourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    17
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
36
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

I met up with a friend there in September '11 and was sufficiently impressed to have already booked a longer stay there next summer, and for longer!
You are met with a warm welcome by hosts John & Ros. The rooms are basic but clean and a decent size. The food is good quality, being fresh with is a choice each day. The bar is reasonably priced too!

John is happy to help with route planning and organised a tyre change with a local company for my non German speaking friend. Bikes can be parked in the underground garage if desired.

This area is picturesque with a lot of good quality biking roads to be found locally. People seem to take a pride in their houses and the place is generally very clean & tidy. This part of Austria is well worth a visit and Gasthof Hochalmspitze is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Fantastic

As inexperienced euro travel bikers we stayed here last year. To give you an example of who these people are - my wife went for a walk, got lost, and they let me use their car to find her - Because we wanted a non biking day, a member of there staff took us around the local town (Thank you Jane X). Another day they took us to the nearest big town so we could spend the day there. And as we greatly fully found out, it is nothing for owners to get on there own bike and take the guests on one of the many fantastic routs in that area. We have been back since and it is all the same this year as last. If you are looking for the Ritz - try the Ritz. But if you are bikers like us and need good food - good sleep - good beer - good company - and if necessary somewhere to dry clothes, well we have tried others and consider this to be one of the best

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UK-Travellers_x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Excellent facility for any would be bikers looking for a great place to stay. John and Ros are great hosts, the facilities are good and John will download routes while you enjoy the first meal of the day.The roads around the hotel are superb and as John said to me - ... there are no bad roads.... how right he was. Ideal location for a week or two to enjoy the surroundings and the delights of Austria. Highly recommended. Excellent facilities for washing and drying, just in case its wet!! (Unlikely)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDTewks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

The first thing that hits you is the hospitality of Ros and John. We turned up straight from Venice and we hadn't got off our boiling bikes before they poured us all a free beer! The rooms are basic (but we just needed a clean comfy place to rest our heads), but perfect for the price. On our holiday we stayed at 13 different places across Europe and the Hochalmspitze easily won our award for best pillows!

The food was great – John did an outstanding job of filling in for their original (wayward) chef. The Caramalised Croissant & Butter pudding was a highlight! The beer is cheap and the whole place feels exceptionally homely, with Ros & John feeling more like your friends than the people running a guesthouse. The free underground bike garage was a massive boon, with John (keen biker!) helpfully finding some bolts to fit my friend's tank after his original bolts vibrated loose somewhere in Italy. Again, we didn't get quite the same level of hospitality anywhere else in Europe (including a 5* hotel!)

If you want a wonderfully comfy, relaxing place in a beautiful part of Austria with great food, people and none of the stuffiness you get in hotels, check out the Hochalmspitze. I'm not being paid to write this (I will accept another croissant caramel pudding though…), but I can't recommend the place highly enough, especially for bikers.

The only real negative thing I have to say is the appalling proliferation of non-English versions of Scrabble, which is (obviously) completely unacceptable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimfromEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed 5 nights wish it had been more! Warm and friendly greeting and throughout stay. As vegetarians often struggle to find suitable evening meal, no problem here at Gasthof Hochalmspitze, just let them know when you book and they will oblige.

Comfortable bedrooms in seperate building to bar/restuarant that works well for those wanting an early night. whilst others drink on.

Great advice and help on motorcycle trips/routes in the area the main purpose of our trip, certainly not disappointed following John's (the proprietors) guides/maps.

The area it self is quiet and scenic, ideal for those touring by car or like us on a motorcycle.

Overall a good value establishment that know's how to treat its guests with warmth and a good atmosphere.

Already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HochalmspitzeTeam, Owner at Gasthof Hochalmspitze, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thanks very much for this both. Happy to oblige with the veggie options - with vegetarians amongst our friends and family, we understand the frustrations of not being able to find anything suitable on a menu! Look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Family-run hotel. Very helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Great location - quiet village, but easy access to some fabulous roads and sights. Good food. Clean rooms. Garage (we were on motorbikes). Everyone in our group (4 couples) was very pleased.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HartlepoolBlurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Malteinerhof
Hotel Malteinerhof
#2 of 3 in Malta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
11.6 mi away
Berghotel Malta
Berghotel Malta
#1 of 3 in Malta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Gastehaus Feistritzer
#2 of 7 in Malta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kinderhotel Benjamin
Kinderhotel Benjamin
#2 of 3 in Malta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maltatal
Hotel Maltatal
#6 of 7 in Malta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hochalmspitze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hochalmspitze

Property: Gasthof Hochalmspitze
Address: Nr. 57 | Malta, Malta 9854, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Malta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Malta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Hochalmspitze 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English run hotel and restaurant in sunny southern Austria - set in a National Park. Close to Slovenian and Italian borders. Single, double and family rooms available. Groups catered for - discounts available. Bikers,Cars,Climbers and Hikers especially welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gasthof Hochalmspitze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing