We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of room for improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lots of room for improvement.”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I spent 5 nights here over the Christmas period; it was incredibly overpriced for what it is. Paying $180/night I had high expectations, and was let down on all accounts. Though the 'hard product' is OK - the design of the resort is nice, the landscaping is attractive, and the rooms pleasant though a bit tired - it was the service and lack of professionalism that really let this place down.
My biggest gripe was the complete lack of beach service. You had to do everything from moving your sun lounger, to getting a mattress for it, to collecting towels. With the exception of a security guard, there were no staff ever posted on the beach: and this is during the peak period, when the hotel is at full capacity. To order food or drinks (or collect the towels) you have to walk up the restaurant, which is quite a distance from the beach (you cross a small stream). The beach was never cleaned or raked: it was all quite a mess, and unacceptable for such an expensive hotel. Staff in general, whilst friendly, were pretty clueless. The food was almost always cold - whether the Christmas buffet, the breakfast buffet, or the a la carte lunches we ordered. Upon arrival, there was no welcome or anyone to help with the bags - we had to track down staff to help.

So many of the things that let this place down could be so easily fixed - through strong management and good training. Given the price, and how they advertise this place, they really need to improve their service. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay_BKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    28
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
14
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

nice resort, very quite location, huge long amazing beach! nice design ! staff very friendly. they do cocktails of the day - always delicious and best choice.. "normal standard cocktails" not really recommended ;) resort is quite expensive.. but very good service & quite good food.. you can also eat in local restaurants or there are some other resorts..

only bad point: it's not possible to pay with credit card at the hotel.. so make sure you take enough cash with you ! No ATM, credit card possibilities at whole Ngwe Saung!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maeva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Great stay at treasure resort. Staff are amazing. We loved our beach bungalow. So laid back and quiet. Great local restaurants nearby ran by lovely families. Wonderful atmosphere.
Only downside- we were a bit annoyed by those who use the hotel as a short cut to the beach/village, and who try to abuse the free wifi access when they are not even guests or customers of the hotel restaurant/bar. That became quite irritating, especially when they were rude to the staff!?!?!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loserville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights after our Myanmar trip. I'll keep this short:

- very nice resort right by the beach and next to the village
- good restaurant with lots of choices
- very good breakfast buffet
- spacious bungalow but seemed a bit dated and not worth $185 per night
- plumbing and hot water issues
- not much more to do there than hang by the beach so 5 nights were a bit too long for us
- staff is incredibly friendly, especially the waiters who speak excellent English (in contrast to the receptionists)

The resort is owned by Tay Za (cf. Lonely Planet 2011 edition p. 26) one of the richest people in Myanmar who is closely linked to the Military. Him and his family are sanctioned by the EU, USA, Canada, Australia and Switzerland. We didn't know this in advance so couldn't change our booking. So if possible, try to book hotels/resorts which won't enrich the Military.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stitch_756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were diverted to this excellent resort from Ngapali because of the ethnic troubles in Rakhine. The only downside is there is no air link to Ngwe Saung so a 6½ hour coach trip was required each way across the Irrawaddy delta (interesting in itself). This makes the resort very isolated. Ngwe Saung village is a short walk away offering restaurants and tourist shops on a small scale which reflect the laid back nature of the place.

However when you arrive you realise the journey was worthwhile. The remoteness is much of the appeal, the beautiful beach being local, quiet and unspoiled. It has only very recently been open to foreign tourists. Beware the mopeds however as the beach is used as a highway by the locals.

The resort is a fairly typical beachside affair, centred around a really nice and well maintained pool and a bridge crossing a canal to the sand. The waterway serves to separate the property from the beach which is a plus. The accommodation is a mixture of beach facing thatched bungalows and two floored buildings set further back, each with it's own verandah/balcony. There is an open plan reception area benefiting from the sea breezes and an open, poolside restaurant serving a limited, but adequate, menu and drinks list. The staff are attentive and helpful, but keep your requests simple as the their English is currently pretty basic though I'm sure will improve with time.

In conclusion we found our stay at Treasure Resort thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing. Sitting on the verandah in the evening with a beer listening to the night sounds and watching the waves break on the shore was a memorable and wonderful experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmfromHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

It was over 5 hours away by car from Yangon. On arrival, we were immediately impressed by the decor and the nice location of the hotel next to the beach. The staff were always attentive, helpful and did their best to ensure our stay was a pleasant experience. Room sizes were good and ours was equipped with twin beds and mosquito net. The separate shower and toilet was convenient. The general decor of the rooms was mainly of timber and other natural material giving it a traditional and contemporary feel. They provide good choice of breakfast and we also enjoyed dinner at the hotel although vegetarian options were limited and one of our party found himself eating the same thing everyday.
The beach was absolutely clean and lovely. The size of the pool was also good for fun and frolicking although it was a bit cool in December compared with the ocean.

Room Tip: The beach bungalows are probably the best to stay in as you can hear the ocean when you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nwe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Glad I have found this resort - which lives up to its name.
I am quite surprised that not a lot write about MTR. It should be greatly commended.
Location itself was perfect with regards to privacy and small adventures.
Morning jog on its strip was second to none.
The people - like everyone in Burma - one of the friendliest people in Asia.
I can easily myself coming over and over again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinMorten1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngwe Saung hotels
0.1 mi away
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
#1 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
171 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ngwe Saung Yacht Club and Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#7 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Paradise
Ocean Paradise
#12 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
10 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Emerald Sea Resort
The Emerald Sea Resort
#3 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aureum Palace Resort & Spa - Ngwe Saung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung

Property: Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung
Address: | Pathein Township, Ngwe Saung, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Ayeyarwady Region > Ngwe Saung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing