We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aureum Palace Resort & Spa - Ngwe Saung
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday and wonderful staff”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Having been to Ngwe Saung twice before with my Burmese wife and he family I was keen to try Aureum to compare it to the other hotels we had stayed at previously. I have stayed at both Inle and Bagan Aureum hotels and they were very impressive. We were not disappointed. The staff were great throughout, but I can imagine if I had not been with family fluent in Burmese it could have been more difficult. We stayed in a ocean view bungalow with cot provided for our 1 year old. We had no complaints at all.
The local village is worth a visit. We had lunch there twice and manage to feed 8 adults for $40 (fresh crab and prawns). Hotel food was very good quality but obviously more expensive than venturing out.
A special mention to all this staff. Our 1 year old was struggling with sleep pattern, so would come to restaurant in the evenings. The staff could see he was unsettled at times and would come and pick him up and walk with him. I am sure by the end of the stay he had been cuddled by nearly all the staff. We had not expected this, but was a lovely touch. Top marks.
Prices have gone up every time we visit Burma and the hotels can be expensive, but well worth the 5 hour journey from Yangon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
13
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in the hotel January 2014 and overall had a great experience.

Positive points:
- great beach and ocean, very quiet and perfect for a relaxation
- good selection of Asian food, and a few good Western dishes too (though quite expensive). Restaurant faces the ocean and in the evening with candles the atmosphere is great for a romantic dinner
- good service, polite staff
- beautiful facilities. Quite an impressive swimming pool and overall hotel is quite new
- great location. Just a 4-5 hour drive from Yangon, and conveniently located 10 min away from a nearby village with quite a few great value restaurants
- some level of activities available (pool, table tennis), fishing, Elephant camp nearby (quite entertaining and not too expensive), snorkelling (quite dissappointing)

Some of the negatives:
- wifi is only available at the lobby and by the bar. Overall speed is very low, and often it is only switched on from 8am to 8pm
- food is quite expensive; same holds from drinks. Compared to food in the nearby village it is at least 3 times pricier, while the quality is similar at best. If you want to have a good place to have lunch / dinner - take a walk to the nearest village; where you can have an excellent meal (great seafood) for 10$ (average dish is around 4$ per meal, beer - 1.8$). One of the great places - Jasmine restaurant (appr.12 min walk from hotel)
- staff's level of English is quite poor
- spa facilities are adequate, but definitely need improvement. We had Thai massage and Myanmar style scrub - both were ok, but not impressive. Rooms were quite cold, no music during massage and generally atmosphere not too relaxing
- NY buffet was rather disappointing, both food and entertainment wise

Overall would definitely recommend the place. Be aware that if you are looking for a place with a lot of entertainment or activities to do, this might not be the best option and I would recommend looking at hotels in Ngapali or Thailand. However, if you want a quiet romantic place where you can escape from the rush and crowds of tourists while having a great beach holiday this is a perfect choice.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view are great, and just a few steps from the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlenaPetrosyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The rooms had a view of the sea, clean and well appointed, the hotel was a few minutes from the village which during the day was fine , but not at night , due to no street lights.Spa at the hotel was very good and the food was ok, the food on the menu was not always what you expected probably due to translation discrepancies, all the hotel staff speak english.
This particular hotel takes 7 hours in a mini bus to reach from Yangon, the hotel was a very late substitution due to problems further north of the country.
The tour i took with VJV was exceptional cannot recommenced them enough and i can not speak highly enough of the Burmese people or the beautiful country of Burma, we could move about freely and were welcomed by everyone

Room Tip: Try to get a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonwtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

After a rough ride of 4 1/2 hours we arrived at the resort. Reception seemed very pleasant, and book in was quick and we had a brief account of what the resort offered. The grounds and beach are quite delightful. On being taken to our Ocean View Villa, we found that the villa was divided into 3. We had the middle of three. It had a small porch with two wooden (uncomfortable) chairs and a small table. The room had twin beds, 1 bedside table, dressing table and desk with tv. Very cramped. Fortunately our suitcases could fit under the beds. W.C and Shower cubicle separate. It all needed decorating, paint peeling off ceiling. A door at the rear, I thought would lead to another area, not so, it lead out to the garden at the rear, and by the back door where dirty plates. They remained there until we left 4 days later! Furniture very ill fitting. Such a let down after our other experiences in Myanmar. Would not recommend this resort. The pictures on their website give you the impression that you will stay in a room with a seating area and a dining room if you book an ocean view. Not true. If you look at the garden view rooms, this is what you get. Nobody was around the pool to enable you to order a drink poolside. We always had to go and find somebody to order a drink, then the glasses were left there for the rest of the day. Even when you ordered another drink, they didn't take them away. 3 boys were by the swim up bar, but they didn't seem to do much apart from texting and speaking on their mobiles. The swim up bar with stools in the water isn't a bar. Seemed to have a few towels there, but that was all. Only saw them do a bit of cleaning There was difficulty with some of the staff understanding what we wanted to eat or drink. On the whole the girls were more attentive, but one morning it was clear it was their day off and the boys were serving and you had to ask every time you wanted more tea or coffee and they did not clear your dirty plates away. Clearly, not a lot of training has been given to the staff here. It could be absolutely delightful if the rooms were more spacious, well decorated and upgraded, and the staff had been better trained. We tried a curry one night, could not even taste any hint of curry. It was more like a casserole. Extremely disappointing and sad that we travelled all that way to end what had been a wonderful holiday on such a low note. Only a few British, Swiss and French were here, all the rest were locals.

Room Tip: Don't believe their website. One of the Swiss questioned them about the Ocean view room that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillH007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

All was well with this hotel until a tour party of approx 50 turned up. That evening we to our usual outdoor dinner spot and were told the dining area has been closed for exclusive use by the tour party. We were told that the tour group are "very important to us". We were directed to an odd spot by the pool to eat. The tour rep also put up three banners around the site with the tour company logo which tended to ruin the ambience. In fairness to the hotel next morning a reserved sign was put at breakfast tables for the non tour people. The following evening the tour party were moved to the poolside and the normal outside dining area was again available
Had the large tour party not arrived I would have considered the hotel excellent in all aspects. We were further advised that more large tour parties were due in the coming weeks.
The main lobby area is very good but the chalets are starting to show a little fading, nothing serious and the rooms are quite acceptable.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resovoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went there weekend trip. We booked 2 rooms at executive club, one with living room and another without living room. Private swimming pool is just in front of our huts and Our huts are a few steps away from the beach and ocean. Rooms are beautifully decorated and we also have open air bath tub in the hut. Overall rooms facilities are really nice and excellent. Rate is a little bit higher than the nearby hotels but worth for the service and facilities. Whenever I go to Ngwe Saung again, I'll be choosing Aureum Resort again.

Room Tip: If you want more private and quieter place, choose executive suites that is a bit expensive but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhinYadanarWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed in an ocean view villa, I used to wake up early, sit on the porsche outside my room, look at the sea while drinking my tea, then walk on the white sand feeling the warm sea water on my feet. Depending on what you wants, it is not recommended for people searching for action , I needed some quite time after all the flights, trekking and touring I did previously in Myanmar, and I had what I wanted." The Aureum Ngwe Saung " is a beautiful resort, The spa is good too. I recommend you to stay in the Ocean view rooms, a small difference to pay for a greater experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreealouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngwe Saung hotels
1.3 mi away
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
#1 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
171 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ngwe Saung Yacht Club and Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#7 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Emerald Sea Resort
The Emerald Sea Resort
#3 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung
0.3 mi away
Bay of Bengal Resort
Bay of Bengal Resort
#4 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aureum Palace Resort & Spa - Ngwe Saung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aureum Palace Resort & Spa - Ngwe Saung

Property: Aureum Palace Resort & Spa - Ngwe Saung
Address: Ngwe Saung, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Ayeyarwady Region > Ngwe Saung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aureum Palace Resort & Spa - Ngwe Saung 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Aureum Palace Resort & Spa - Ngwe Saung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing