We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aureum Palace Resort & Spa - Ngwe Saung
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Certificate of Excellence
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The rooms had a view of the sea, clean and well appointed, the hotel was a few minutes from the village which during the day was fine , but not at night , due to no street lights.Spa at the hotel was very good and the food was ok, the food on the menu was not always what you expected probably due to translation discrepancies, all the hotel staff speak english.
This particular hotel takes 7 hours in a mini bus to reach from Yangon, the hotel was a very late substitution due to problems further north of the country.
The tour i took with VJV was exceptional cannot recommenced them enough and i can not speak highly enough of the Burmese people or the beautiful country of Burma, we could move about freely and were welcomed by everyone

Room Tip: Try to get a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonwtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
13
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

After a rough ride of 4 1/2 hours we arrived at the resort. Reception seemed very pleasant, and book in was quick and we had a brief account of what the resort offered. The grounds and beach are quite delightful. On being taken to our Ocean View Villa, we found that the villa was divided into 3. We had the middle of three. It had a small porch with two wooden (uncomfortable) chairs and a small table. The room had twin beds, 1 bedside table, dressing table and desk with tv. Very cramped. Fortunately our suitcases could fit under the beds. W.C and Shower cubicle separate. It all needed decorating, paint peeling off ceiling. A door at the rear, I thought would lead to another area, not so, it lead out to the garden at the rear, and by the back door where dirty plates. They remained there until we left 4 days later! Furniture very ill fitting. Such a let down after our other experiences in Myanmar. Would not recommend this resort. The pictures on their website give you the impression that you will stay in a room with a seating area and a dining room if you book an ocean view. Not true. If you look at the garden view rooms, this is what you get. Nobody was around the pool to enable you to order a drink poolside. We always had to go and find somebody to order a drink, then the glasses were left there for the rest of the day. Even when you ordered another drink, they didn't take them away. 3 boys were by the swim up bar, but they didn't seem to do much apart from texting and speaking on their mobiles. The swim up bar with stools in the water isn't a bar. Seemed to have a few towels there, but that was all. Only saw them do a bit of cleaning There was difficulty with some of the staff understanding what we wanted to eat or drink. On the whole the girls were more attentive, but one morning it was clear it was their day off and the boys were serving and you had to ask every time you wanted more tea or coffee and they did not clear your dirty plates away. Clearly, not a lot of training has been given to the staff here. It could be absolutely delightful if the rooms were more spacious, well decorated and upgraded, and the staff had been better trained. We tried a curry one night, could not even taste any hint of curry. It was more like a casserole. Extremely disappointing and sad that we travelled all that way to end what had been a wonderful holiday on such a low note. Only a few British, Swiss and French were here, all the rest were locals.

Room Tip: Don't believe their website. One of the Swiss questioned them about the Ocean view room that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillH007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants England
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

All was well with this hotel until a tour party of approx 50 turned up. That evening we to our usual outdoor dinner spot and were told the dining area has been closed for exclusive use by the tour party. We were told that the tour group are "very important to us". We were directed to an odd spot by the pool to eat. The tour rep also put up three banners around the site with the tour company logo which tended to ruin the ambience. In fairness to the hotel next morning a reserved sign was put at breakfast tables for the non tour people. The following evening the tour party were moved to the poolside and the normal outside dining area was again available
Had the large tour party not arrived I would have considered the hotel excellent in all aspects. We were further advised that more large tour parties were due in the coming weeks.
The main lobby area is very good but the chalets are starting to show a little fading, nothing serious and the rooms are quite acceptable.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resovoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went there weekend trip. We booked 2 rooms at executive club, one with living room and another without living room. Private swimming pool is just in front of our huts and Our huts are a few steps away from the beach and ocean. Rooms are beautifully decorated and we also have open air bath tub in the hut. Overall rooms facilities are really nice and excellent. Rate is a little bit higher than the nearby hotels but worth for the service and facilities. Whenever I go to Ngwe Saung again, I'll be choosing Aureum Resort again.

Room Tip: If you want more private and quieter place, choose executive suites that is a bit expensive but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhinYadanarWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed in an ocean view villa, I used to wake up early, sit on the porsche outside my room, look at the sea while drinking my tea, then walk on the white sand feeling the warm sea water on my feet. Depending on what you wants, it is not recommended for people searching for action , I needed some quite time after all the flights, trekking and touring I did previously in Myanmar, and I had what I wanted." The Aureum Ngwe Saung " is a beautiful resort, The spa is good too. I recommend you to stay in the Ocean view rooms, a small difference to pay for a greater experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreealouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Having read previous rather poor reviews we did not have great expectations but were pleasantly surprised. It is NOT a 5* resort but the setting is lovely in beautiful well kept gardens with a nice pool and a good clean beach. Weather was glorious and the sunsets every evening memorable. Don't expect a great deal to do other than long beach walks and swimming , but a great place to chill and read (or write!!) those books you wanted to catch up on.
Service is charming and willing but the lack of English can be a problem, but only if you let it be..
Breakfast a more than adequate Buffet, and the Asian food in the restaurant was excellent and astonishing value. Service can be slow but Hey we were on holiday in a quiet and as yet underdeveloped part of the world. Rooms OK but in need of a bit of an upgrade which they appear to be in the process of carrying out.
Yes the road journey is long but a chance to take in rural Burma, as yet unchanged by the outside world. There is a nearby village with some local,low key restaurants and its certainly worth venturing out. We can recommend the Jasmine restaurant for amazing barbecued fish

Room Tip: Beach front chalets are the best. Lovely to watch the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had a very bad experience with Aureum in NGWE Saung....we were 5 families for 2 nights...

1. Check In: we requested for 5 rooms nearby, booked 20 days in advance. But our rooms were apart. When we told the front desk, they were helpless as they had allotted 2 rooms o somebody other.

2. BBQ: we wanted to do BBQ and asked them to arrange it. Firstly the F&B Manager, told us that they could not provide as they have a group of 100 people. then she said she can arrange for 10$ each without the material. Then she agreed to do it @ 8$ with raw materials, helper etc.

3. AIRCON: after BBQ when we reached to the room. It was like a fuming chamber, very hot n humid. At around 12 midnight we called the reception to get the zircon checked, but they never responded for 30 mins. Then I have to walk down at around 12:30 to the reception and shout. Mind you, at night there are no lights in the walkways and it is pitch dark. At 1:00, 2 people came without any knowledge of air cons. We requested for a fan, which they didn't have. I wanted to see the manager or the engineer, nobody was there except a person in reception. After lot of heated statements engineer came at around 2 night and repaired the aircon.

4. ELECTRICITY: everyday between 9-11 am and 2-4 pm, no electricity.

5. INTERNET: there is no Internet in rooms or lobby. Internet is only available at business centre at a price around 7$ per hour, which is the highest till date I have seen or heard in any hotels.

6. ROOMS: basic wooden rooms, no maintainence. Showering amenities are of very low grade.

7. POOL: average. We ordered for a pot of black tea and a cup of green tea. We said to make the black tea strong. They first brought the pot of black tea with 2 tea bags, we told them to make it more stringer by putting more 2 tea bags, which they did. They brought the sugar bowl with no sugar. By the time they brought sugar, the tea was cold. Ok now the best part, bill came for 2 pots of black tea and 1 pot of green tea. When we enquired, they said, as we have used 4 tea bags so 2 pots and in this hotel a pot of green tea and a cup of green tea is considered same.

8. BBQ SECOND DAY: they served us BBQ from the Japanese group. Then when they brought the bill, it was around 300$. We told that last day they charged 8$ per pax and today 300, after confronting they made it to 25$/ pax, then to 15$/pax and then to 8$ ...it is ridiculous.

Highly mismanaged, incompetent staff, will highly recumbent not to even enquire about Aureum. Nearby there is BAY OF BENGAL RESORT, which is more better and more efficient."

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Zeds13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngwe Saung hotels
1.3 mi away
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
#1 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
174 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ngwe Saung Yacht Club and Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#7 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Emerald Sea Resort
The Emerald Sea Resort
#3 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Myanmar Treasure Resorts - Ngwe Saung
0.3 mi away
Bay of Bengal Resort
Bay of Bengal Resort
#4 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aureum Palace Resort & Spa - Ngwe Saung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aureum Palace Resort & Spa - Ngwe Saung

Property: Aureum Palace Resort & Spa - Ngwe Saung
Address: Ngwe Saung, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Ayeyarwady Region > Ngwe Saung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aureum Palace Resort & Spa - Ngwe Saung 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Aureum Palace Resort & Spa - Ngwe Saung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing